Thread: national team - Irish speakers

Quote Originally Posted by Steviewonder
    (should either association require the services of a fat, lazy, useless, no-footed, slow & tired 'utility player')
    Well, Wales already have Hartson...
    Ceci n'est pas une signature

However, if Cowboys laws are enforced, no matter what my passport says, or whatever my own feelings are, I'm Welsh plain and simple, and I should bust my nuts to play for Wales, whether I want to or not.

This begs the question, What the HELL are some of you on? People on this board can be so bloody insular at times.

What laws are you referring to? You are totally mis representing my view which is exactly the opposite of what you are saying . My point is that being born in england does not mean you must be english and it should not be assumed so , nationality is a choice each individual must make for him/herself. I would ask you to read my post again as you seem to have misunderstood my view on this

Back in 1997 when the Ireland under-20s came third in Malaysia, I recall George Hamilton saying that Thomas Morgan was a fluent Irish speaker.
    On a different note, Kevin Kilbane is quite a good Irish speaker and always sings the national anthem.
    "Love many, trust few, always paddle your own canoe." Dillo

Quote Originally Posted by Cowboy
    What laws are you referring to? You are totally mis representing my view which is exactly the opposite of what you are saying . My point is that being born in england does not mean you must be english and it should not be assumed so , nationality is a choice each individual must make for him/herself. I would ask you to read my post again as you seem to have misunderstood my view on this
    Thats a ridiculous statement, is the Duke of wellington Irish? he was born in Ireland!

Are Dave O' Leary and Paul Mc Grath english ?

Please no more stupid generalisations

Maybe I did pick you up wrong, & if i did, my apologies, but your post above, in it's current form simply says to me that ones culture dictates ones nationality, and if that were the case, then despite my Irishness, My overwhelming cultural influences are those of Cymru, therefore I should be Welsh! (with regard to Nationality being something one chooses for themselves, I Dont think that at any stage The grand old duke ever stood up, finger pointed towards the heavens ,and said" Enough of this Paddywhack crap, its time for me to be English", Likewise O Leary and McGrath probably never had a ceremony where they burned their Birth certs so as to be reborn of Erin, It's just the whole cultural absorbtion thing, y'know?)

(As an example (in sociology, or whatever..), what would the story be if I told the same tale about being born in Dublin, working for an Irish Company, living it up on Irish taxpayers cash etc etc,played a bit of football, then Buggered off and declared for Wales?
    How high do you reckon I'd score on the bollockometer then? (For this experiment to work, you have to imagine that im f*cking deadly at football...)

Maybe I did pick you up wrong, & if i did, my apologies, but your post above, in it's current form simply says to me that ones culture dictates ones nationality
    Appreciate the apology but thats not my position, I think its a personal choice, all I'm saying is that nationality should not be assumed or foisted on an individual the basis of geography or accent
    (As an example (in sociology, or whatever..), what would the story be if I told the same tale about being born in Dublin, working for an Irish Company, living it up on Irish taxpayers cash etc etc,played a bit of football, then Buggered off and declared for Wales?
    How high do you reckon I'd score on the bollockometer then? (For this experiment to work, you have to imagine that im f*cking deadly at football...)
    I would respect your choice as to who you want to be but would not be buying you a pile of drinks either

Quote Originally Posted by NY Hoop
    Charlie McCreevy ex Finn Harps manager is fluent.

Charlie McGeever!

Quote Originally Posted by '74KA
    Charlie McGeever!
    Yeah mc creevy got a transfer to a bigger european club

Quote Originally Posted by TheJamaicanP.M.
    ....On a different note, Kevin Kilbane is quite a good Irish speaker and always sings the national anthem.

think its great seeing kilbane singing anthem - reckon every player on the team should sing it. (and the fans at that!! too many people dont know it!! think thats a disgrace!)

why not have an entance exam to the team - learning the anthem as part of it!!! ... on second thoughts wed struggle to scrape 11 !! Clinton would prob do well in the english...innit!!!

On another note - it wrecks my head that the FAI dont use irish hardly at all!! even at games they have a great chance to promote amongst a lot of people who have lost all interest in their "native tongue"! Id love all the players to be announced by their irsh names, see how the PA manages!!! my favourite is still Clintún MacMuiris

Quote Originally Posted by barglee
    He was born in England so he's English!
    Good God almighty, once we've finished with Sligoman and PJ another one pops up.

What the hell sort of statement is this. For the final time IMMIGRATION, it happen to quite a few Irish people in the past some of them brought their children up in an Irish sort of way, hence there is a good few posting on this board that otherwise might be looking at burberryrucks.com or something similar.

Steviewonder, the point is that we get sick of hearing that because we have an English accent, that because we were not born in Ireland that we are some how second rate Irish people. And before any sort of qubbiles the above statement does say that 'He was born in England so he's English' not a misinterpreting or anything like that a simple quote.

Dynamo Kerry; I know what you mean about this subject being done over again, but I'm sorry I get a different idea of what he means, and am not going to let it pass (again )

On to other matters about Keown, Junior, I think that he viewed himself as being behind Lawernson, Moran, McGrath and O' Leary when he was first muted for the position so it is quite possible that the Ingerland team would have been easier to get into. (He definately also has eligiblity for the Occupied Territories - one of his folks is from Fermanagh and also possibly eligiblity for Scotland)
    Where am I now? I'm over here,
    I've got those empty pockets and I can't afford a beer.

Someone born in a country will be a citizen of that country until they're old enough to decide otherwise.

Not meaning to point score or get political Stevie but it has just struck me that since our last constitutional change the above is no longer the case.

[QUOTE=barglee] He was born in England so he's English!

I love it, another one who feel's that us 2g's should be following the fortune's of the Burburry clad country of our birth and not the country our hearts are in and the place we feel is our home. In my 84 senior international's i've heard them all be it the old classic, ''How come yer not at Wembley'', or ''what da fock yer doing following us'' even some clown saying to us during a conversation ''so yer mudder's OIrish, yer Fadder's Oirish yer grandperents are OIrish, so what are YOU doing though over here watching OIreland.'' But fair play to yer at least you've side stepped those kind of formalities and just said what yer felt stright out , next time yer at Landsdowne and yer in the East stand take a trip up to blocks UW and UX, you'll find that area of the ground full of Irish fans who would'nt pass yer citizen test on the grounds of where they were born.
    Its crazy to see people be what society wants them to be but not me.

[QUOTE=sylvo]
    Quote Originally Posted by barglee
    He was born in England so he's English!

: take a trip up to blocks UW and UX, you'll find that area of the ground full of Irish fans who would'nt pass yer citizen test on the grounds of where they were born.
    Sylvo if there was a citizen test we would lose half the team

To right, not to mention yer good self would be losing out on bevving with a lot of mates in Scruffys after the games.

Quote Originally Posted by sylvo
    To right, not to mention yer good self would be losing out on bevving with a lot of mates in Scruffys after the games.
    I would fail the test too so would not be there either

Of course, you'd also come under the term ''the lost generation'', I forgot about that.

Someone born in a country will be a citizen of that country until they're old enough to decide otherwise
    Not meaning to point score or get political Stevie but it has just struck me that since our last constitutional change the above is no longer the case].

Fine Debating skills there pardner, altough im not sure if that affects Stevie re: Britain.

McDowell, (the Minister For Orwellian procedures and antagonising the public) has stipulated that this constitutional change should only affect people of 'a funny colour', who 'dont speak proper English, like we do' & the kind who would 'break into our homes and steal all our Jam' given half a chance.

Rumours that it was only narrowly decided not to call it the "Bloody Foreigner" amendment at the last minute have yet to be disproven... Has anyone else noticed, that as the years progress on their unkind crawl, McDowell starts to look more & more like a pudgy Alf Garnett?
    Ooops. Politics....

I like football

There. Back on track.
    On the way into the stadium, an elderly San Marino Steward waved us in and said "Tonight, may the best team win"

And they nearly did.

Quote Originally Posted by oconghc2
    think its great seeing kilbane singing anthem - reckon every player on the team should sing it. (and the fans at that!! too many people dont know it!! think thats a disgrace!)
    Agreed.It's only what 8 lines and most of the crowd can't/don't even sing it.And most of the time those who do murmur it beneath their breath.
    <insert witty remark>

Quote Originally Posted by '74KA
    Charlie McGeever!
    Oops!!

Anyway everyone take a chill pill and remember the thread...........

Quote Originally Posted by Beavis
    Agreed.It's only what 8 lines and most of the crowd can't/don't even sing it.And most of the time those who do murmur it beneath their breath.
    I agree. The most rousing rendition I remember was before the england/combat 18 game.

I've also noticed that lately some guys dont give either ours or the opposing teams anthems the respect they deserve e.g talking loudly through it, trying to take their seats while its playing etc

I think its also through that a lot of people dont know the words.

I was dj at a wedding many years ago when a guy asked me to play the "Antrim" and not quite hearing him correctly I asked "How does that go"? to which he replied " ah you know the one, the last line is CHASIN CONNIE AROUND THE GREEN"

It might be offensive to some, but its true. Someone born in a country will be a citizen of that country until they're old enough to decide otherwise.
    Keeping this strictly along the legal lines that you have decided to put this into, this is strictly b*llocks. What country are you talking about where if you are born there you're a citizen until you are old enough to decide otherwise? US, Australia, Canada, because it's nowhere in the EU. Not even Ireland anymore because although it might well have been the case that the Irish government handed out citizenship to all and sundry that were dropped there, but like other countries with growing immigration (rather than emigration) it doesn't anymore. In-ger-land, where I and Keown were born or Wales or Scotland? Surely Britain? Sorry to dissapoint you but this qualification was done away by Thatch in 1981. Noone, but noone is automatically a British citizen unless one of their parents are British citizens. You apply for it and providing you come up to scratch (all of this like any application to join a certain club is strictly up to the club itself) you might just get it.

Barglee? Congratulations mate! You have just picked up my 'W*nker of The Week' Award. Suggestions for some literature on Irish emigration is on its way to you soon as soon as you can prove to me that you'll be able to read it.
    This is the cooooooooooooolest footy forum I've ever seen!