Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: Where do Longford Town FC go from here?

Digger has gone very public about his desire to stay involved in the Town and there would be uproar if he was let go. He shares the spotlight for most popular Town player EVER with Vinnie, who I fear may be on his way.

Quote Originally Posted by Cop on
    If a proper discount was offered on the season ticket , i.e. IF people perceived it to be value for money, then, arguably more people would buy it, thus increasing revenue (classifying the season ticket as an elastic good, which it is !!)
    Just not sure. I've asked a well connected Galway fan who was involved in their discount to see how it worked out, so we'll see

Thumbs down Stephen Caffrey

Quote Originally Posted by MARTINHO II
    what do ye guys think of the story in todays sun

town are being linked with Stephen Caffrey the bohs striker,he has being a peripehal figure for bohs this season! was a great battleaxe for bohs and glentoran(i think!) in his day

same paper is sayin that digger is being linked with a move to st pats-will digger leave us on ahigh to go to the club that his family has supported!

sad if he goes!

Stephen Caffrey is pure muck. A peripheral figure my ar$e. He is a 'midfielder' and can also play in defence...... allegedly! He is a Dog of War and has no function in that Bohemians side. Farrelly and Bohs are offloading Caffrey for a reason and I would be very disheartened to see a player of his limited ability coming to De Town. Matthews should be looking for quality at this stage and Caffrey most certainly does not fit into that bracket.
    As for Digger, he has been a wonderful servant for Longford Town and I could not envisage him leaving for any club at this stage- not even his family club, St. Pats.
    Nil Satis Nisi Optimum

Quote Originally Posted by Dillo
    Stephen Caffrey is pure muck. A peripheral figure my ar$e. He is a 'midfielder' and can also play in defence...... allegedly! He is a Dog of War and has no function in that Bohemians side. Farrelly and Bohs are offloading Caffrey for a reason and I would be very disheartened to see a player of his limited ability coming to De Town. Matthews should be looking for quality at this stage and Caffrey most certainly does not fit into that bracket.
    As for Digger, he has been a wonderful servant for Longford Town and I could not envisage him leaving for any club at this stage- not even his family club, St. Pats.
    Agree 100% with ya Dillo. Caffrey is a player of very limited ability. He is not a striker as you pointed out. A midfielder/defender. He has a poor engine, distinct lack of pace and very few footballing attributes. Caffrey is leaving because next season may see the creation of a very impressive midfield partnership at Bohs. Farrelly and Hunt are streets ahead. If we want to be competing at a high level, we can do without rejects like Caffrey. He's just not good enough.

I would prefer to see us bringing younger, hungrier players into the club. Wouldnt mind seeing Daryl Murphy or his Waterford compatriot, Dan Connor (if Digger decides to leave).
    "Love many, trust few, always paddle your own canoe." Dillo

was not impressed with Dan Connor's play or his tuggish behaviour and we have no place for him here. There are loads of good Keepers around this part and I whilst I admire Dempsey I feel this is an area where LTFC can give a young fella a chance. Drogs might have to cut their cloth and one play I'd like to see here would be McClair.
    Reporter: "Gordan, can we have a quick word?"
    Strachan:"Velocity"

Dan Connor is an under-21 international. Hes really impressed me for the last couple of seasons. Think people are over-reacting by calling him a thug. Some players will do whatever they can for their club. Connor cannot even be compared to Ratnolds. I think we need a big personality to replace Digger when the time comes.
    "Love many, trust few, always paddle your own canoe." Dillo

Quote Originally Posted by TheJamaicanP.M.
    Dan Connor is an under-21 international. Hes really impressed me for the last couple of seasons. Think people are over-reacting by calling him a thug. Some players will do whatever they can for their club. Connor cannot even be compared to Ratnolds. I think we need a big personality to replace Digger when the time comes.

You seem to have a lot of admiration for that lad alright! Hard to see him leaving Waterford though.
    Nil Satis Nisi Optimum

Foot.ie! trevor vaughan??

ye must be jokin lads wantin to sign him, played against him many moons ago, and he was a fat git then, even i caught him from a 20 yard head start, to nick the ball off his toes...blah...blah...blah...he was with home farm at the time

Quote Originally Posted by Cop on
    - there's loads of minted Longford men all over the world..
    yeh maybe....but none of them are interested in soccer or helping longford town f.c......still a bit of a stigma attached from the old days of "begging" in all the pubs on a sunday night.....dont make sense to you? it does to me...i think

i have met minted longford men over here that were not even aware longford had a soccer team!! actually there is not much coverage of loi in general over here, its just not feckin fair i tell ya!! well if i win the lottery, there will be a big injection of cash, thats if they give me the £20 they owe me

Your Username sums up your contributions to this forum. Sad little gossin!
    Nil Satis Nisi Optimum

Wouldnt want Dan O' Connor here either, he has similar antics to Alan Reynolds!
    Think the return of Stuie Byrne would be fantastic, have to say wouldnt mind Kevin Hunt with the town, I think he would work well with Dean and both can score goals!
    We really need to spend the money on a good striker who is gonna score goals in double figures!
    Ever get the feelin' you have been cheated?

1,104 Posts
    As regards the season ticket points, definitely members of the baord are aware that a package has to be put together, our season ticket sales are minimal, we should be selling up to 700 season tickets, get a good bit of money into the club up front to start the season, as I said it's certainly favoured by members of the committee so we'll see what happens..as regards players I can see Darragh and Brian Byrne being let go and McGovern, Lavine too if anyone came in for him..he'll never score again if his miss last night is any indication, I know he works hard but 40% at least of his job is putting the ball in the net..Keegan isnt doing it either but as was pointed out he has another year left and after getting the winner in the final deserves a shot. After that, its hard to know.

As for who comes in, Alan I think is aiming to build a team of young talented players, the likes of Dillon, Paisley, Gartland, Prunty are the backbone of the side for now and the future, if players are coming in I'd expect some more younger players with maybe one experienced midfielder and a proper goalscorer

Quote Originally Posted by baboon ar*e
    ye must be jokin lads wantin to sign him, played against him many moons ago, and he was a fat git then, even i caught him from a 20 yard head start, to nick the ball off his toes...blah...blah...blah...he was with home farm at the time
    sorry i would be interested in signing him after scoring the hattrick against scumlone on friday nite!

Exclamation Stick to the point!

I put up this thread to discuss the future of Longford Town Football Club. While I am very happy with the many responses, I really urge you lads to stick to the point. Dan O' Connor and Trevor Vaughan are irrelevant.
    Nil Satis Nisi Optimum

1,104 Posts
    Up to a point Dillo, as the future of Longford Town will involve getting new players..no harm in mentioning who people feel would improve the team , no matter how ludicrous the idea might be..

I accept your point but it's quality players we need and want at this club and if this involves scouting across the water then so be it.
    Nil Satis Nisi Optimum

but the first point is our budget, there is no point in trying to gain short term sucess whilt risking the long term future of the club.

left wing, midfield and a 10+ in the league striker.
    Ignore Max Power, he is no more, the future is Ron Burgundy. I'd love to be Ron Burgundy but they won't let me........

Faie enough Max, I agree. We can fill those positions with quality without bringing the club into financial problems. But remember that word QUALITY!
    Nil Satis Nisi Optimum

Quote Originally Posted by Dillo
    Faie enough Max, I agree. We can fill those positions with quality without bringing the club into financial problems. But remember that word QUALITY!
    but quality costs money and there must be a cut off point where you say here is ur budget do the best ya can, cause that is reality at our club.
    Ignore Max Power, he is no more, the future is Ron Burgundy. I'd love to be Ron Burgundy but they won't let me........

Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast