Page 6 of 6 FirstFirst ... 456

Thread: The Pats Match

Quote Originally Posted by SSS
    Apart from that red, there should have a few more yellows for shirt pulling on Gamble and Kearney and a few other tackles from Robbie Doyle....but what we got was a harsh yellow for George. That ref was a muppet and if we hadn't been so much better than Pats he could have cost us 2 points.
    Good move by Pat to take George off before the ref got a chance to red card him - and it was going that way.
    I thought it was a fairly decent performance by the ref, apart from one or two dodgy decisions, he was a cut above the last few games.

It would've been a travesty if our keeper had been sent off for that, he was in mid-air cos his momentum took him outside the box, if he'd gone to kick it like it looked like he was originally gonna do, he'd've taken O'Flynn's head off and youse would've been howling about Harold Schumacher-esque goalkeeping.

No real grumbles about the result. First goal was presented to O'Flynn on a plate cos of sloppy defending. Second was a good goal from a great through ball. Third was a fluke. 3-0 flattered youse a bit and a better team will make mincemeat of your defence. It all boiled down to youse having a sense of urgency in midfield cos of having something to play for against us just seeing out the fixture list.

Can't see youse catching Shels though.

One strange thing afterwards: as we were making our way out at the back of the stand, the Cork team came out of the dressingroom for their warm down. Every one of them was absolutely stony-faced, not a single smile which you'd expect from a team that had just won 3-0. You'd swear Dolan was after giving them a monumental bollocking. Odd.
    Revenge for 2002

Quote Originally Posted by Dr.Nightdub
    One strange thing afterwards: as we were making our way out at the back of the stand, the Cork team came out of the dressingroom for their warm down. Every one of them was absolutely stony-faced, not a single smile which you'd expect from a team that had just won 3-0. You'd swear Dolan was after giving them a monumental bollocking. Odd.
    When the players came off the pitch down in Waterford they did not seem over the moon either, perhaps there just doing there job and we have not won the leauge yet.
    First Division Champions

Pats looked sharp up front

In fairness Dr. Nightclub, I think Aidan O'Keefe and Doyle will cause every defence problems. Especially o'keefe. He looks a top player for the future.

As it was sung in the Shed "Just like watching Brazil"....even the defending was Brazil like at times.

Quote Originally Posted by kevincronin2000
    In his programme notes brian lennox is on about the behavior of a few supporters. Can anyone tell me what incidents he is refering to?
    Beats me. Maybe a reference to what that toad Seery was on about a few weeks back. If there is something that is bothering Lennox, surely he should ask Noelle to consult with the key sheddites to get the real story. Careless comments by someone in high places can p!ss off genuine / class supporters, who have stuck with city and sung their throats out through bad times and good.
    Injustice anywhere threatens justice everywhere - Martin Luther King Jnr.

Quote Originally Posted by Storysham
    I thought it was a fairly decent performance by the ref, apart from one or two dodgy decisions, he was a cut above the last few games.
    It is no praise to say that he was better than the refs in the last games. One decision in particular should see him suspended. Kearney was clotheslined in the area in front of the Pats supporters, and the ref waved play on. Even today's Examiner article on the game called it strange.

It would've been a travesty if our keeper had been sent off for that, he was in mid-air cos his momentum took him outside the box, if he'd gone to kick it like it looked like he was originally gonna do, he'd've taken O'Flynn's head off and youse would've been howling about Harold Schumacher-esque goalkeeping.

No real grumbles about the result. First goal was presented to O'Flynn on a plate cos of sloppy defending. Second was a good goal from a great through ball. Third was a fluke. 3-0 flattered youse a bit and a better team will make mincemeat of your defence. It all boiled down to youse having a sense of urgency in midfield cos of having something to play for against us just seeing out the fixture list.

Can't see youse catching Shels though.
    ...Your sh*t and you know are.
    "Flattered" ?
    City v SPA
    Played 4
    Won 4
    For 10
    Against 1
    Points 12

Trust a SPA fan to try to come up with some conspiracy theory.

"When ye had Dolan, you weren't so sh*t...."

Wink

Quote Originally Posted by patsh
    "When ye had Dolan, you weren't so sh*t...."
    Must admit, that one had us genuinely baffled cos it sounded like "When Dolan was in charge ye were ****" which didn't sound like a vote of confidence in your manager.

And I wasn't ****-stirring Patsh, it struck me as strange. If you want conspiracy theories, check out Dolan's programme notes. BTW, congrats to whoever does your programme, I don't generally bother with away programmes but the article on Cork United in the 40s was fascinating stuff.
    Revenge for 2002

Thumbs down

It would've been a travesty if our keeper had been sent off for that, he was in mid-air cos his momentum took him outside the box . . .
    Are you seriously suggesting that your keeper did not notice that he was heading outside the box when he jumped up?
    Oh, and what was he doing up there so, sightseeing?
    Cop on, boy. He saw Flynnie was up for a Boniek-style header over him (World Cup finals in Spain in '82. Ah forget it). It looked to me that he knew exactly what he was doing.

Quote Originally Posted by patsh
    City v SPA
    Played 4
    Won 4
    For 10
    Against 1
    Points 12
    Didn't realise we did a game, set and match over Pats this season. Are we in line to achieve that with any other club this season? Hardly??

Must admit, that one had us genuinely baffled cos it sounded like "When Dolan was in charge ye were ****" which didn't sound like a vote of confidence in your manager.
    it was "with dolan in charge, ye weren't so shít" so it WAS a vote of confidence

It must've been the accent so. Must practice your diction lads!
    Revenge for 2002

It must've been the accent so. Must practice your diction lads!
    deadly buzz Anto Rapid

Quote Originally Posted by joeSoap
    Johnny Mac not caring about beating Pat Dolan???....come off it.
    Pats will always want to put one over on any team Dolan is involved with.
    It all boiled down to youse having a sense of urgency in midfield cos of having something to play for against us just seeing out the fixture list.
    What did I tell you!?

BTW, congrats to whoever does your programme, I don't generally bother with away programmes but the article on Cork United in the 40s was fascinating stuff.

We've always prided ourselves on a quality publication.
    Glad you enjoyed it.

Page 6 of 6 FirstFirst ... 456