Page 21 of 42 FirstFirst ... 11192021222331 ... LastLast

Thread: FAI Cup 2014

555 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by oriel View Post
    Thought that was a dreadful match tonight in Tallaght. I'd marginally blame Rovers for being the home side for creating very little but we weren't far behind. It must have been a terrible match for the neutral fan. A replay on Monday is not exactly the ideal build up to the EA Sports Cup Final in the same venue less than a week later.

Did I say it was a bad game. Christ I'm still getting over it.
    Poor football from both teams. Did Rovers have even a shot on target?

We created enough to win but a draw was a fair result. The only positive was the lively performance of Horgan. He has really begun to blossom in the last few weeks.

433 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by White Horse View Post

We created enough to win but a draw was a fair result. The only positive was the lively performance of Horgan. He has really begun to blossom in the last few weeks.
    100%.€10k well spent by Dundalk...or was it €10m ?
    Poor quality game thats best forgotten.
    Cumann Peile Dún Dealgan - Champions 2015 (too many accolades to be typing)

Termonbarry Athletic TID!

821 Posts
    Due to early kick off time me and my mate ended up in Richmond instead of tallaght and what a bit of luck because it was an absolute thriller in Inchicore. Pats the better team but once they went down to 10 bohs easilly could have taken it to a replay, amazing atmosphere and a true derby.

672 Posts
    That was a classic in United Park tonight. Absolutely epic. Drogs deserved a draw for sheer heroism. Fair play.

Didn't see the first sending off because I was in the main stand. Everyone I spoke to said it was a sending off.

Second one was clear dissent. Can only imagine Grimes said something very, very strong for the ref to march right up to him and give him a straight red.

Third was for kicking the ball away on a yellow card. Just moronic from Holohan.

Don't see much of a problem with the ref. Couple of soft ones either way. Majority of Drogs fans seemed incensed that he was happy to let McBride and O'Neill battle it out (McBride was climbing, O'Neill was backing in - let em have at it). If it helps, you probably would have lost without that sense of up-against-it victimhood.
    Ou-est le Centre George Pompidou?

48 Posts
    Maddest game I've been at in 30 years!

Rico must be going mental with the player's sent off as all 3 were needless!

The 1st was at the corner flag but at the Derry end, 2nd had to be something bad said to the ref3rd was as stupid as I've ever seen.

The ball boy behind the chippy must get some credit as the 20times+ the ball went thete I saw him lift the ball and hide behind the chippy for 30 seconds.

As Brendy said the fans keeping the ball and then throwing it on to the pitch after a replacement is found was very frustrating but I won't knock either as Drogheda were up against it.
    So if you think Bohs are big read this. http://www.astronomy.ie/perpespective.html

Quote Originally Posted by KeepersBall View Post
    Sean no way should they have been drop balls. Laws state you restart the game as you were meant to.

Thanks but I didn't ask anything about the drop ball , guess you meant it for another poster.

New day and more relaxed now - can't wait for the replay but going to be hard with so many suspended (I think Brennan is still out).
    Drogheda United in this together

Sean you are right, I bucked the job up there.
    It was Brendy that was on about the throw ins/drop bslls

Quote Originally Posted by Candystripe

Rico must be going mental with the player's sent off as all 3 were needless!
    Ridden rock solid

Quote Originally Posted by outspoken View Post
    Due to early kick off time me and my mate ended up in Richmond instead of tallaght and what a bit of luck because it was an absolute thriller in Inchicore. Pats the better team but once they went down to 10 bohs easilly could have taken it to a replay, amazing atmosphere and a true derby.
    Due to the early kick off?Rumour has it you ended up in inchicore after taking a wrong turn trying to find Tallaght outspoken?!
    If you can keep your head when all around you have lost theirs, then you probably haven't understood the seriousness of the situation.

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    785 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by White Horse View Post

I was at this one and you're correct, the Dundalk keeper was never tested. Rovers best opportunities came from corners despite the fact that they're quite a small side, especially up front. Dundalk had a great chance for Byrne win it with about 15 minutes to go but other than that, I am hard pressed to think of another decent chance from either side. I think Rovers set out their stall (excuse cliche) to stop Dundalk playing which they did but I am not sure why Murphy was delaying things at the end or why it took 89 minutes for Waters to be substituted. I still enjoyed it though.
    Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.

233 Posts
    Cracker of a game in Inchicore. Bohs were very good I thought, really put it up to us, particularly in the first half. We were well on top in the second until the sending off. Maybe a tad harsh on Bolger but he did seem to have a slight pull at the Bohs player. Don't know that it merited a yellow though. The last 15 minutes were not good for the nerves at all at all. Best Mark Quigley has played this season worked hard and a lovely piece of skill in the first half which brought a good save from Delaney. And speaking of skill, an absolutely sublime drag back and back heel from Keith Fahey late on. Relieved to get through though. Dreaming of the Aviva now (and no doubt another heart breaking defeat )
    Out for a spell, got neglected, lay on the bench unselected.

821 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Bosco View Post
    Due to the early kick off?Rumour has it you ended up in inchicore after taking a wrong turn trying to find Tallaght outspoken?!
    #BestLeagueInTheWorld

539 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Bosco View Post
    lads bumped into me who was also at the game independently and I had to escort them out of Inchicore safely!

superb game. Pats just about won it but Bohs could have equalised when Bolger got sent off.. skill immense. funniest moment in match was when Mark Quigley and Dave Mulcahy got into a clash and heads were touchin!

btw was there a fan arrested at the game as I was getting food before the game at the chipper inside and the guards handcuffed one person! he had no jersey so have no idea who he was down to support. but I left quickly as his mates were causing aggro with the guards!

Terrible game in Tallaght, but I fear it will be the way things are until the end of the year. Fenlon has the team set out to play direct because any other way will expose our weak defence more than it already is, and you can see from the respective counter-attacks how slow we are compared to Dundalk. When you look at the team and you can see they clearly miss Boccer, you know you're struggling. I stand by my opinion that a few players will be turfed out in the winter.

So after some stat checking, it seems that Tomney has given us 6 red cards in 3 games he has reffed this season. The rumour is that the club were particularly p.ssed off that Derry representatives approached Tomney before the game about Gary O'Neil winning frees too often - I think he got one all night and more often than not was unjustifiably penalised himself. Grimes got sent off for calling Tomney 'a dopey kant'. Apparently everyone is annoyed because Patterson was at it all night and not a peep. The game will definitely be looked into by the powers that be but again, can't see anything happening.

48 Posts
    The FAI rep was writing down stuff non stop but also when the ballboy kept running behind the chippy with the ball. Also every time the 2nd ball was threw back into play he was writing stuff down.

How ur keeper didn't get booked for wasting time is beyond me.

I would hope we would do the same in the same circumstances though
    So if you think Bohs are big read this. http://www.astronomy.ie/perpespective.html

3,269 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Acer View Post
    So after some stat checking, it seems that Tomney has given us 6 red cards in 3 games he has reffed this season.
    A completely irrelevant stat if the reds were correct in fairness.

2,360 Posts
    Fierce nervous today. Anyone know of any live coverage of the Avondale v Harps game anywhere or is it just updates from local radio?

880 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by nigel-harps1954 View Post
    Fierce nervous today. Anyone know of any live coverage of the Avondale v Harps game anywhere or is it just updates from local radio?
    Yeah its has top billing on Sky Sports 1

21. Thanks From:

2,360 Posts
    Zero updates for this game anywhere. It's absolutely desperate. 20 minutes in and I can't even find a team sheet.

Page 21 of 42 FirstFirst ... 11192021222331 ... LastLast