Thread: Gunther out?

Gunther out?

In the shed today I tried to get a "Murphy Out" chant going when our excuse for a manager took off ColinP instead of Hartigan for Mulligan but I was surprised when a number of people started a " Murphy In" chant.

A good few people sung the "Murphy Out" chant but more sang the "Murphy In" chant and drowned us out.

How can anybody support this a*swipe when even "sunshine supporters" can see the man is wrecking our club. Fair enough results are going in his favour and he gets away with a lot of stuff but what will happen when results start going against us??

Murphy Out Now while we still have a chance of winning the league because with this fool in charge we'll be lucky to win the league cup!

Gunther Out
    Cobh Ramblers have mastered the art of consistency.That is the art of being constantly rubbish

Murphy In

I was right next to you and I shouted Murphy In. Thats my own personal view, I have given the reasons why already on this site.

Now you can call me a sunshiner all you want but I've been supporting City alot longer than you good sir. I'm a season ticket holder who goes to every game with my flag support the team and sing loud and proud but if that makes me a sunshine supporter then thats what I am.

Your "comments" about Russel Payne were a total disgrace and I'd advise you to keep that kind of nonsense to yourself.
    Oh no not them again

well said SOC, some of those children in the shed really need a good kick up the hole with some of the racist abuse that you'd hear coming from them..and its the same few knackers up the back every time..

Angry Re: Gunther out?

Originally posted by Gunthers Mask
    [B
    Murphy Out Now while we still have a chance of winning the league because with this fool in charge we'll be lucky to win the league cup!

Gunther Out [/B]
    with this fool in charge he still managed to keep us in the premier division last year and if his such a crap manager how can you explain why are we still in with a chance of winning the league and the league cup!

MURPHY FOR IRELAND!!![SIZE=4]MURPHY FOR IRELAND!!![/SIZE]

Everyone is entitled to their views on Murphy and I respect that but I myself feel that the sooner we get rid of him the better.

As regards to the " Russel Payne" comments. I admit looking back on it now they were a bit childish and offensive but I was not the only one saying them. At least I have the balls to admit when I'm wrong and I thank you SÓCcfc for bringing that to my attention and I'll try not to repeat my actions again in future.

P.S. I don't remember calling you a sunshine supporter??
    Cobh Ramblers have mastered the art of consistency.That is the art of being constantly rubbish

i was surprised and delighted by the support for the murphy out chants to be honest. it's perfectly fair for people to have their say and everyone should resect it. at the end of the day, whatever the majority want is what should happen and at the moment thats probably that murphy will stay. i will never accept the guy as manager no matter what, i've already said that, and i'll keep saying it, but if the majority of people want him in then thats that.

pis off wayne you have no idea of the circumstances..
    remember 4 or 5 days earlier we played rovers ..and one of my friends was punched by a rovers fan..another had a glass thrown at him ...while I had a 3/4 on fire flaming city scarf thrown in my face just outside frankie sullls, which i narrowly avoided...and while not being from your friend did leave a bad taste in the mouth and relected badly on rovers fans as a whole..even if it were from the braindead minority

you reall do need to lighten up a bit...alot of what is posted on the web and on messageboards is just as much about rising people like you as well as on raising issues of debate.

you could make it a new years resolution...and maybe you could update your site a bit more too..Nov 11th City beat Pats...I think alot has happened since then for cork city and your many many viewers from all over the world deserve to know whats happening with city

anyway i call all dublin fans scum irrespective of who they support the same way they call us boggers and culchies..i dont really think you should read soo much into everything wanye and try to lighten up a bit

and another thing.. you keep going on about this UCD game..like its the only away game you were ever at or something..for your info i said the same remarks in Galway and Bray this season when no city player applauded the many city away fans for travelling and taking time off work to support them.. i also posted the reason that they did it on the opening day in longford was due to the fact that they had to walk pst us in the stand to get to the dressing rooms. City are disgusting in their lack of appreciation for away supporters and its something i feel needs to be changed..

oh and happy new year scccoty
    Last edited by James; 02/01/2002 at 12:04 AM.

shut up just leave the manager alone.15 games unbeaten last year i spose ye think thats **** do ye??****in hell we were winning 1 nil against derry(they were 11 matches unbeaten) and ye were chanting murphy out..... hows about ye judas' **** off to rambelers and complain where the **** is your pride
    j'accuse!

Originally posted by ccfcman
    we were winning 1 nil against derry(they were 11 matches unbeaten) and ye were chanting murphy out.....
    The people chanting were obviously reacting to his decision to take off CPOB instead of Hartigan. Can you get that into your head? The results are irrespective? Any good result we have got this has been down to the fact that we have some damn fine players at the moment, nothing to do with any managerial genius.

MURPHY OUT

shut up just leave the manager alone.15 games unbeaten last year i spose ye think thats **** do ye??****in hell we were winning 1 nil against derry(they were 11 matches unbeaten) and ye were chanting murphy out..... hows about ye judas' **** off to rambelers and complain where the **** is your pride
    real mature that was. listen, i'm not calling you names for liking murphy, so i'd appreciate it if you showed me the same courtesy even though i dislike him. if you made any effort to read the posts i and others have written about murphy, you would know that results are irrelevant to our dislike of the man.
    in fact, it says everything about the "murphy in" brigade that when we give our reasons for wanting him out, the only reply is "but look at his results" or something similar, inotherwards ye know that the guy is exactly as we describe him, but ye don't care as long as we win- FINE! thats your choice,but there's no need to go calling people judas just cos you don't agree with them. There are more important thing to me than results. I would rather a solid foundation for the future under a manager who i trust will be good for the club, and who knows what he's doing,rather than one who'll finish second becuase he has good players and then leave the place in sh*t. the word judas has caused enough trouble at this club already.
    Last edited by Éanna; 03/01/2002 at 3:27 PM.

Murphy In/Out

Everyone is entitled to their own views on it but there is no bloody need for people on the Murphy In side to abuse the others. I have voiced my pro-Murphy views here before and got nothing but well informed difference of opinion back at me so ccfcman I'd say relax a bit!

Re: CPO'B - In Murphy's defence I think he has done a very good job in protecting the wonderkid from all the media attention and abuse he might get, however replacing him with Hartigol might not be the best option. Any two of Steve O'Flynn Mullers and CPO'B. A bit of squad rotation would never hurt in the areas that we have choice.
    Oh no not them again

Thumbs down

They've obviously thought you how to curse in the bike shed now have they ccfc[COLOR=red]MAN[/COLOR] !!!!

When you have something intelligent to say, come back. Til then stay put on sillynet.
    Last edited by Gary; 03/01/2002 at 7:40 PM.

Hartigol

Hartigol is going to play as long as he keeps scoring and offers de manager an extra dimension in defense in de last 10 minutes. I'm not agreeing with this tactic, but our defense has been woeful this season. I think most of our problems have been due to a young team and no real leader on de pitch. We need a Patsy, someone who will get the ball in midfield and keep it there. Far too often our full-backs have by-passed midfield altogether and thumped the ball forward to the opposition 95% of de time.

Hartigol is our top scorer this season along with Ollie, and fact is you can't drop a player who's doing de goods on de pitch. There are better players it's true but they don't offer the flexability that Hartigol does.

I remember when Napier was de biggest donkey in de team. I remember Cormac Cotter being absolutely dire, and other times playing out of his skin. Confidence played a major part in these players' performances. Booing a player damages de team.

Ditto with Gunther, not de best but getting results. He's also learning his craft, a bit like McCarthy was with Ireland. There are better managers out there, but he has given a lot to de team, not least a steady influx of young players. Until we can get an experienced manager with an in-depth knowledge of de eL and its players who is willing to come to Cork, we can't do better than Gunther and IMHO should not give de man abuse.

Re: Hartigol

Originally posted by derm
    We need a Patsy
    I think that may need re-phrasing!

And the last time i checked the word was spelt THE.
    If at first you don't succeed, redefine success.

Re: Hartigol

Originally posted by derm
    Hartigol is going to play as long as he keeps scoring and offers de manager an extra dimension in defense in de last 10 minutes. I'm not agreeing with this tactic, but our defense has been woeful this season.
    1. it's a crazy tactic, and probably why we always end matches under a lot of pressure. if we had a decent forward who could hold the ball up, this wouldn't be necessary.
    2. if murphy had been playing napier all season at centre back, there wouldn't be a defensive problem. he was rock solid last season, and last week.
    Last edited by Éanna; 04/01/2002 at 5:47 PM.

if Gunther is going to play Hartigan in defence for the last 10 minutes of every game why doesn't he just bring on a defender instead of using a forward?

Because Hartigan is an all rounder akin to the total footballing dutch of the 1970's. therefore "positions" are a mere hinderence to his talent

LOL couldnt have put it better myself!