Thread: a day never to be forgotten

Quote Originally Posted by techs
    The only thing i can say about that is f*** you matthews Once a t****r always a t****r.
    Ever get the feelin' you have been cheated?

ya didn't understand that, still drunk eh
    Ignore Max Power, he is no more, the future is Ron Burgundy. I'd love to be Ron Burgundy but they won't let me........

30 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Flea
    By the letter of the law the game should have been pulled back but when the majority of the players played the whistle and then the gods of Longford scored, it would have not been just on these gods of Longford i.e Kirby and co. Blame the ref not us, oh yeah it was magic that it was Kirby that scored such a goal. You ain't confused homey ya just a sour grapes losa from waaaterford. Hard Luck all the same

P.S To the auld gimp that was jeering the town fans from below the east lower (approx.East Lower U) Bite My Bx
    Sad, so sad.....any chance of you being related to a ****ie?

I have to say that i am absolutely thrilled to bits for Keego. I will put my hand up & say that i have slated him on this MB so i get great satisfaction out of the fact that he scored the winner. I chatted him for a while on Sunday night and the guy is a gentleman and no one deserved the goal more than him. My heart goes out to the Waterford fans because to lose a final in such circumstances must be a real hard pill to swallow but on the other hand i am delighted that Rennie didn't get his hands on the trophy because he is a pure scumbag and deserves nothing out of football.
    Well done Alan Matthews i am also delighted for you as it may shut up some of the muppets who constantly attack you on this MB even though you are the most successful manager in the history of the club but unfortunately that just isn't good enough for some fools.
    Finally i thought the support was magnificent.I really think that made a huge difference in getting us out of jail it's just a shame we can't have it at Flancare every match.
    C'MON THE TOWN
    "At the age of twelve, my ambition was to become a gangster. To be a wiseguy was better than being President of the United States. To be a wiseguy was to own the world." - Henry Hill

Sunday was some experience. So many highlights from the day. Apart from the two goals and the mad celebrations, I particularly enjoyed seeing Dillo from foot.ie evade the tackles of 4 stewards to get from the East Stand onto the hallowed turf in Lansdowne. Watching Dillo burst through the despairing tackles reminded me of Simon Geoghegan at his best for Ireland in the early 1990s. What a day! C'mon the Town!
    "Love many, trust few, always paddle your own canoe." Dillo

1,104 Posts
    Take that all you paul keegan doubters. Its brilliant for him. Thanks keego we will never ever forget that goal. I dont think you will either. Well deserved. You won us the cup Cheers! Well done lavine great hand in both goals. Had the heart we needed to win. Only sad part of the day was leavin god out. Heartbreaking. He wouldnt have given reynolds such leaniency. The only thing i can say about that is f*** you matthews Once a t****r always a t****r.

In all fairness what's that about, the man has established himself as Longford's most successful manager ever and you're telling him to f*ck off..why?! Maybve you're on a wind-up?! Can guess who the squad member was.."Not Shels not Bohs not Pats not Bray" perhaps?!!

Take that all you paul keegan doubters. Its brilliant for him. Thanks keego we will never ever forget that goal. I dont think you will either. Well deserved. You won us the cup Cheers! Well done lavine great hand in both goals. Had the heart we needed to win. Only sad part of the day was leavin god out. Heartbreaking. He wouldnt have given reynolds such leaniency. The only thing i can say about that is f*** you matthews Once a t****r always a t****r.

btw God has a capital G where i'm from, never use his name in vain again
    Ignore Max Power, he is no more, the future is Ron Burgundy. I'd love to be Ron Burgundy but they won't let me........

Good Things....
    • The crowd at the 51

• Cans from Oddbins when the going got busy in the 51

• €2.23 a can compared to €4.90 a pint

• Section O in the lane

• The singing section working again

• Section O proving they are the Town vocal support

• The pigeon

• "Alan Reynolds you're a wánker"

• 2 goals in a minute

• The biggest and best town gooning ever for 2 in a minute

• Reynolds not winning

• The muggo Waterford fans down the front disappearing

• Seeing the cup lifted again

• Matthews proving the doubter dicks wrong

• Celebrations at the 51

• Croatian nips

• Talking shít to UCD fans back inside the pub

• Old style Town side bruises on my arms from banging the back of the stand

Bad Things....
    • The cost of a pint in the pub

• The state of some of the younger lads and lasses at 3pm in the afternoon - I'm all for getting píssed at the match but puking and shifting your way through the afternoon is a bit much.

• Knowing that most of the crowd never have and never will go out to Flancare

• The above making out it meant so much to them

• The above being the eL equivalent to the Ole Olers

• The view from the singing section

• Not being able to go back to Longford

• Watching the lads head off and knowing what I'm missing

• No all day drinking on the Monday this year either

Take that all you paul keegan doubters. Its brilliant for him. Thanks keego we will never ever forget that goal
    You got that right, hes quality as Roddy put it on Sunday- Shame that even this cup hasn't shut Richardson and co. up . Theres something about sunday on 'sports tonight'

1,104 Posts
    Cop on I wouldnt worry the same question has been asked before to no decent reply. As regards Keego, as some fella said on Sun. night dont know who..saw spongebob's filly and said "jaysus lads she's a weapon..".Seemed to do the trick for Paul on Sunday anyway..Thoroughly delighted that he's come up trumps, his reaction all Sunday evening was a sight to behold, he absolutely revelled in being the hero and why not?!

As i have said above i am so happy for the guy words just can't describe it but there is no denying he has had a very poor season so let's all hope that this is the kick start he needed & i for one wish him all the best for the rest of the season.
    "At the age of twelve, my ambition was to become a gangster. To be a wiseguy was better than being President of the United States. To be a wiseguy was to own the world." - Henry Hill

Talking

i am absolutely delighted for keego! spoke to a few of the players on sun night-deano and keego- real sound heads!

The Section o buzz was a sight to behold, the crepe paaper experiment worked brilliantly, sorbo and gerards drumming were something to behold, along with macys and pauro 7s drumming against the galavanisng!

sunday night some crack as well, jjs was very busy as a few of us were back in town for 9.30pm

thank you to alan matthews and the squad for the best two minute experience i will ever encounter!

Quote Originally Posted by Cop on
    eh, slight sarcastic tone 'n all
    As regards section O & the drummers - sure, 'twas your finest hour (absolutely no sarcasm intended !!)

thats section O plus guests.

Good things

The 51...

85 Mins..

86 Mins..

94 Mins...

The 51...

De Town...

The Carpark...

Busbys...

Pv's Monday Evening...

Getting my voice back today...

Taking the week off...

Dreaming that i woke up beside the cup monday morning...

Bad Things

Checking the room monday morning just in case i robbed it...

The worst hangover ever...

Bruises from the shutter...

Nearly getting trown out before the game for argueing with the stewerts about ppl sitting in our seats...

The FAI...

lads how many were at the match? hope it looked for the tv cameras!

1,104 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Cop on
    eh, slight sarcastic tone 'n all
    Right..didnt cop that so to speak, had imbibed more than one at that stage

Quote Originally Posted by leesider
    lads how many were at the match? hope it looked for the tv cameras!
    Slightly under 10,000 (9,976 I think).

one word says it all Brilliant