What are the odds though, that said who taught Derry would brush aside Shels.
How have DCFC faired against Shels?
Originally Posted by Pablo
was thinking that myself
its the ultimate proverbial banana skin
What are the odds though, that said who taught Derry would brush aside Shels.
How have DCFC faired against Shels?
j'accuse!
I am almost swept away by the flow of optimism and joy which has taken over this site. Am I to understand that there will not be a return to the "Dolan out" and doom and gloom postings of not so long ago, should the wheels come off the wagon and 2nd place (not to mind 1st) elude ye?![]()
The majority of people never said Dolan out, that was just a few fickle muppets.Originally Posted by observer
A lot of us have been saying all anong that we'll get back into Europe and that Dolan is the right man for the job.
But I've never been one to say I told you so!!![]()
Champions!
I hope you're not referring to me with that bold statement!?Originally Posted by Colm
I have my opinion on Mr Dolan and it has never changed.
I don't think he's a good football manager and I don't think he's the right man for the job. That has been my opinion since he first got the job and I've seen nothing to make me think otherwise.
We've got games against, Drogs, Shels and Bohs coming up.
Our performances in those games will tell a lot.
If we win the league I'll be the first person to give credit where it's due.
Wont be counting my chickens yet though...
We'll you've ALWAYS had a negative opinion of Dolan so that would mean that you're not fickle.Originally Posted by Peadar
Is there anything he can do to win you over Peadar?
Champions!
Lads lets forget those days of Dolan out hysteria and focus on the **** up, i mean match, damn teen drinkers!
j'accuse!
Concentrate on football.Originally Posted by Colm
It's widely accepted that men can't do two things at the same time.
I want a manager who concerns himself with football and the welfare of his players only. That's not the type of person Pat Dolan is.
He loves to be busy with everything by taking on loads of work.
I fear that certain areas of his job suffer as a result.
Even some with a not entirely positive view of Dolan from the start believe that the end of season is when he can be judged as he has done enough during his tenure, would be surprised If Shels imploded but second is the bench mark we need to set to have a season we should be happy with. Lets get there first......Originally Posted by Colm
Anyone who say the second half of Shels Bohs and saw how good they were with ball retention would agree, I hope that they have the skills to win it, we are aiming to be better than that.
If we won the title I wouldn't complain but we will have to be superb against Shels on the 29th which is another chance to judge our progression and Pat's. Intertoto is not worth it..... and my view we are a better team than Bohs so Third is failure.
It's only just begun...............
If the last 21 years were class, here's looking forward to the next 21 years. It is our time
He generally is concentrating on the football side of things at the moment.Originally Posted by Peadar
Apart from being a pundit on RTE the odd time he's not doing much else besides managing the football side of Cork City.
I think it's a common myth that Dolan is constantly running around doing all sortd of jobs within the club. We have a lot of capable people running other aspects of the club so Dolan is able to do what he's supposed to do i.e. manage the football team.
Champions!
Win the Champions league and then he has everyone happyOriginally Posted by Colm
me anyway.
It's only just begun...............
If the last 21 years were class, here's looking forward to the next 21 years. It is our time
cant u just feel the love in this thread![]()
...and at the moment, we're doing well.Originally Posted by Colm
We must keep everything in context though and as I say, the performances against Drogs, Shels and Bohs will tell an awful lot.
I personally have nothing against Pat Dolan outside of football.
When he puts XI City players on the field though, I'm watching him like a hawk and probably over critical.
That's just the way I am about football.
I want to feel that the manager knows much more about the game than I do.
Never get that feeling with Mr Dolan.
You never got over your love for Liam Murphy did ya Peadar!
That was a vicious rumour, spread by the "Gang of 5" Conspiracy Theorists.Originally Posted by Neil
I think he's good coach but his lack of interpersonal skills prevented him from being a good manager. Jose Mourinho is a classic example of the type of strong character needed to deal with petulant players and the meddlesome media. That's not the type of person Liam Murphy is and therefore would never have lead us to Champions League glory.![]()
Agh the "Gang of 5"...Originally Posted by Peadar
Who were they again?
Ollie Cahill was one anyway...
On a side note, John Caulfield was at the game in Longford last night. It was the first time I've seen him at a City away game in years.Originally Posted by yiddo
Champions!
Maybe that's because he normally sees you first.Originally Posted by Colm
Lads, the thread is about the SPA game on Friday, not Mountfield, or Dolans management capabilities.
Please try and stay on topic.
If at first you don't succeed, redefine success.
that would be a fairly accurate statment alrightOriginally Posted by Peadar