Page 64 of 71 FirstFirst ... 14546263646566 ... LastLast
Results 1,261 to 1,280 of 1413

Thread: Republic of Ireland V Turkey, Italy, Costa Rica & Portugal - May/June 2014

610 Posts
    I felt we actually played some nice confident football at times against Portugal. There was a period in the second half where they could not get the ball off us. Unforunately it had no end product for us.
    Our 3 big problems were (1) at the back (3 out of the 4 are not generally first 11 players and all are Championship players), (2) our wingers probably aren't good enough at unlocking the door and burning by the opposition's full backs and (3) we don't seem to have goals in us and can't keep relying on Robbie to deliver for us.

I thought Meyler, Hoolahan and Hendrick did really well. Forde had an off day but is our No.1 I feel.
    Under Trap we may not have lost to Portugal by that much (then again, we may have) but we certainly would not have played ANY football on the ground like that, that's for sure. It would have been booted up to Sammon and watching him get beaten in the air, time after time
    Folding my way into the big money!!!

610 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88 View Post
    Great article and interview with Eoin Hand on that tour here, including the revelation that we actually beat Trinidad!

http://www.thescore.ie/eoin-hand-ire...13921-Jun2014/

“we should have never went on that trip because of the Falklands War."

Why not? It was nothing to do with us

52 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    I didn't realise until today that we actually beat T+T.
    Never knew that in the 7-0 loss to Brazil, 6 of the goals came from set pieces and who that was in goal? McDonagh? He is the blame for at least 3 of them.
    Last edited by Metrostars; 13/06/2014 at 12:33 PM.
    "Jacques Santini...will be greeted in every dugout of the country by "one-nil, one-nil" - Clive Tyldsley, 89th minute of France-England June 13, 2004.
    "Ooooohhhh Nooooooo" Bobby Robson 91st minute.

1,928 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Fixer82 View Post

“we should have never went on that trip because of the Falklands War."

Why not? It was nothing to do with us
    It was being organised by the FAI for starters.
    We were down to play Argentina.
    Hand had to go to English clubs for the release of players to go on a summer tour which included a country that England had declared war upon. Those players were never going to be released. If Joe Lapira was around then, he would have been capped. That's not the team you'd want to take to Brazil.
    In the end the fixture with Argentina was cancelled but the tickets were never changed, the team were on a plane that landed in Buenos aries.

1,928 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Metrostars View Post
    Never knew that in the 7-0 loss to Brazil, 6 of the goals came from set pieces and who that was in goal? McDonagh? He is the blame for at least 3 of them.
    Forde would have caught them standing.
    At least Brady lived long enough to exact a sweet retribution and recover much of whatever dignity he lost out there.

Quote Originally Posted by BonnieShels View Post
    You're talking about the scorer of important goals, Keith "Andy" Andrews right?
    Keith "Andy" Andrews has already scored more than his fair share of important goals. We're talking about Andy "Andrew" Keogh.

517 Posts
    Keogh has made barely any starts, let alone starts in his natural position. His goals per minutes ratio probably isn't far off most of our strikers. Good finishes against Serbia and Germany; impressive cameo against Uruguay. Who knows what he could have done if he was given more chances? He could have been a decent back up instead of the figure of mirth that he is now.

52 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by shakermaker1982 View Post
    I'd be seriously worried if our A team got a 5-1 spanking but the B team? Christ we had a back 5 made up of Championship players going up against one of the top sides in the world.

MO'N will now know who he can rely on from September & who isn't up for the battle. It has been a useful exercise. No pain no gain etc.
    I agree to an extent, yes it was our B team especially the back 4. First choice would be Coleman-O'Shea-Delaney-Wilson with Dunne, Clark and Pearce in contention, although O'Shea and Dunne are getting long in the tooth. I'm a little worried if Coleman or Wilson are injured for a qualifier, the likes of Kelly/McShane/Ward are not up to scratch. I thought Hendrick and Hoolihan did well and we still have McCarthy and Wilson to come back.
    "Jacques Santini...will be greeted in every dugout of the country by "one-nil, one-nil" - Clive Tyldsley, 89th minute of France-England June 13, 2004.
    "Ooooohhhh Nooooooo" Bobby Robson 91st minute.

517 Posts
    The lack of leadership is also a worry if Dunne and Keane are taken out of the equation. O'Shea is a powder puff.

675 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by TheOneWhoKnocks View Post
    Keogh has made barely any starts, let alone starts in his natural position. His goals per minutes ratio probably isn't far off most of our strikers. Good finishes against Serbia and Germany; impressive cameo against Uruguay. Who knows what he could have done if he was given more chances? He could have been a decent back up instead of the figure of mirth that he is now.
    Andy Keogh got 30 caps and, in hindsight, it's stunning he got more than 10. Let's not get carried away here, Keogh has done very well for himself on the international front. He's had plenty of chances, and domestically, but now he's in the A-League. He just ain't good enough, never was, never will be. He's an honest guy and a hard worker, to his credit. Hope he does well in Australia but just not an international footballer.

The lack of leadership is also a worry if Dunne and Keane are taken out of the equation. O'Shea is a powder puff.
    O'Shea got some good notices for his captaincy at Sunderland over the last six months.

If O'Neill deems Keane is no longer an automatic starter, and Dunne isn't back in the equation, would O'Shea be our most likely captain for the campaign?
    Last edited by SwanVsDalton; 13/06/2014 at 1:21 PM.
    Ou-est le Centre George Pompidou?

417 Posts
    Walters would be the skipper I think.

2,796 Posts
    Did Andy Keogh not miss a simple header from 6 feet against Uruguay?

Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88 View Post
    Did Andy Keogh not miss a simple header from 6 feet against Uruguay?
    He did indeed. He was saving the goals for the important games.

544 Posts
    O'Sheas captaincy of sunderland hardly did them any harm in their near miracle escape from relegation in their last 6 matches or so

1,928 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    Keith "Andy" Andrews has already scored more than his fair share of important goals. We're talking about Andy "Andrew" Keogh.
    Seems like the scientific project to improve our chances of beating Germany by including our only player who has proven his ability to score against them, has hit the stone wall obstacle of seriousness.

610 Posts
    It was being organised by the FAI for starters.
    We were down to play Argentina.
    Hand had to go to English clubs for the release of players to go on a summer tour which included a country that England had declared war upon. Those players were never going to be released. If Joe Lapira was around then, he would have been capped. That's not the team you'd want to take to Brazil.
    In the end the fixture with Argentina was cancelled but the tickets were never changed, the team were on a plane that landed in Buenos aries.
    well explained. thanks for clearing that up. I picked up that he was saying we should not have gone to make a political stand

52 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Metrostars View Post
    I agree to an extent, yes it was our B team especially the back 4. First choice would be Coleman-O'Shea-Delaney-Wilson with Dunne, Clark and Pearce in contention, although O'Shea and Dunne are getting long in the tooth. I'm a little worried if Coleman or Wilson are injured for a qualifier, the likes of Kelly/McShane/Ward are not up to scratch. I thought Hendrick and Hoolihan did well and we still have McCarthy and Wilson to come back.
    What a load of rubbish!

How soon ye forget, cheers fellas

Seems like the scientific project to improve our chances of beating Germany by including our only player who has proven his ability to score against them, has hit the stone wall obstacle of seriousness.
    You can't talk science with yokels.

1,825 Posts
    We're talking about the only Irishman to score against this German team.
    Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    Ah Jaysus lads.
    DID YOU NOTICE A SIGN OUTSIDE MY HOUSE...?

International Prospect tricky_colour's Avatar
    621 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jbyrne View Post
    O'Sheas captaincy of sunderland hardly did them any harm in their near miracle escape from relegation in their last 6 matches or so
    Didn't he lead some sort of player revolt in getting di canio out?

http://www.theguardian.com/football/...and-john-oshea

"I don't like people who, when they speak to you, don't look into your eyes," said the 45-year-old Italian who now believes it is his "destiny" to manage West Ham. "He [O'Shea] should say sorry to some of his team-mates for the many times he came into my office to say something unfavourable about them. This is the same person that also came to me when I first took over and said things about [Martin] O'Neill."<=======

23. Thanks From:

Page 64 of 71 FirstFirst ... 14546263646566 ... LastLast