Page 5 of 7 FirstFirst ... 34567 LastLast

Thread: Series 8

2,284 Posts
    I can't imagine there'd be a rule against naming an absent player on the bench, but why would you even name an absent player on the bench in the first place?

Edit: I've not been able to find this season's Participation Agreement online but have been able to find 2011's, which I would imagine is pretty similar, if not largely identical: https://www.fai.ie/agents_info/2011P...nAgreement.pdf

There didn't appear to be any express obligation upon named substitutes to be in attendance in 2011's agreement at least. The regulations covering team sheets, substitutions and technical officials can be found in the document linked to above from article 20.10 on page 41 onward.

66 Posts
    Seen on twitter that sexton came ill and had to be pulled out of the squad leaving athlone with one keeper.

2,284 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sulywaterfordfc View Post
    Seen on twitter that sexton came ill and had to be pulled out of the squad leaving athlone with one keeper.
    When did Sexton fall ill? Even if there was no other Athlone keeper in the vicinity, they could still have named another player on the bench in his place right up until kick-off.

Word is Craig Sexton was coaching a DDSL squad back in Dublin. Not so sure how accurate that is, but that's the word. They were playing in a toiurnament in the Oscar Traynor.

3,215 Posts
    Red card killed the game in Sligo last night. We were just after having a spell on top, creating a couple of chances and getting the home crowd a bit on edge, and then Boyle knees some Sligo fella up the arse in the box for no reason at all. He didn't even have the ball under control. Just stupid.

Three super goals from Sligo (plus two penalties) - kinda the same as last week's hammering where at least the performance was better than last season.

Rovers, Dundalk, Sligo and Cork is a hoor of a run of games.

Good crowd last night too; all credit to Sligo.

Some great craic on Facebook this morning. Apparently a task force of drunk underage pensioner Shamrock Rovers supporters stormed the Oriel Park pitch, impaled the referee on the corner flag and set fire to his body. Unconfirmed reports they were shaking the fence and frightening the stewards as well. Shocking behaviour, they should be banned from football.

International Prospect Ezeikial's Avatar
    663 Posts
    Charlie - How does that Facebuk thing work?

Do you have to be friends with gob$hites to see their posts?

Quote Originally Posted by Ezeikial View Post
    Charlie - How does that Facebuk thing work?

Do you have to be friends with gob$hites to see their posts?
    Thankfully not!

555 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    Some great craic on Facebook this morning. Apparently a task force of drunk underage pensioner Shamrock Rovers supporters stormed the Oriel Park pitch, impaled the referee on the corner flag and set fire to his body. Unconfirmed reports they were shaking the fence and frightening the stewards as well. Shocking behaviour, they should be banned from football.
    Who could blame Rovers fans for celebrating getting a point at Oriel Park by staging a pitch invasion? Heady stuff for the Hoops.

A point against the Champions is always worth celebrating.

O'Donnell out for the season. That's a huge blow for us.

http://www.dundalkfc.com/odonnell-sc...uciate-damage/

125 Posts
    lol I was shocked by the celebration from Rovers fans for getting a point. you'd swear they won the FAI cup with the reaction... Players even did a lap of honour to mark the occasion.

Bad news: confirmed that captain fantastic did his cruciate and will miss the rest of the season
    Long Live King Kenny

873 Posts
    Combned ACL and PCL tears are really rare unless the knee is dislocated which didnt seem to be the case with S'ODonnell. Damn nightmare of rehab too compared to single cruciate injury which is bad enough. A top surgeon and rehab team is really needed to get him back to his current level.

2,690 Posts
    I was at home for a few days before Easter so with Rovers away I went out to see Pats v Bohs. Good fun and a couple of quality goals.

If any of you was there I was the guy behind Brendan Clarke's goal in the second half who caught the ball after it was deflected off a Bohs defender and went into the seats behind the goal. There was a lot of spin on it so I was quite impressed, if I may say so myself. I think Michael D was too.

Quote Originally Posted by Yossarian View Post
    O'Donnell out for the season. That's a huge blow for us.

http://www.dundalkfc.com/odonnell-sc...uciate-damage/
    Awful news for a quality player.

873 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    A point against the Champions is always worth celebrating.
    Well its one thing that Dundalk and St Pats have in common then - claiming to be champions regardless of the league tables final standings!

19. Thanks From:

445 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Nesta99 View Post
    Well its one thing that Dundalk and St Pats have in common then - claiming to be champions regardless of the league tables final standings!
    We're not claiming to be Champions, we are Champions.

Big loss for Dundalk

555 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by PartySaint View Post
    We're not claiming to be Champions......
    You are obsessed. Let it go.

445 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by White Horse View Post
    You are obsessed. Let it go.
    Let what go? Being Champions? I don't think I will
    Here on a technicality.

873 Posts
    Short memory or selective memory? There was a hell of a lot of celebrating in Oriel Park one night by a St Pats team and supporters for a runners up spot! Indeed I recall a rendition of 'We are the champions' among other popular tunes crooned by champions - of course the trophy wasnt anywhere to be seen!

Page 5 of 7 FirstFirst ... 34567 LastLast