Could somebody give thir ratings of each player for last nights game![]()
We certainly didn't show the same appetite for victory last night but it was a job well done and another three points in the bag. Let's face it, Dublin City are first division material. They done exceptionally in getting to the premier in the first instance but such a club, with minimal support and no home ground do nothing to enhance the reputation of the EL and therefore belong in the first division. John Martin is finally making his mark and proving his worth to the Longford. Going off the point slightly, I think it's marvellous to see Finn Harps back where they belong, a club with great support and tradition and their recent promotion should really revitalise soccer interest in the North West and surrounding areas.
As for Longford Town, I am hoping we can finish this season out with a bang and return next season a resurgent and determined outfit with a few additional quality signings on show. After our performance against Shels on saturday night, a lot of people are very optimistic about our chances of further success next season. Fingers crossed!![]()
Nil Satis Nisi Optimum
Could somebody give thir ratings of each player for last nights game![]()
That game was a couple of nights ago now so doubt my ratings would be accurate. We were solid at the back though. Johnny Martin did well apart from his two goals. It was by no means a great performance but a comfortable three points in the end.
Expecting at least a draw from the Brandywell on Saturday night. Dublin City managed to take all three points off them up there but Derry have picked up considerably since that. We should be taking three points from Waterford the following wednesday but they'll be wanting revenge for that 'smash and grab' victory in Lansdowne back a few weeks ago!Drogs at home the following Saturday won't be easy but seeing it's the final game of the campaign I'm expecting us to go out with a bang, a bumper crowd and of course three points to cap off a memorable season!
Last edited by Dillo; 11/11/2004 at 8:25 PM.
Nil Satis Nisi Optimum
Hoping for three more points tonight just to rub it into Ratface and co!![]()
Two cups and a fifth place finish would go down well for this season I suppose.
Hear Willie Bruton could be on his way to Flansiro by the end of the season with Kirby returning to Waterford? Any truth in these rumours? Bruton would be a good addition to the squad but I'd hate to see Kirbs depart.
Nil Satis Nisi Optimum
That rumour was floating about at the Dublin City game,that Bruton was on his way to the Flansiro.Could be a load sh it though.He'd be a fantastic buy.
I honestly couldn't see kirby leaving Longford now,i'm sure is very settled at this stage wiyh family,job with Flancare etc....
I dont think he'd want to miss out in European footie either.What have Waaaaaaterford got to offer em sere? ?
I couldn't see a dignified gentlemen like kirby getting on with that scumbag reynolds!!!!![]()
The only interesting answers are those which destroy the questions!
Kirby says the only way he'll go to Waterford is if Longford dont want him any more, i dont think that day has arrived yet..He told Reynolds this too when Reynolds was on to him, again..
and why wasn't that piece of scum reported for tapping up playersOriginally Posted by Longfordian
Ignore Max Power, he is no more, the future is Ron Burgundy. I'd love to be Ron Burgundy but they won't let me........
If he's within the last six months of his deal he can talk to whoever he likes, and Kirbs' deal is up at the end of the season plus himself and Reynolds are friends anyway, they speak regularly.
he's still scum![]()
Ignore Max Power, he is no more, the future is Ron Burgundy. I'd love to be Ron Burgundy but they won't let me........
Terrible to see the scumbag take a point off us last night. It's about all he's got off us though!![]()
Nil Satis Nisi Optimum
Players linked with De Town so far:
Andy Myler, Dan O' Connor and Gary Cronin of Drogheda
Dave Morrison, Fergal Harkin and Darren Burke of Bohemians
This Lithuanian midfielder and the Crystal Palace number two goalkeeper
Young McNicholas of Athlone has joined us but any others being linked with De Town??
Nothing much to get excited about as of yet.
Nil Satis Nisi Optimum
we are a part time club after all with a limited budget, you do the best with the money you have......fact.Originally Posted by Dillo
yeah i would because it will cost over 600k to finish the ground to european standards for next season.........Originally Posted by Cop on
Yeah we don't have a mil, do weOriginally Posted by Cop on
Max is right we are limited and any development on the transfer market is progress
Barring any last minute hitches we've apparently agreed a deal with Drogs for Myler and O'Connor, the players agreed terms a good while ago so hopefully the deal will be done soon, Gary Cronin is coming too
Originally Posted by Longfordian
The deal still isn't done though!![]()
Any word on the Lithuanian international??
Nil Satis Nisi Optimum
The only hitch is getting Doolin to accept our offer, he initially told the players he would accept it but is now holding out for more, and threatening to keep the two lads for the U21s, they're willing to bide their time and are committed to coming here, I believe they've signed pre-contracts already. Once pre-season starts and Drogs have to start paying them, it won't make alot of sense to keep being awkward when there's a decent offer on the table. The Lithuanian fella is coming over for pre-season at his own expense so he can trial with the squad, worth having a look at him, it's not costing us anything as I believe he's being put up in Longford by connections
read the lithuanian post![]()
According to today's Star Town will finalise the signings of Drogheda's Andy Myler, Danny O' Connor and Gary Cronin later this week. How good are O'Connor and Cronin does anybody know?? Bit strange signing a trio like that from the one club if you ask me.
On a separate note, did anybody see yesterday's Star. Pictured on page 53 was Robbie Doyle of St. Pats with a stunning Fair City actress. Quite ironic as there's a rumour in circulation that actor Bella Doyle also of Fair City is an uncle of Robbie's.
Nil Satis Nisi Optimum
O'Connor was their captain and is rated very highly by all Drogs fans, he was runner up in their player of the year..Cronin I know less about but he's a left sided player which is something we're short on