Thread: Fandom & Fanatics

Fandom & Fanatics

With the new season nearly upon us I was thinking of having a thread dedicated to different fan cultures in the league of Ireland, namely the ultras movement. I’ll try and keep this thread updated throughout the season.

First tifo of 2014 Shamrock Rovers vs. Glens inspired from No country for old men

821 Posts
    Great idea for a thread good to see displays like this one when they take place. Any displays planned for the presidents cup tomorrow I wonder?

73 Posts
    Yeah super idea for a thread !

2,360 Posts
    Wasn't there an almost identical thread last season that petered out fairly quickly?

63 Posts
    One of the great things about the LoI is the Ultras. Good idea for thread.

These displays are all grand until someone decides it's a good idea to set off a few flares and in that act cost their club money through fines.

821 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Yossarian View Post
    These displays are all grand until someone decides it's a good idea to set off a few flares and in that act cost their club money through fines.
    Nothing wrong with that as long as the ultras are paying the fines as shamrock rovers do.
    BetweenTheStripes.net - Home of Between the Stripes LOI podcast.

2,360 Posts
    Rubbish. Any fan that imposes a fine directly to their club is a fool. Whether that fine is paid for by the fan or not. I'm all for colour and noise in a ground, but you have to draw the line with pyro and smoke.

Quote Originally Posted by nigel-harps1954 View Post
    Rubbish. Any fan that imposes a fine directly to their club is a fool. Whether that fine is paid for by the fan or not. I'm all for colour and noise in a ground, but you have to draw the line with pyro and smoke.
    I'm with you on this one. Had this arguement before. Always seems to be the lads who complain that the club can't afford decent players too. Braindead stuff

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    Im sorry but fans do it on the continent without too much bother, its a bit of sport and fun, jesus its not like the LOI should be turning away fans

Quote Originally Posted by bennocelt View Post
    Im sorry but fans do it on the continent without too much bother, its a bit of sport and fun, jesus its not like the LOI should be turning away fans
    You do realise clubs on the continent get fined aswell. I think it's ridiculous that the cost of one of those flares is equivalent to 20 or so fans paying in. For clubs that are so strapped for cash this is a needless cost when the same people will then give out that the club isn't spending money on players.

While the fines do hurt clubs, the ultras' scene is one of the unique things the LOI has over the premiership. When I first started going to Irish football matches that was the main reason I came back. I'd love the FAI to try and replicate the situation in Norway where pyro is legal to an extent. I think the fans tell the club in advance and receive training and an area to do it in. Certainly looks great and adds to atmosphere.

I love the flares. Should be allowed.

335 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Yossarian View Post
    You do realise clubs on the continent get fined aswell. I think it's ridiculous that the cost of one of those flares is equivalent to 20 or so fans paying in. For clubs that are so strapped for cash this is a needless cost when the same people will then give out that the club isn't spending money on players.
    So what. Some clubs you get fined for singing songs about the CEO! Some clubs you get kicked out for standing. Why dont you follow the good clean fun of the gah!

No place in football!

335 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dong View Post
    I love the flares. Should be allowed.
    Allowed or not, its what fans do!

So what. Some clubs you get fined for singing songs about the CEO! Some clubs you get kicked out for standing. Why dont you follow the good clean fun of the gah!
    If people setting off flares want to pay the associated fines and insurance then let them at it. But as it is, hard earned money from fundraisers, membership fees and the like are being wasted paying for these 'displays' with the people involved not giving a damn about the cost to the club. I'll admit they do look impressive but it's a cost that clubs can ill afford and I'm delighted that my club are taking a zero tolerance approach to the issue now.

Allowed or not, its what fans do!
    Fans in the UK have been sentenced to prison after been caught setting off flares/smoke bombs

You keep up and some day will be unlucky and be spotted by the guards and it could be you son

63 Posts
    We all should copy more of what they do in the UK here in Ireland.

335 Posts
    It seems its do as your told, good lads

Bu the way here in basel, the Ultras totally control their section, police it very well, havent seen any pyro yet but we will see, they might get Zurich in the cup final and that will be fun n games
    Last edited by bennocelt; 07/03/2014 at 5:08 AM.

108 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by nigel-harps1954 View Post
    Weren't some Harps "element" find for throwing paper on to the pitch in a cup game against Derry (or maybe it was the City fans!)

I think if co-ordinated properly pyro and smoke can look brilliant - but there is an obvious safety risk if it's just one person letting off a flare in the middle of a large group.
    I phoned the speaking clock to hear a voice speak, it said - "At the tone you will be very much alone"