Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Under 19s

420 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Treaty Gooner View Post
    Who said anything about 3 or 4 backups, 1 would do. And they haven't even got that. I'll be at every home game anyway but, Duggan aside, the signing of players SO FAR has been disasterous.
    Then why were you complaining about the centre backs and strikers then? We have one centre back as back up and two strikers. Almost every team has 3 keepers, we have 3 keeprs 2 got injured. You say Duggan side do you know anything about Mick Leahy?

Quote Originally Posted by bluewhitearmy View Post
    Then why were you complaining about the centre backs and strikers then? We have one centre back as back up and two strikers. Almost every team has 3 keepers, we have 3 keeprs 2 got injured. You say Duggan side do you know anything about Mick Leahy?
    Leahy is a decent player. Him getting injured is disastrous because he is well capable of playing centre mid too if needed.
    I think the main thing people (myself included) are worried about is the number of players we let go and only really brought in 2 replacements.
    My biggest issue with this whole thing is, we've significantly weakened our under 19s chances so we can have players on the bench a week from now. It's disheartening for everyone involved with the 19s and it will have a knock on effect for the first team. It looks unprofessional to be in this position when we're unveiling plans to build a training base in Bruff and just back from a week in Spain and we can barely field an under 19s team because the first team have had to take so many. The first team are the priority, but anyone could see that replacing 8 players with 2 was a disaster waiting to happen. It's rough on the younger lads too to ask them to step up and make up nearly half the senior squad (even though it's unbelievable experience for them)

420 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by kingpin4 View Post
    Leahy is a decent player. Him getting injured is disastrous because he is well capable of playing centre mid too if needed.
    I think the main thing people (myself included) are worried about is the number of players we let go and only really brought in 2 replacements.
    My biggest issue with this whole thing is, we've significantly weakened our under 19s chances so we can have players on the bench a week from now. It's disheartening for everyone involved with the 19s and it will have a knock on effect for the first team. It looks unprofessional to be in this position when we're unveiling plans to build a training base in Bruff and just back from a week in Spain and we can barely field an under 19s team because the first team have had to take so many. The first team are the priority, but anyone could see that replacing 8 players with 2 was a disaster waiting to happen. It's rough on the younger lads too to ask them to step up and make up nearly half the senior squad (even though it's unbelievable experience for them)
    In what way?

I understand people thinking it is unfair on the 19s and saying it is not a good situation because its not what I dont understand is some people that have never posted a thing on here about the 19s coming on to have a go. There is no way you can have ago at the lads over the senior team imo, im fairly sure they would rather have a bigger squad too but they don't so they have to do what they have to do. Only 2 players coming in was not because of lack of trying to get others we just couldn't compete financially for them.

The Under 19s played very well on saturday and were very unlucky not to come out of it with a draw.
    They started a little nervously, and Dundalk punished them with two goals, but they grew in confidence as they worked their way into the match. There were a lot of positives to take from it.
    Fight the good fight!

(Now with my very own account on foot.ie - How cool am I? - 15/02/07)

25 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bluewhitearmy View Post
    In what way?

I understand people thinking it is unfair on the 19s and saying it is not a good situation because its not what I dont understand is some people that have never posted a thing on here about the 19s coming on to have a go. There is no way you can have ago at the lads over the senior team imo, im fairly sure they would rather have a bigger squad too but they don't so they have to do what they have to do. Only 2 players coming in was not because of lack of trying to get others we just couldn't compete financially for them.
    Very short sighted of you if you don't see the knock on effect. These players have to be blooded properly and being thrown in at the deep end because of poor planning in the close season and in pre-season helps nobody. I remember young Lee O'Mara being thrown in against Zayed in the cup and he was never seen again. The long term impact is that we have to keep shelling out for big names instead of having young, local players who have been treated well by the club and are willing to do whatever it takes to play and stay in the first team. The revolving door of top talent in this league will always be just that, a revolving door for mercenaries but it would take a brave manager to buck against that trend. Do we have one?
    Ha?

420 Posts
    Very short sighted of you if you don't see the knock on effect. These players have to be blooded properly and being thrown in at the deep end because of poor planning in the close season and in pre-season helps nobody. I remember young Lee O'Mara being thrown in against Zayed in the cup and he was never seen again. The long term impact is that we have to keep shelling out for big names instead of having young, local players who have been treated well by the club and are willing to do whatever it takes to play and stay in the first team. The revolving door of top talent in this league will always be just that, a revolving door for mercenaries but it would take a brave manager to buck against that trend. Do we have one?
    What poor planning please tell me how it was poor planning?

David O'Leary was thrown straight in Jason Hughes was thrown straight in has had no negative impact on them.
    Keep shelling out on big names? We aren't doing that now that is why we have so many young lads in there. Its not the plan to have so many young lads but with 6 or 7 injuires then they have very little choice because they don't have the money for a big squad.

Your last statement about do we have a manager brave enough to buck the trend of mercenaries from the league. Who do we have at the minute that fits in that category?

What are ye expecting to be done instead of having the young lads in the squad? Spend money we don't have for a bigger squad?
    Last edited by bluewhitearmy; 04/03/2014 at 4:51 PM.

25 Posts
    Jesus my brain hurts every time I comment on your replies and you're fast becoming the Comical Ali of Limerick FC! Poor planning is my only point, you're the only one who's apologising for it. I'm out.

420 Posts
    Jesus my brain hurts every time I comment on your replies and you're fast becoming the Comical Ali of Limerick FC! Poor planning is my only point, you're the only one who's apologising for it. I'm out.

Ok ill keep it very simple what do you feel was bad planning on Limericks part? It should be easy to answer.
    Last edited by bluewhitearmy; 05/03/2014 at 1:06 AM.

8 out 2 in started the whole thing. Killed the 19s first 2 playoff games.
    Still no assistant at the moment.
    situation with O'Leary, no (or very little) compensation for him.
    Situation with Coughhlan. (And McGann too to be fair)
    I understand money is going in to infrastructure... But the pre season trip money should have been invested in the squad.

On a positive, it's good the Ghanaians have finally appeared.
    Last edited by kingpin4; 05/03/2014 at 10:35 PM.

420 Posts
    8 out 2 in started the whole thing. Killed the 19s first 2 playoff games.
    Still no assistant at the moment.
    Situation with Coughhlan. (And McGann too to be fair)
    I understand money is going in to infrastructure... But the pre season trip money should have been invested in the squad.

On a positive, it's good the Ghanaians have finally appeared.
    Only 2 in was not their choice they tried to sign more couldn't match what others paid but I agree it is a problem its up to 4 in now.
    Assistant you are 100% right that is poor.
    Where did you get your info on O'Leary?
    What situation with Coughlan and McGann? Especially McGann he wasn't signed no big deal.

Trip to Spain seems a bit pointless with how many didn't go alright.

I agree with people that the squad is thin and that it would be better if the 19s didn't have to be brought in but I dont think they had much choice.

I have no problem having a go if I think the club are wrong but I do think people are being harsh about this
    Last edited by bluewhitearmy; 05/03/2014 at 10:48 PM.

Just on that point, the club don't get to set compensation, O'Leary doesn't want to play for Limerick anymore, short of keeping him against his will I don't really see what more could have been done?

Coughlan? Not being signed, playing a cup game? Happy to no corrected on that one, but if something comes from it then it's embarrassing. Again, confirmed on Cunneen's twitter, but I haven't seen his response when it was put to him we played an illegal.
    McGann. For a team struggling for a centre mid after losing 4 in the off season, he'd have been good to re-sign.

I'm not exactly having a go, like overall I am very positive about the season. I was just stating there have been some very poor decisions/ planning from the club.
    Last edited by kingpin4; 06/03/2014 at 7:21 AM.

McGann. For a team struggling for a centre mid after losing 4 in the off season, he'd have been good to re-sign.
    I would have kept McGann personally but I presume that Taylor (or McGann himself?) wasn't interested. Happens in football. With Duggan, Tracy, Hughes, Nzuzi, guy from Ghana as it turns out and, presumably, Coughlan (who I would have let go myself and kept McGann instead) in and around the picture we're not too badly stocked in centre mid.

420 Posts
    Coughlan? Not being signed, playing a cup game? Happy to no corrected on that one, but if something comes from it then it's embarrassing. Again, confirmed on Cunneen's twitter, but I haven't seen his response when it was put to him we played an illegal.

I'm not exactly having a go, like overall I am very positive about the season. I was just stating there have been some very poor decisions/ planning from the club.

Not being signed at all or just not being signed at the time of the cup game? Because I have been told very recently he will be signed , I know now what you are talking about with the cup though and I agree 100% about that.

I don't rate McGann at all tbh so thats why I don't see a problem with that id have all of Duggan,Hughes,Nzuzi, Tracy,Rainsford ahead of him and that is before we get to see Prince.

International Prospect NeverFeltBetter's Avatar
    586 Posts
    Three subs named today for away game at Derry.
    Author of Never Felt Better (History, Film Reviews).

Quote Originally Posted by NeverFeltBetter View Post
    Three subs named today for away game at Derry.
    By the end of the playoffs, we'll have a full bench. Looking good for next year

Farmer gets sacked and he brought through the whole bench from last night and one of the starting 11 had two lads go to Huddersfield and numerous international caps for the kids he brought to the club seems a strange one to me ??? and the new number 2 is supposed to be one of the biggest bluffers in LOI and is a goalkeeping coach we already have one of them don't we?? some strange goings on in the club of late..

International Prospect NeverFeltBetter's Avatar
    586 Posts
    Were beaten 1-0. Now 7 points off top two.
    Author of Never Felt Better (History, Film Reviews).

Quote Originally Posted by Sea Bird View Post
    Farmer gets sacked and he brought through the whole bench from last night and one of the starting 11 had two lads go to Huddersfield and numerous international caps for the kids he brought to the club seems a strange one to me ??? and the new number 2 is supposed to be one of the biggest bluffers in LOI and is a goalkeeping coach we already have one of them don't we?? some strange goings on in the club of late..
    I think the two lads going to Huddersfield had something to do with his sacking.

The senior assistant job is a bit baffling alright.

420 Posts
    The new assistant was Corks assistant manager for this season but does anyone know anything else? I have to say its strange going from someone like Malky to this lad. Would have been a lot happier had the rumours of Liam O'Brien been true.

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast