Page 22 of 40 FirstFirst ... 12202122232432 ... LastLast

Thread: Group D - opponent watch!

446 Posts
    We were bloody lucky and you know it. Where's your credibility?

446 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BonnieShels View Post
    Right now we are joint top of the group. So we are in a position where we can win the group without relying on others. Germany are not. Rightly they are still favourites but at the same time why be negative at this remove.

It's hardly mad to think that we can get at least 4 points from Poland and Scotland. I think we'll be the Scots twice to be honest.
    We're not going to beat Scotland twice on recent evidence (or Polska, though more confident v.them, strangely).

How? With what?
    Alan Rough to be recalled?

2,796 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ArdeeBhoy View Post
    We were bloody lucky and you know it. Where's your credibility?
    Luck is an essential part of sport. Stuff happens. It was the complete lack of appreciation on your part that stuff might happen that I found strange.

The economist John Maynard Keynes pointed out that financial markets confuse risk with uncertainty. Risk is quantifiable. An actuary could probably have put a percentage figure at the 80 minute mark of Ireland equalising. It'd have been quite low. Uncertainty is the unknowable, wild sh1t, Donsld Rumsfeld's unknown unknowns. War breaking out, earthquakes, a Phil Jagielka half volley from 25 yards, a John O'Shea goal. Why is this important? Because markets make bets based on risk but they ignore uncertainty. That's why we have booms and crashes. I think AB also appreciates risk but ignores uncertainty.

Btw, I wasn't as impressed by Scotland in Poland as I was by them in Dortmund. I think their defence is suspect and we can defend better than the Poles did.

446 Posts
    Aye. luck. But no-one on here forecast a last kick draw. They should at least be big enough to admit that.

And did mention the 'l' word in my first post-game post. But credit again to the team for making the circumstances to do so, but they really did cut it fine.
    And v.Georgia...

2,796 Posts
    I didn't forecaset a last minute equaliser but I did say that although on paper we should be beaten I have seen enough weird stuff happen in football to retain hope.

I wonder did you think we were simply unlucky against Austria at home, or like me, did you think we were the architects of our own downfall? Sure, there was some bad luck involved too. But look at Germany. In the last ten minutes they retreated, failed to deal with some pretty basic pressure and, quite frankly, looked a bit panicky. Even at the death I didn't see us scoring but I did think if there was another ten minutes we could. It just looked like that, just as it looked like we'd concede an equaliser to Austria. Having hit the post and missed other chances was history by the time the Austria game entered its final minutes, just as was the case on Tuesday.

446 Posts
    Maybe an analogy there, but Germany playing 'cr*p' is generally better than ours. Though see the wider point.

229 Posts
    Lads before any more posts can we at least determine how many teams we have in our Group - I'm beginning to fear we wont get through all the qualification games before the big event in France 2016 starts....

When are we playing? Ecosse, Alba, Scotia, Caledonia, Sweatysockland, Polska, Polonia, The Peoples Republic..........
    I thought you were off the drink Ronnie?

"No, I drink to help me mind my own business....can I get you one? (c) Ronnie Drew

1,825 Posts
    We're not going to beat Scotland twice on recent evidence (or Polska, though more confident v.them, strangely).

How? With what?
    Alan Rough to be recalled?
    Why aren't we?

We're better all over the park than them give or take. We are substantially better defensively and as we saw in the Georgia and Germany games, our never say die attitude seems to be coming back.

We are more than capable of getting at least 4 points. I think we'll beat them in Hoopland and depending on need when we get them in Lansdowne we should have enough for them. So have faith and when they beat us 3-0 in November with their swashbuckling attacking football come back and be smug. Until then, let the light in.
    DID YOU NOTICE A SIGN OUTSIDE MY HOUSE...?

1,825 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88 View Post
    I didn't forecaset a last minute equaliser but I did say that although on paper we should be beaten I have seen enough weird stuff happen in football to retain hope.

I wonder did you think we were simply unlucky against Austria at home, or like me, did you think we were the architects of our own downfall? Sure, there was some bad luck involved too. But look at Germany. In the last ten minutes they retreated, failed to deal with some pretty basic pressure and, quite frankly, looked a bit panicky. Even at the death I didn't see us scoring but I did think if there was another ten minutes we could. It just looked like that, just as it looked like we'd concede an equaliser to Austria. Having hit the post and missed other chances was history by the time the Austria game entered its final minutes, just as was the case on Tuesday.
    It's the Robbie Keane test, it's only luck when we do it and skillful patient play for other teams when they do it.

Incidentally a goal scored in the 94th min is worth the same as one scorescored in the 36th min. It feels better for us, but we played the same sport under the same rules with the same ball on the same pitch, for the same amount of time as Germany, we just happened to score when we did. If Wes had scored his chance earlier on we would not have been as elated and the luck factor might not seem as grand, but it matters not. We did the work and it paid off thankfully.

2,081 Posts
    We were bloody lucky and you know it.
    That's neither here nor there really. The point is that strange things happen in football all the time, a fact that you seemed to just dismiss over and over.

Where's your credibility?
    Here it is...

Quote Originally Posted by DeLorean View Post
    Obviously the odds are stacked high in favour of your prediction AB, it's a fairly safe bet in reality. We get it though, no need for the constant reminders that we are incapable of getting a result under any circumstances. The fact is though, that a positive result is possible. To say stranger things have happened would be an understatement. Football, and sport generally, throws up unexpected results all the time, as I'm sure anybody who has ever done a four or five team accumulator full of dead certs will testify. Germany cost me a stupid amount of money when they didn't 'sneak a win' against Ghana at the WC. A week or two later they were putting seven past Brazil, as I shook my head with contempt.

446 Posts
    Except that is just throwing grass in the wind...and Stutts got to the 'strange' point first! Fair play.

446 Posts
    Why aren't we?

We're better all over the park than them give or take. We are substantially better defensively and as we saw in the Georgia and Germany games, our never say die attitude seems to be coming back.

We are more than capable of getting at least 4 points. I think we'll beat them in Hoopland and depending on need when we get them in Lansdowne we should have enough for them. So have faith and when they beat us 3-0 in November with their swashbuckling attacking football come back and be smug. Until then, let the light in.
    Er, our attacking threat is not the greatest, though we are very dogged defensively. Sometimes.

Just don't see how we'll score enough to get 4 points from both Alba/Polska. You can only have so much luck/uncertainty...

4 0-0's almost wouldn't surprise me.

2,081 Posts
    Except that is just throwing grass in the wind...and Stutts got to the 'strange' point first! Fair play.
    Well I mentioned it in the quoted bit as well. And anyway, I think everybody (bar you) realised that it was possible we could get something from the game, unlikely - yes, but not impossible. Your attitude was that it wasn't even worth discussing tactics, injuries, etc., because we were going to lose anyway, that the Scotland game should be our main focus. And instead of learning from your stubborn refusal to accept you're a mere human, devoid of any mystical powers, you continue to bang on about how this and that can't or won't happen. Get over it ArdeeBhoy, get over it!

446 Posts
    Yawn, so what? I was wrong. But only because we were pretty lucky.
    Even the world's biggest bar-stooler & MO'N know that. No part of any 'master plan'.

Get over it.

3,491 Posts
    Right now we are joint top of the group. So we are in a position where we can win the group without relying on others. Germany are not.
    If Germany win all the rest of their games, they are 99.99% of winning the group (basically unless Poland also win all their games, except they lose by one goal at home to Germany)

Can't really say Germany are relying on others to win the group.

1,825 Posts
    Er, our attacking threat is not the greatest, though we are very dogged defensively. Sometimes.

Just don't see how we'll score enough to get 4 points from both Alba/Polska. You can only have so much luck/uncertainty...

4 0-0's almost wouldn't surprise me.
    Ireland getting six points against Scotland you can't see but 4 * 0-0s wouldn't surprise ya?

Wow.

If Germany win all the rest of their games, they are 99.99% of winning the group (basically unless Poland also win all their games, except they lose by one goal at home to Germany)

Can't really say Germany are relying on others to win the group.
    Eh? But if the roles were reversed you'd say the same. It can't be both.

We're ahead of Germany therefore if we win all of our games or at least equal Germany's results at this stage it matters not what Germany do.

Granted, Germany on form will likely win the rest of their games but right now, our fate is in our own hands. I'll take it.

2,081 Posts
    Technically topping the group is still in Germany's hands, just as it's still in Poland's, Scotland's and our own. They're not reliant on other results so PS is right.

AB - What's the 'I' word?

1,825 Posts
    But we're relying on no one else and that's been the crux of what I was saying.

I would bet my hat and eat my house that if the situations were reversed PS would have stated the same thing.

2,796 Posts
    Yawn, so what? I was wrong. But only because we were pretty lucky.
    Even the world's biggest bar-stooler & MO'N know that. No part of any 'master plan'.

Get over it.
    Yes, but you ruled out any chance of us being lucky. Most of us thought that if we were lucky we could get something. Luck was almost always going to be a central ingredient to the "a result is possible" thesis. That doesn't make DeLorean or anyone else of that view wrong.

The 'masterplan' point is a straw man. I don't think anyone is arguing that this was all a cunning ploy by O'Neill right down to the last detail, but by the same token if the idea was to keep the score tight and hope to take on of your own few chances - the same tactic employed by underdogs everywhere and one which often works - then credit where it's due.

2,081 Posts
    But we're relying on no one else and that's been the crux of what I was saying.
    That's fair enough but Germany aren't relying on anybody else either. Neither are Poland or Scotland as things stand.

Page 22 of 40 FirstFirst ... 12202122232432 ... LastLast