Page 18 of 42 FirstFirst ... 8161718192028 ... LastLast

Thread: FAI Cup 2014

Quote Originally Posted by nigel-harps1954 View Post
    I agree wholeheartedly, but at the end of the day, where are boundaries drawn? Temporary seating isn't that expensive to rent for one game and it's not like they need that many seats put in. As long as there's toilet facilities, a few seats, a reasonably sized media area and sufficient car parking in the area, the ground should be grand for use.
    Surely that should depend on the tie. If putting in temporary seats is financially viable, by all means, but I don't think a club should be forced to shell out cash they don't have just because they've played well enough to get this far. I'd imagine there won't be a massive travelling support owing to the distance and travel/cash fatigue from the Harps fans, so they'd be relying on a big gate to cover the cost which isn't guaranteed by any stretch.

I agree wholeheartedly, but at the end of the day, where are boundaries drawn? Temporary seating isn't that expensive to rent for one game and it's not like they need that many seats put in. As long as there's toilet facilities, a few seats, a reasonably sized media area and sufficient car parking in the area, the ground should be grand for use.
    Yeh thats true Nigel and it makes sense that there is certain requirements depending on the category of the fixture or there would be no point in having licencing.

Finn Harps had a player sent off in contentious circumstances in the last round as well Razor and to my knowledge we can't appeal it.

Unless Mulcroney was given an additonal game (having served the first one in a MSL game) which is different of course.

144 Posts
    Chickens or no chickens, they still should have planned for any potential home Quarter Final tie. Every eventuality has to be taken into account when planning ahead. It's very poorly planned now as a result and just over a week away from the game nobody seems to know what's happening.
    If it's any consolation I bought 2 boxes of Complan today and I've half a dozen plastic chairs out the back that I can bring.
    "Must you tell me all your secrets when it's hard enough to love you knowing nothing."

http://worddok.blogspot.com

Quote Originally Posted by razor View Post
    If it's any consolation I bought 2 boxes of Complan today and I've half a dozen plastic chairs out the back that I can bring.
    You wouldn't mind fixing a few prawn sandwiches would ya?

861 Posts
    Surely the conditions for hosting such a game should be laid out for every club entering the competition before it starts! Only the FAI would leave it to chance that a team like Avondale won't make it to a quarter final. Laughable.

144 Posts
    Here's the rules

14 Competition Fixtures
    14.1 The Clubs which are in each instance first drawn in the ballot shall have choice of ground. In the event that the ground nominated by the team drawn at home in any given tie not being approved by the Committee within at least seventy two hours prior to the kick off time of the appointed match, the Committee shall have the power, at its discretion, to nominate an alternative ground or to direct that the match be played at the ground of the team drawn second in the tie provided that the said ground shall also be approved by the Committee and that both Clubs are given a minimum of seventy two hours notice of the venue and time of the match. Should a Club not have a private ground it shall be at liberty to procure one.
    It's all in the "Committees" hands now
    Last edited by razor; 05/09/2014 at 7:32 AM.
    "Must you tell me all your secrets when it's hard enough to love you knowing nothing."

238 Posts
    So they can actually reverse the fixture to Finn Park??

That would be a great solution.........

448 Posts
    Why is it such a problem for Finn Harps fan to not know which ground it is going to be played in? Just make your plans to get to Cork and then if its in Avondale Park you have to go a little further than you would if it was in the Cross.

1,552 Posts
    The time and date also have not been set- that's the bigger issue IMO.

2,446 Posts
    Issue is most certainly date and time. At this stage I wouldn't care if it was played in a bog. Some people have work/college to sort out at short notice.

144 Posts
    Issue is most certainly date and time. At this stage I wouldn't care if it was played in a bog. Some people have work/college to sort out at short notice.
    As Avondale Park has no lights and as they may try and not use them at the Cross I would guess 2/3pm on Saturday or 2/3pm on Sunday.

231 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by PartySaint View Post
    It's down on our site as the 12th, I don't see why it would be on any other day.
    Direct bus and Luas to Tallaght.Surprised if the Gardai let both Tallaght and Inchicore games go ahead the same night

2,446 Posts
    It's looking like Avondale Park at 2pm next Sunday. Main issues lay with dressing rooms being too far from the pitch and dugouts being too small supposedly. Official announcement due tomorrow.

This means, if there's a replay, Harps would be playing three matches in the space of six days with a replay on Tuesday/Wednesday and Galway the following Saturday.
    Last edited by nigel-harps1954; 05/09/2014 at 6:56 PM.

It's looking like Avondale Park at 2pm next Sunday. Main issues lay with dressing rooms being too far from the pitch and dugouts being too small supposedly. Official announcement due tomorrow.

This means, if there's a replay, Harps would be playing three matches in the space of six days with a replay on Tuesday/Wednesday and Galway the following Saturday.
    It'll be a facile win for ye wherever it happens though?

2,446 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Duffman View Post
    It'll be a facile win for ye wherever it happens though?
    Would never be too sure. Avondale are without a doubt the strongest intermediate side in the country and not too far off LOI level in terms of playing standard. Harps have been awfully hit and miss all season and Avondale will certainly fancy their chances of causing an upset. Wouldn't be overly upset about it going to a replay.

186 Posts
    Finn Park it is then.

In fairness to Avondale, if their ground is adequate, then they cant be expected to put up something temporary for a quarter final with a team literally on the other end of the country. As long as they give the 5%, or whatever it is, of the capacity to the visiting team well its not for them to worry about the numbers of away fans.
    Manager: Fergal, have you your boots with ya?
    Fergal: Ya, I have them here.
    Manager: Ah good stuff, well give them to this man so, he forgot his!

1,552 Posts
    We don't care where it's played. We just want them to set a time and date so people can make plans.

Sunday at 2pm @ Avondale Park confirmed

Would be three matches in the space of seven days really

433 Posts

FAI Cup QF Weekend

Just in case you forgot the fixtures

FRIDAY

Shamrock Rovers v DundalkFC 7.05pm LIVE on RTE 2

Drogheda United v Derry City 7.45pm

Saint Patricks Ath. v Bohemians 7.45pm

SUNDAY

Avondale United v Finn Harps 2pm (Avondale Park)

Do Any Harps or Avondale supporters know if a local radio station will be covering the match?
    Cumann Peile Dún Dealgan - Champions 2015 (too many accolades to be typing)

Termonbarry Athletic TID!

Page 18 of 42 FirstFirst ... 8161718192028 ... LastLast