Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Thread: national team - Irish speakers

Quote Originally Posted by lopez
    Keeping this strictly along the legal lines that you have decided to put this into, this is strictly b*llocks. What country are you talking about where if you are born there you're a citizen until you are old enough to decide otherwise? US, Australia, Canada, because it's nowhere in the EU. Not even Ireland anymore because although it might well have been the case that the Irish government handed out citizenship to all and sundry that were dropped there, but like other countries with growing immigration (rather than emigration) it doesn't anymore. In-ger-land, where I and Keown were born or Wales or Scotland? Surely Britain? Sorry to dissapoint you but this qualification was done away by Thatch in 1981. Noone, but noone is automatically a British citizen unless one of their parents are British citizens. You apply for it and providing you come up to scratch (all of this like any application to join a certain club is strictly up to the club itself) you might just get it..
    Aye, Canny, Grand. Good Man.

I should point out that Cowboy already put me straight on this earlier though, about 3 posts ago. He was quicker about it too mind, Less breath used.
    (P.S. Whos this Noone Guy? & how come the law is different for him? )

Anyway, digression. My fault. Angry young celtic soul brother. So far the list has come up with Kilbane & Cunningham as 'maybes' for an cupla focail, anyone else? Law of stereotypical averages says the Donegal Lads should have a good grasp. Any Reports on Given having a lash?

Quote Originally Posted by Steviewonder
    Any Reports on Given having a lash?
    Not sure that Lifford is a 'cupla focla' stronghold!

Quote Originally Posted by Steviewonder
    Aye, Canny, Grand. Good Man.

I should point out that Cowboy already put me straight on this earlier though, about 3 posts ago. He was quicker about it too mind, Less breath used.
    (P.S. Whos this Noone Guy? & how come the law is different for him? )

Anyway, digression. My fault. Angry young celtic soul brother. So far the list has come up with Kilbane & Cunningham as 'maybes' for an cupla focail, anyone else? Law of stereotypical averages says the Donegal Lads should have a good grasp. Any Reports on Given having a lash?
    Cowboy put you straight about the referendum (which you rightly claim I needn't have waffled on about). However as we're talking about Britain, the point I made is that the law was changed before someone like Aidan McGeavy was born. Mind you, even in the countries with the toughest of citizenship processes like Germany, this doesn't stop the fast and gifted 'noone' from gaining 'citizenship' denied to the not-so-fast-and-gifted 'noone' in order to represent their new found country.
    This is the cooooooooooooolest footy forum I've ever seen!

Mind you, even in the countries with the toughest of citizenship processes like Germany, this doesn't stop the fast and gifted 'noone' from gaining 'citizenship' denied to the not-so-fast-and-gifted 'noone' in order to represent their new found country.
    Like for instance a certain Mr Hargreaves being offered a ''chance of a lifetime'' citizenship opportunity with the fatherland when it looked like their midfield was f*cked?

See what u mean....

barglee
    Barglee? Congratulations mate! You have just picked up my 'W*nker of The Week' Award. Suggestions for some literature on Irish emigration is on its way to you soon as soon as you can prove to me that you'll be able to read it.
    Apologies if i offended anyone, i wouldn't question any 2g ers irishness, if you read my post you'd see i just meant that Keown was born in English and his natural nationality is English.

Im not disputing the fact that a person can claim a different nationality if he/she feels this is right.

I was born in ireland and have irish parents etc so maybe i dont understand all this, i still feel irish because of WHERE i was brought up, WHERE i went to school, friends etc and not necessarily my parents.

im sorry if i struck a sensitive nerve with a few of ye , to be honest its a silly topic and not worth arguing about.

So what is the prize for 'W*nker of The Week' award ?????

fair enough

230 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by barglee

So what is the prize for 'W*nker of The Week' award ?????
    The prize is that you win next weeks also. Just kidding!
    Did you ever notice that in every painting of Adam & Eve, they have belly buttons. Think about that...take as long as you want.

Im not disputing the fact that a person can claim a different nationality if he/she feels this is right.

i still feel irish because of WHERE i was brought up, WHERE i went to school, friends etc and not necessarily my parents.
    Bang on young'flla. Im with ya.

Group hug etc, from the Irish Welshman..

Apologies if i offended anyone, i wouldn't question any 2g ers irishness, if you read my post you'd see i just meant that Keown was born in English and his natural nationality is English.
    Apology gracefully accepted, and yes we 2G do have raw nerves on this question.

BTW, 'W*nker of the Week' orginated on that fantastic cultural institution of the nineties, The Girly Show, presented by Sarah 'We love the Queen Mum, even though she smells o' t'p*ss' Cox, a mixed race bird with a posh accent and someone else who I believe was the token lesbian. Just to show that this show is still relevent today, my most memorable 'W*nker of the Week' was Stan Collymore. My, how times have NOT changed.
    This is the cooooooooooooolest footy forum I've ever seen!

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123