Ha it's happened me before, feels like your talking to yourself

2,446 Posts
    Drogheda down to 8 men!

2,446 Posts
    FT in Drogheda. Seems to have been an absolutely mental game.

Pat's the only team through to the semis tonight.

Shed End.. **** off with your joe delaney stand
    Quote Originally Posted by nigel-harps1954 View Post
    Drogheda down to 8 men!
    Christ what's going on there, finished 2-2

Shed End.. **** off with your joe delaney stand

Pat's the only team through to the semis tonight.
    No pats fan will be getting their hopes just yet up I'd imagine

Ref tonight was a clown , absolute clown. I'm disgusted. Fair play to our guys for digging deep to fight on in the face of such ineptitude by that clown of a ref. Fuming

2,446 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SeanDrog View Post
    Ref tonight was a clown , absolute clown. I'm disgusted. Fair play to our guys for digging deep to fight on in the face of such ineptitude by that clown of a ref. Fuming
    Sort of makes up for the result in Finn Park last season then at the same stage?

2,284 Posts
    What were the three sent off for?

54 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SeanDrog View Post
    Let us know if Rico kicks the dressing room door in.
    ...Schwanholz, Herisau: a little bit of heaven...

959 Posts
    Sort of makes up for the result in Finn Park last season then at the same stage?
    Or the semi final after!

First red was a red in my opinion. The other 2 were disgraceful decisions and the decision that led to the third was actually a free to us. Tomney's overall performance (even putting the cards to one side) was the most biased I have ever seen in my 30+ years and I would have genuine concerns that there were ulterior motives there. It wasn't the usual ineptness you can get from LOI refs, there was just a clear bias. I hope we lodge some sort of complaint. Nothing will be done but at least it 'will be on record' and hopefully we'll never have him again.

We're as good as out of the tie now because we'll have no team for the replay. We were already down to the bones as it was.

Quote Originally Posted by Acer View Post
    First red was a red in my opinion. The other 2 were disgraceful decisions and the decision that led to the third was actually a free to us. Tomney's overall performance (even putting the cards to one side) was the most biased I have ever seen in my 30+ years and I would have genuine concerns that there were ulterior motives there. It wasn't the usual ineptness you can get from LOI refs, there was just a clear bias. I hope we lodge some sort of complaint. Nothing will be done but at least it 'will be on record' and hopefully we'll never have him again.

We're as good as out of the tie now because we'll have no team for the replay. We were already down to the bones as it was.

Fully agree and I'm not one for automatically blaming refs just coz decisions go against you. Plus the Derry equaliser came from a free kick in which we won the ball cleanly (it was in front of me) .... I haven't been this angry coming from a game in a long long time.

Match report on rte now but it does not justice to the actual game.

Arrgh .... Sigh .... I'm going to bed ... Being annoyed not going to change the result - good night all.
    Last edited by SeanDrog; 12/09/2014 at 9:32 PM.

445 Posts
    Not quite sure how we ended up hanging on at the end, Bohs threw everything at us and one chance I'm still not sure how it didn't go in, Bolger put is in trouble picking up a stupid second yellow but we're through and that's all that matters, Avondale or Finn Harps next please.
    Here on a technicality.

100 Posts
    1st red was nailed on for me. Stupid tackle.

2nd red Grimes must have said something fairly bad to him.

3rd red was very harsh, especially when already down to 9.

Dubious foul for their 2nd goal too.

We nearly pulled it off in spite of all of the above.
    You've got no fans.

246 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by MeathDrog View Post
    2nd red Grimes must have said something fairly bad to him.
    Not a great view of it myself, but according to other ones, he appeared to push the ref.

Quote Originally Posted by MeathDrog View Post
    3rd red was very harsh, especially when already down to 9.
    Really? On a yellow, then boots the ball away after a decision going against him. Stupid, needless stuff.

For the record, I think it was a soft foul that led to our second, but other than that, thought Tomney was alright.

Mental match though. Game was very open until the first sending off. Drog's second goal massively changed the game, Drogs just sat with everyone behind the ball and let us come onto them. Fair play, absorbed it well. At one point in open play, everyone bar Gerard Doherty and Barry Molloy were inside the Drog's box. Mad scenes.

Happy to get the replay. We've a terrible record in United Park. Drogs were very good at closing our midfield out. Hopefully the situation should be different with the bigger pitch in the Brandy on Tuesday.

399 Posts
    Thought that was a dreadful match tonight in Tallaght. I'd marginally blame Rovers for being the home side for creating very little but we weren't far behind. It must have been a terrible match for the neutral fan. A replay on Monday is not exactly the ideal build up to the EA Sports Cup Final in the same venue less than a week later.

Did I say it was a bad game. Christ I'm still getting over it.
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), only Irish club to win a game / points in Europa League Group Stage (2016).

Quote Originally Posted by brendy_éire View Post
    Not a great view of it myself, but according to other ones, he appeared to push the ref.
    He didn't.

thought Tomney was alright.
    Wow.

246 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Acer View Post
    He didn't.
    Push as in a nudge to the shoulder that moved his body?
    Must have said something pretty bad too.

Also, enjoyed the fact that Tomney added on five minutes, mostly due to the antics of the Drog's fan of holding onto balls that landed in the stand, waiting for a replacement enter play, then fecking the original on the pitch. Should have been drop-balls, but just gave us the throw again.
    Don't know if the moronic fan behaviour is punishable, but the FAI rep was scribbling away when it happened.

Push as in a nudge to the shoulder that moved his body?
    There was no contact of any sort. He wasn't even close to him. It was for verbal dissent.

Don't know if the moronic fan behaviour is punishable, but the FAI rep was scribbling away when it happened.
    He was probably writing about Tomney's lack of knowledge over the drop-ball rule. I'd say he had run out of ink by the time the game was over.

Sean no way should they have been drop balls. Laws state you restart the game as you were meant to.
    First red was dead right, second red player was stupid to say anything,if it was serious enough he left himself open to being sent off.
    Third red again blame the player, afforded the ref the opportunity to send him off.
    The referee had three big decisions to make tonight and for me got all three correct
    It was a soft free led to Derrys second goal though.
    We battled hard, and a draw was the least we deserved, although in the first ten minutes I thought Derry were going to swamp us.
    As for the ref being biased,best joke I heard in a while
    Last edited by KeepersBall; 12/09/2014 at 11:23 PM.

Page 20 of 42 FirstFirst ... 10181920212230 ... LastLast