Page 3 of 35 FirstFirst 1234513 ... LastLast

Thread: Attendances

Quote Originally Posted by dortie
    And BTW.......Nobody in your seating stand made a peep
    They never do.. Same all over the country. hardcore go on the terrace...

And if there was 80 of you there was 2,700 at the game...

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge

And if there was 80 of you there was 2,700 at the game...

There was around 80....listen mate I dont bull**** about attendance it makes no sense.....(Why would you with 100 or less away support...whats the point) The Pride of Northside SC are generally older and sit seperate right in the middle of most seating stands in the EL....a reason you dont see them.

Now stop frying my head if there was 20 of us I would admit it.

And theres no way in hell your crowd was over 2,000.
    Go lí cúnna ifrinn do thóin bheagmhaitheasach

Quote Originally Posted by WeAreRovers
    TT, taking you and Billy Lord's legendary pessimism re attendances and dividing by the Star's make them up as we go along figures, I'd say there was the guts of 4000 there.

Funny you agreed there were **** all Rovers in the Riverside when I was actually doing the estimate. The lads saying 4-5000 seem to be basing it on ''all the Shels sections were full and we had about half the crowd''

wws,

Another good post, they may (that's may not do) have a point re the ''more harm than good'' the other codes all get ''Star'' figures except in Croker where the attendences are released straight away. I remember reading a report about the Gaaliban's annual haj, sorry congress, where they gave a list of real attendences, on from Navan had been given as 23000 in the papers but had been 12,600. Also the fact that the Celtic League crowds are ****e enough escapes attention. I think it'd be good as it would give us a realistic assessment of where we are and whether summere soccer (and the previous panacea floodlight football) actually work.

By way of comparison the Dub hurlers away to Laois on Sunday attracted 661 punters, I happened to be at their previos game in Parnell Park, I'd say there were 2200 there.
    EL grounds are like good episodes of The Simpsons, no matter how many times you see them they're still funny

flicking through the channels last night, i came across the sunday sport programme on ITBetterwork2. Very Very few at the Dublin v Cork gaa match - it looked like a couple of hundred at most.

Did they show any LOI football on it?

75 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by TommyT
    Funny you agreed there were **** all Rovers in the Riverside when I was actually doing the estimate. The lads saying 4-5000 seem to be basing it on ''all the Shels sections were full and we had about half the crowd''
    I agreed that there were much less than I thought in the Riverside. Still about 1500 though same or slightly more in the Main Stand, 800 in the New Stand and the stragglers on the Ballybough end. So my estimate of the guts of 4000 stays. (guts off = slightly less than)

No One Likes Us, We Don't Care

I'd say the Shels Rovers match had the guts of 4,000 alright.

caolan
    [QUOTE=Dortie]And theres no way in hell your crowd was over 2,000.QUOTE]

I'd say 2000 was about on the mark, which is still relatively poor. The stand holds 2000 and was about 2/3 full, then the crowd on the terrace.....

733 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by davros
    Be it... 112 @ Century Homes Pk...
    You can't count the cattle in the attendance.

Well we wont find it hard in Derry to calculate our attendances this year because we are restricted to one stand with a capacity of 2,500 seats.

We will lose out (a reason for the £30 increase in season ticket prices)...as I reckon for the big games last year we had 3,500 -4,000 in attendance

Well we wont find it hard in Derry to calculate our attendances this year because we are restricted to one stand with a capacity of 2,500 seats.
    So in order to get your A licence ye have had to close most of your ground but everyone else free to keep all the ground open with no need for A licence.

Quote Originally Posted by pete
    So in order to get your A licence ye have had to close most of your ground but everyone else free to keep all the ground open with no need for A licence.
    They had to close that anyway because it had asbestos in the roof or something. The licensing was incidental.

Yeah, it wasn't because of the licence that the terracing had to close. AFAIK, you are still allowed terracing, but just have to have a minimum number of covered seats.

Quote Originally Posted by Macy
    Yeah, it wasn't because of the licence that the terracing had to close. AFAIK, you are still allowed terracing, but just have to have a minimum number of covered seats.

I think its 1,500 covered seats for License A

Yeah, which was the existing requirements for the Premier anyway.... Of all the licencing critea, that is the one that I find most annoying that some clubs still don't have it. I think you used to have a season after promotion to get it sorted...

Quote Originally Posted by Macy
    Yeah, which was the existing requirements for the Premier anyway.... Of all the licencing critea, that is the one that I find most annoying that some clubs still don't have it. I think you used to have a season after promotion to get it sorted...

Exactly a reason why Harps would be in bother Park Benches fit for 250 people !

The pre-existing requirements said nothing about covered (Hello Bray!), terraces are allowed in the licence just no loose surfaces(in either divivsion). The Brandywell was one of the few grounds with no such surfaces anyway.
    EL grounds are like good episodes of The Simpsons, no matter how many times you see them they're still funny

Quote Originally Posted by pete
    So in order to get your A licence ye have had to close most of your ground but
    but... feel it neccessary to tell every other club how they should run that club to get that all important licence...

I said if there 80 Dewry fans, there was 2,700 at the game. There was no where near 80 Derry fans. Lets split the difference ad say 50. Happy?

Exactly a reason why Harps would be in bother Park Benches fit for 250 people !
    And what of Dwogs that have made no effort to get the necessary seats in?

Wink

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge
    but... feel it neccessary to tell every other club how they should run that club to get that all important licence...

I said if there 80 Dewry fans, there was 2,700 at the game. There was no where near 80 Derry fans. Lets split the difference ad say 50. Happy?

Your Just paranoid......why should we give a feck about how you run your club...I dont....I do give a feck when differences are made in terms of dishing out money to financially strapped clubs.

And no i still disagree with you....I more or less counted on the night OK

Attendances

So we have:

Cork - Dublin 3-1 ; 6,250
    Longford - Bohemians 0-2 : ?
    Shelbourne - Shamrock 1-0 ; 3,500