Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: LOI Week 1

LOI Week 1

Ten minutes in and no thread yet? Lads...

Cork City –v–St Patrick’s Athletic
    Drogheda United –v–Dundalk
    Limerick FC –v–Bray Wanderers
    UCD –v–Bohemians
    Sligo Rovers –v–Athlone Town
    Shamrock Rovers –v–Derry City

Galway FC –v– Longford Town
    Finn Harps –v– Waterford United
    Shelbourne –v– Wexford Youths
    Cobh Ramblers –v– Shamrock Rovers B

1,524 Posts
    Nary a goal in sight.

Worst.

Season.

Ever.

22 Posts
    Bohs 1
    Paddy Kavanagh

and Drogs 1
    Eric Foley
    Until The Last Rebel!

1,524 Posts
    Bohs 1 up and have so far outscored all the rest of the teams in the league combined.

1,524 Posts
    Drogheda 1 up as Dundalk completely fall apart after their great season last year.

22 Posts
    Cork 1
    Garry Buckley
    Until The Last Rebel!

1,524 Posts
    3-0 Drogheda. Jeepers.

22 Posts
    More red cards than goals tonight, nearly!
    Until The Last Rebel!

International Prospect CraftyToePoke's Avatar
    857 Posts
    Fairly uninspired evening in Limerick by the sound of the updates too.

126 Posts
    Not a bad point against Pats considering we played over 20 mins with 10 men. Half the team had been booked by half time, Padraig Sutton was incredibly card happy.

We showed a lot of commitment and we looked very solid defensively. We also showed Pats respect by playing 5 in midfield, I'd expect us to go at lesser teams a lot more.

I think we've improved dramatically on last season.

3,222 Posts
    Bohs have improved anyway.

Well I'm not sure where to start with that. It looked like we gathered up 11 lads before the game who'd never met. Towell was anonymous and our defence was woeful. Higgins offered nothing in front of the back four. We had a couple of chances that we didn't take and were punished. I didn't see any positives for us and Drogs did well in pressing us and being clinical from their set pieces. Whatever about losing, that wouldn't bother me as much as the abject performances and complete lack of ideas.

1,081 Posts
    Great result for Town in Galway. Good game, great crowd. I think we deserved it on the night. We look strong.

44 Posts
    Great result - I would have taken draw at the start. Shame Brennan got sent off . RTE saying a player from each side sent off at half time????

Great crowd - guessing around 4000 (1500 Dundalk 2500 Drogs) ... Guessing , hopefully official figure is released soon as I'm curious.

Some gate receipts

Obviously delighted by the result.

44 Posts
    Appears rte are right, two subs sent off at half time - Hughes for drogs

Good report here . Our squad is too small to have people sent off for stupid stuff

http://www.airtricityleague.ie/news/...h-local-rivals

Quote Originally Posted by Longfordian View Post
    Great result for Town in Galway. Good game, great crowd. I think we deserved it on the night. We look strong.
    Enjoyable night with 2 good teams playing good football. Longford were rock solid at the back and they wont concede many goals this season. Fair play to their fans also, never stopped singing.

I think when Manning, Walsh, Murphy etc return to the team we will be much stronger.

Quote Originally Posted by SeanDrog View Post
    Appears rte are right, two subs sent off at half time - Hughes for drogs

Good report here . Our squad is too small to have people sent off for stupid stuff

http://www.airtricityleague.ie/news/...h-local-rivals
    The red was very harsh and I'd be very surprised if we didn't win an appeal on it.

The gate was great, credit to both teams for that. Doubt we'll see an "official figure" though!

I heard the issue at half time started with 2 other players but those two got involved and suffered for it.

The game itself was just a continuation of the Malone cup game, except this time we took our chances. I thought Dundalk looked better for the first 20 minutes of so but then we took control. We were different class in the second half.

217 Posts
    Cork 1-1 St Pat’s,
    Drogheda 4-1 Dundalk,
    Limerick 0-0 Bray,
    UCD 0-3 Bohemians.

Good start to the season for Bohs. This time 3 days time to see the goals!!!

1,081 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Terry View Post
    Enjoyable night with 2 good teams playing good football. Longford were rock solid at the back and they wont concede many goals this season. Fair play to their fans also, never stopped singing.

I think when Manning, Walsh, Murphy etc return to the team we will be much stronger.
    Yeah I expect ye'll be right up there. Connolly was good for ye. Great set up down there and very well run match night by the way. Great to have ye back

International Prospect NeverFeltBetter's Avatar
    583 Posts
    Should have a pool on the amount of red cards this season. Already its groan inducing.
    Author of Never Felt Better (History, Film Reviews).

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast