Page 2 of 35 FirstFirst 123412 ... LastLast

Thread: Attendances

Even at Lansdowne Road for the International matches when the attendance is announced it always a surprisingly round figure. E.g. 34,000 or 36,000. Tax scam.

Tolka 2600-3000, I'd say. 4500 not a chance
    EL grounds are like good episodes of The Simpsons, no matter how many times you see them they're still funny

So i see that we are still guessing. Can anyone tell me when are official figures are going to be released? Or are they not going to bother their ass releasing them!

Quote Originally Posted by eoinh
    Ild say there was more than 6000 there!
    there was definitely more than 6000 at the match.also what a joke selling the tickets outside the turnstyles.i couldnt believe the congestion outside the ground.if this is the case every game will be delayed for 15 minutes.mind you its great to see cork city having the best crowds!!

Quote Originally Posted by davros
    Aye,hardly accurate figures...about 6000,1700,1000-1200....do not clubs have to produce EXACT figures for VAT/Tax purposes....or is this just ano.Gombeen,albeit'national',scam........?!
    Also its a legal requirement to supply a wages slip with the players pay. 90% of clubs do not supply wages slips

i wonder do Cork City?

Quote Originally Posted by dortie
    No chance.....I was there...Id say more like 1,500.....your shed behind the net was empty and the seating stand half full.

You done well against half a Derry team
    twas 2,000 approx, that was the figure from the guy who tots it up

Quote Originally Posted by Suetrol Ned
    4000-4500 in Tolka
    Does anyone believe that number?

A joke though really for EL to ramble about Irish supporting foreign clubs,when they cant even say their gates in the 21st.century.....or are they that embarrassed?
    No, it's a joke if you think that's a valid excuse for not going...

See this adage seems to apply also to the IL;Know their gates are smaller?A joke though really for EL to ramble about Irish supporting foreign clubs,when they cant even say their gates in the 21st.century.....or are they that embarrassed?
    thats precisely the reason why they dont release them or want accurate facts in the public domain - they're worried the low figures will put off potential fans and re-enforce the negative image. Ollie Byrne himself had a fit at one of the el forums a few years back when one speaker asked for accurate attendance figures to be released - "more harm than good" was his response

Quote Originally Posted by wws
    Ollie Byrne himself had a fit at one of the el forums
    thats a new one

twas 2,000 approx, that was the figure from the guy who tots it up
    Didnt look it, and im no man for exagerated figures, if i had to bet id have said 1,500 but if your boyo said 2,000 how can i argue

Anyway aprox 80 Derry fans outsung you..Whats that all about wws ?
    Go lí cúnna ifrinn do thóin bheagmhaitheasach

Quote Originally Posted by dortie
    Anyway aprox 80 Derry fans outsung you..Whats that all about wws ?
    probably not a big enough game for the pats fans to get interested in and worked up about. Same as when they play us- they don't sing or bring flags cos the games aren't really important. They're probably saving their throats for their champions league semi in two years

Quote Originally Posted by Éanna
    probably not a big enough game for the pats fans to get interested in and worked up about. Same as when they play us- they don't sing or bring flags cos the games aren't really important. They're probably saving their throats for their champions league semi in two years
    haha. well obviously derry are more important than the "rebel army" so as we brought the flags out.

Dortie - I'd say you 'out drummed' us rather than 'outsang' us
    our vocals are poor at home but we create a good racket up in the brandy - looking forward to that one now with the new seating arrangements

we create a good racket up in the brandy - looking forward to that one now with the new seating arrangements

Its going to be great we will be able to throw things at you for a change

And there was about 20 derry fans, not 80. Couldn't hear you singing either. Drumming was good though...

My guess at the crowd would be about 2,000. New season ticket system at Pats with a voucher booklet not a card. So Pats should be able to give exact figures

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge
    And there was about 20 derry fans, not 80. Couldn't hear you singing either. Drumming was good though...
    Do you want hard facts then....

Brandywell Pride Supporters Club - 18 (I collected the money)
    Pride Of Northside Supporters Club - around 25-30 (Their bus was beside us)
    Post Office Club SC - 8 (Was talking to them in McDowells)
    Dublin Derry SC lads - around 8 (Standing with us)
    Belfast SC - around 3 (MariborKev can clarify)

Not to mention the usuals in cars.......(Not sure of numbers but maybe up to 15)

Whats that come to....?? Around 80

I dont lie with figures although i always look at it out of interest....

Arent I just great

And BTW.......Nobody in your seating stand made a peep

Quote Originally Posted by Roo69
    ALL matches with be all-ticket.
    All matches except Friday's is it?

Quote Originally Posted by Beavis
    Attendance was fairly poor,estimate 1,000-1,200 mostly kids not even watching the game.
    Doubt there was that many to be honest. A complete guess as I didn't even try to estimate but I'd put it at 6-700 or thereabouts.

3,267 Posts
    No attendances in The Star today - anyone know if they're still doing their eL round-up every Monday or if that wasn't English enough for them?

They already know there are low crowds from the media(Press photos/TV coverage),
    What press coverage?

75 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by TommyT
    Tolka 2600-3000, I'd say. 4500 not a chance
    TT, taking you and Billy Lord's legendary pessimism re attendances and dividing by the Star's make them up as we go along figures, I'd say there was the guts of 4000 there.

No One Likes Us, We Don't Care

Page 2 of 35 FirstFirst 123412 ... LastLast