[QUOTE=sylvo]
    Quote Originally Posted by Babysis
    Listen, I need to get candidates on board, not scare them off,

Well in that case don't you show up, send someone else.
    ooo, take your knife out of my back!!!

Quote Originally Posted by Pat O' Banton
    Feck sake you kept that quiet, don't worry I'm sure they have the internet in Oz so you can tell Mrs PP that your just going out for the paper and hey presto two hours in a cyber cafe looking at the goings on, on foot.ie
    For the first week we're out there herself has to work (with a client in Melbourne), so they pay for her business-class flight whilst I self-fund a cattle class adventure. Oh joy. That means I have a week to potter around and explore on my own though. Dangerous. And it also means I can use the wi-fi laptop when she's not looking.

Okay we are looking a bit ropey for an AFC Wimbledaon game this side of March, how about scoops and sorting this out like men (oh and women Babysis) next Wednesday in the Porterhouse Covent Garden - with last orders meaning last orders! Any takers?
    Provisionally yes. I have a lot to do before heading for the southern skies the following week but I'm sure a few scoops would go down well.

PP
    Semper in faecibus sole profundum variat

Quote Originally Posted by Plastic Paddy
    For the first week we're out there herself has to work (with a client in Melbourne), so they pay for her business-class flight whilst I self-fund a cattle class adventure. Oh joy. That means I have a week to potter around and explore on my own though. Dangerous. And it also means I can use the wi-fi laptop when she's not looking.
    You're a kept man PP.

I'm worth it, I assure you.

PP

Another alternative is of course the London v Longford game on 13th February in Ruislip. The Londain Ultras (thats me) and the Londain Service Crew Casuals (thats Sylvo) will be in attendence as will some others from this board supporting the other lot! - this isn't stopping a meet next Wed though.

Whats last orders? - admittedly trying to explain the concept on this board will be like explaining the colour red to a blind person!
    I've never been to a Londain Gaaah game, so would love to but am on me way back from a Stag weekend that day. Pants. Any chance they'll reschedule it for me...?

Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve
    I've never been to a Londain Gaaah game, so would love to but am on me way back from a Stag weekend that day. Pants. Any chance they'll reschedule it for me...?

Believe me the crowds that attend I'm sure they'd be delighted to reschedule to accommodate another spectator!
    Where am I now? I'm over here,
    I've got those empty pockets and I can't afford a beer.

Peeps,

I've a winner suggestion to kick us off for drinks next Weds.

I've started going to a weekly seminar series on football at the University of London that Maribor (Derry fan on here) tipped me off about. It's run by their 'Football Governance Research Centre', and features a different guest speaker and topic each week. The seminars are open to anyone, as long as everything said within them is treated as 'off the record'. I went to one on smaller footballing nations last month by the former president of the FAW that was seriously interesting - an eye-opener into the workings of the FAW/FA/UEFA and FIFA, and lots of info that was relevant to Ireland.

Fortuitously, next Weds's seminar is by Kris Stewart - Chairman of AFC Wimbledon - on 'The problem with franchise football'. Kris is a very good speaker/rep for the club, and obviously the case of Wimbledon is the first of what may turn into 'franchise football' in England. Should be a very interesting session.

It's on from 6-8pm, after which the attendance and speaker usually head to a local pub for a few beers anyway. The University guy who runs the seminar series is an Irishman from Downpatrick (a very active Celtic fan, but be nice to him.... ) .

Anyone else up for this as a prequel (note the clever use of Star Wars marketing terminology...) to beers next week ?

BTW - tonight's lecture is on Football Shirt Sponsorship. Full details of the seminar series can be found at :
    http://www.football-research.org/seminars.htm

Sorry have to work late on Wednesday but would certainly be very interested in hearing what the upshot of the AFC WImbledon situation is and how this could affect other clubs in the future. Can head up that direction to meet up afterwards and will try to think of a decent pub to hook up in.

might be worth trying to check out this site to find a pub http://www.beerintheevening.com

112 Posts
    Longford GAA v Londain in Ruislip, count me in! I can wear my Town jersey to p!ss off the GAAHheads ... as for next Wednesday, Covent Garden, sounds good to me, have to see how my evening job sorts out but ill let ye know, its sound good!
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

Okay whats the craic on Wednesday night are people still on for a pint? As the football research lecture is in UCL somewhere in Euston may not be a bad idea but I can't think of any pubs that way that would be worth the visit. Any ideas for anyone, how about Tommy Flynns in Camden or do we want to stick with Porterhouse?

Tommy Flyns is sound by me, or anywhere else. Dont really mind, but im defo up for a beer.

Quote Originally Posted by PAURO 7
    Longford GAA v Londain in Ruislip, count me in! I can wear my Town jersey to p!ss off the GAAHheads ... as for next Wednesday, Covent Garden, sounds good to me, have to see how my evening job sorts out but ill let ye know, its sound good!
    When is the London game? Peader can wear his "London GAA" jersey to it
    Re. Wed night probably won't be able to make it.....unless ya'll fancy heading down Guildford that is
    Long live the Pope! Free Burma (NLD/SNLD), Free Tibet (Burma Campaign/Free Tibet Campaign Alliance), Free the Rossport 5! (ACCOMPLISHED 30/09/05)

BOYCOTT TOTAL OIL-Please Read!

Quote Originally Posted by davros
    Btw,What pub do you go to?Any fixed one,or 'moveable'?
    Couldn't tell you the name of it Davros I'm afraid !

Sorry - that's becuase I don't know it ! I've not taken the 5th Amendment...

The Lyric, Dav. You're probably barred anyway.

PP

ok, I told Mr O'Banton I would ask everyone about the craic for Wednesday night.

How does 7.30 on wednesday suit at Tommy Flynn's in Camden?? If you want somewhere else or a different time, then work away

I'll be doing that lecturey thing until about 8pm, with a quick drink or 2 afterwards down that way. Would probably make it up to Camden for 8:30-9pm.

Camden's grand for me. In fact - anywhere on the Northern Line is a winner in terms of getting from the Uni of London and then back home.

Yep, yep !

BTW Pauro - got to the bottom of the Kingstonian fans problem with AFC Wimbledon. Basically, K's fans hate the millionaire guy who owns their club (Khosla), and are fecked-off that he sold AFC 'their' ground. Sounds to me like they should really focus their issue on him rather than AFC fans though, who aren't too keen on him either (apparently he's a bit of a cnut...)

Think I'm gonna head down to the derby game tomorrow night now if you're going along to it ? Will be a novelty to see 'away' fans at a game (albeit their home as well...)

112 Posts
    BTW Pauro - got to the bottom of the Kingstonian fans problem with AFC Wimbledon. Basically, K's fans hate the millionaire guy who owns their club (Khosla), and are fecked-off that he sold AFC 'their' ground. Sounds to me like they should really focus their issue on him rather than AFC fans though, who aren't too keen on him either (apparently he's a bit of a cnut...)

Think I'm gonna head down to the derby game tomorrow night now if you're going along to it ? Will be a novelty to see 'away' fans at a game (albeit their home as well...)

Is it all an ticket affair? Not 100% sure what im up ta, moneys tight and all that, but ill pm ya my mobile and let ya know what im up ta! Camden's fine with me too, if ive an underground pass its grand, but my relationship with alcohol have sharply declined after a hangover from hell Wednesday, hangover combined with start-of-flu Thursday, stuck-in-bed with flu Friday Saturday and relapse of flu Sunday after a few beers (on medication....). Beer is not my friend right now!
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

Page 14 of 53 FirstFirst ... 4121314151624 ... LastLast