Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Series 10

83 Posts
    Finn Harps.jpg
    All not well in Ballybofey considering what the Finn Harps Twitter account are retweeting

#Horgan Out and "yous pack of ******* yous couldn't hit water if yous fell out of a boat"
    Last edited by Battery Rover; 25/04/2014 at 11:44 PM.

1,083 Posts
    Horgan out? He's only just in ffs. Shouldn't be retweeting that kind of thing from a club account at all.

98 Posts
    Getting harder and harder for Athlone. We missed 4 absolute sitters too. As for Pats 3rd goal. What was sexton at. Derek Prendergast has been absolutely shocking for us. Wouldnt have him near the team when Aido Collins is fit again. Need a win against Bray next week. If we dont win we are gone.
    Athlone Town AFC 1887-2017

96 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Pablo Escobar View Post
    We were robbed tonight. O'Sullivan scores in injury time and referee rules it out. 100% a good goal!
    I was robbed too so, took the 7/10 about ye tHinking it was a good thing, flash in the pan merchants only.

3,350 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by CityRebel View Post
    Shocking decision. Robbed of 2 points.
    Makes up for the two points ye stole on Monday courtesy of an offside goal. Swings and roundabouts.

Not sure I've seen a goal before for an away team which was applauded by most of the home fans. Benson's finish was special tonight though; well worth keeping an eye out for on RTE. Picked the ball up on the edge of our area, played a one-two, ran from half-way to the edge of the Derry box and, with four Derry defenders by him, dinked a 20-yard lob over Doherty. Cantona or Hoddle-esque.

Strange to say in a game where we saved a penalty, but that has to go down as two points dropped for us. Missed an open goal, two one-on-ones and had one goal ruled out for a horrendous offside call - literally three or four yards onside. Not having much luck of late; still playing way better than our results are showing.

2,394 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Battery Rover View Post
    Finn Harps.jpg
    All not well in Ballybofey considering what the Finn Harps Twitter account are retweeting

#Horgan Out and "yous pack of ******* yous couldn't hit water if yous fell out of a boat"
    There's absolutely nothing 'not well in Ballybofey' at the minute. A couple of unhappy 'fans' of the club. People are actually on a bit of a high at the minute around Finn Park, so I've no idea where this has come from, and has me completely bewildered.
    No idea who's running the clubs Twitter account at the minute, but that's absolutely mental and a disgrace, and something certainly worth looking into.

445 Posts
    Pats not only never got out of first gear tonight, we didn't even start the car. We were lucky we weren't playing a side who could finish their chances.

Since the Dundalk game we've had 5 fairly handy league games and won all 5, 11 goals scored in a week and only 1 let in, we've been poor enough this season so far and are joint top.

Big test next week, Sligo away, we never win in the Showgrounds, if we can win next week then I'll start to believe that our season has got going.

2,693 Posts
    According to the extratime feed and some of the lads at the Cork game, Bohs could easily have taken the three points based on the second half although everyone agrees the Cork goal should have stood. Great point for us.
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

Quote Originally Posted by SkStu View Post
    According to the extratime feed and some of the lads at the Cork game, Bohs could easily have taken the three points based on the second half although everyone agrees the Cork goal should have stood. Great point for us.
    Thats the feeling down here too. Bohs had some good chances to win it second half and the City goal should have stood. Bohs left cursing their luck and City left cursing the referee. A draw was probably a fair result in the end but disappointed that it was the referee who cost us the 2 points.

86 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by redarmyfaction View Post
    I was robbed too so, took the 7/10 about ye tHinking it was a good thing, flash in the pan merchants only.
    Tbf the weather last night made it absolutely impossible to play. We played with the wind in the first half and Bohs found it very tough. Then, somehow, the wind strengthened in the second half. McNultys kick-outs were landing just outside the box. There were players falling over themselves and nobody could judge the flight of the ball. The weather actually caused what should have been our winner. It was crazy stuff.

3,350 Posts
    Benson's goal online somehow -

International Prospect Ezeikial's Avatar
    663 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Captain2007 View Post
    Good Result tonight, well deserved, got Dundalk on a bad night, Scully, Cassidy and Kelly were excellent for us...some disgruntled away fans not too happy with Towells display.Bray punching above their weight even without a few key players, long may it last....
    Totally deserved by Bray. Although Dundalk were poor on the night (for the 2nd match running), Bray were excellent - individually and collectively.

Apart from the 3 you mentioned - Scully was a big surprise to me - Adam Mitchell and Dave Webster were rock solid at the back and Ismahil Akinade caused a lot of problems up front. Based on that level of performance, Bray could upset many fancied teams this season.

Under Stephen Kenny, Dundalk have consistently reacted well to a defeat and bounced back quickly - Cork to suffer the backlash next week?

86 Posts
    [/B][I]P.Esc.

126 Posts
    Robbie Benson goal for UCD v Derry:

http://extratime.ie/newsdesk/articles/12141/

229 Posts
    Shocking decision. Robbed of 2 points.
    Some dilemna for Hoopy Doyle.Difficult to believe he would do Bohs a favour.
    From all newspaper reports Bohs should have been well ahead if they had taken their second half chances

86 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dalymountrower View Post
    Some dilemna for Hoopy Doyle.Difficult to believe he would do Bohs a favour.
    From all newspaper reports Bohs should have been well ahead if they had taken their second half chances
    Bohs had the better of the game, but it was incredibly difficult for us. We couldn't get out of our half the wind was that strong. Your keeper kicked a few goal kicks out for a goal kick to us, which seems a good tactic as you just pushed up on us, we couldn't play anything short and McNulty was barely clearing the box. I've honestly never seen weather like that at a game before.
    Last edited by Pablo Escobar; 26/04/2014 at 11:04 AM.
    [/B][I]P.Esc.

Quote Originally Posted by Ezeikial View Post
    Totally deserved by Bray. Although Dundalk were poor on the night (for the 2nd match running), Bray were excellent - individually and collectively.

Apart from the 3 you mentioned - Scully was a big surprise to me - Adam Mitchell and Dave Webster were rock solid at the back and Ismahil Akinade caused a lot of problems up front. Based on that level of performance, Bray could upset many fancied teams this season.

Under Stephen Kenny, Dundalk have consistently reacted well to a defeat and bounced back quickly - Cork to suffer the backlash next week?
    Us to suffer your backlash? We're the ones who've been robbed of two points last night while ye were gifted two against Athlone.

The same day they were 'gifted' points in Athlone, Cork's winning goal was clearly offside

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    The same day they were 'gifted' points in Athlone, Cork's winning goal was clearly offside
    No, it wasn't offside.

Quote Originally Posted by Pablo Escobar View Post
    That sequence of pics show it perfectly. None of the Bohs defenders were complaining either, they knew it was a goal. Unbelievable decision by the ref. The linesman on that side was half asleep too so I suppose it would've been a bit much for him to see it.

I suppose the ref will be happy since it's a good result for Shams.
    Last edited by CityRebel; 26/04/2014 at 11:13 AM.

Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast