If Rooney goes, will Kerr follow him?
Rooney had been asking about the ticketing operation as reported in the Indo:
'Rooney believes that he has the necessary answers to the charges being levelled against him and, if he gets the chance, he is likely to demand that any investigation would also cover the FAI's ticketing operation. He claims it is causing him concern and is one of the reasons for the current crisis. '
Could history be repeating itself in the Delaney household?
If Rooney goes, will Kerr follow him?
"Jacques Santini...will be greeted in every dugout of the country by "one-nil, one-nil" - Clive Tyldsley, 89th minute of France-England June 13, 2004.
"Ooooohhhh Nooooooo" Bobby Robson 91st minute.
Interesting point. Would Roy also follow?Originally Posted by Metrostars
but Rooney reamins in charge after the board meeting today is the headline.
This is a good thing
They're taking some more legal advice and will have another meeting soon.![]()
Piece on RTÉ.
Surely it should've been in Rooneys remit to ruffle a few feathers. Isn't he there to try fix something that has been proven to be broken? But as soon as some cantankerous old farts get their noses out of joint all this happens. Jaysus.
Just seen on TV 3 that the process to remove Fran Rooney is well underway. The muppets in Merrion Square reckon he is a Bigot and is very difficult to get on with. There are 9 votes to get him out, he has one and they reckon that there seems to be a majority there who want to get rid of him.
if whats being reported is accurate this all just stinks of the lads currently working in the FAI looking to keep the cosy jobs for themselves or promote themselves to even cosier jobs! It’s our football, national teams, national league etc. that they are “administering” (joke!)….. who do they think they are messing our game around like this and dragging it through the mud once again???
i don’t agree with all of what rooney has implemented / changed but I definitely get the impression that things are going in the right direction with him in charge……. what another embarrassing mess!
In regard to Rooneys joke I caught the tail end of an interview with a reporter on Newtalk 106 during the week. The guy sounded like he genuinely knew what he was talking about. He said that there are currently discreet discussions going on between some the bigger clubs in the Eircom and Northern Irish League into the feasability of seeting up an all Ireland league at last.The Setanta Cup would be a trial run for this new League and they were specifically concerned about crowd trouble. So with crucial discussions going on maybe it was the wrong time to be cracking jokes about our neighbours and their embarrassing national side. I agree with the earlier post that there was nothing racist in the remark ; just said at the wrong place at the wrong time. Everyone is so sensitive these days but the FAI are probably using the joke as a convenenient stick to beat Rooney with ....
Things were supposed to be improving but this sort of over reaction to a comment that any of us could have made is ridiculous.
Any team with NI's record are fair game for a bit of **** taking.
I don't know the bloke but keep him there.
ROONEY IN ROONEY IN ...............
I'm having my doubts about Rooney, I dont know if the following is just made up by the clowns or is Rooney not doing his job.
FAI staff add to Rooney's troubles
http://www.unison.ie/irish_independe...issue_id=11589
FAI honorary treasurer John Delaney leaves the association's Merrion Square headquarters by the rear entrance yesterday. Picture: David Maher/Sportsfile
WHILE Fran Rooney is claiming that he is being prevented from implementing the Genesis Report, senior staff within the FAI have alleged that their chief executive is guilty of not implementing the report's findings.
At yesterday's emergency board meeting in Dublin's Alexander Hotel, senior management from Merrion Square presented each of the eight FAI directors with a hard-hitting nine-page dossier on Rooney's management of the FAI since he took over as CEO in June 2003.
It is a damning indictment of Rooney's reign and was compiled by the director of business operations Tadhg O'Halloran, director of corporate affairs Pat Costello and financial controller Peter Buckley. O'Halloran and Costello were two of the staff that have been brought into the FAI by Rooney since his arrival in Merrion Square.
The document backs up letters sent by staff to FAI president Milo Corcoran last week which formed one of the reasons for the calling of yesterday's Board meeting. The managers state in the document that some of their colleagues were fearful of putting their own concerns in writing but are prepared to make verbal submissions to the board.
The document stresses that the staff wish to see Genesis implemented but points out that the Genesis Report is quite specific in how the Association should be run and how staff are treated. It alleges that these recommendations, which were adopted by the FAI's Board of Management and National Council in 2002, have not been carried out by the chief executive. They include internal communication plus training and development.
The dossier alleges that no management meetings have been held this year and points out that the last monthly staff meeting took place in January.
They claim that there is no internal communication between the chief executive and the staff and that personnel in Merrion Square have still not been informed of the association's proposed move to Abbotstown, despite the CEO making a presentation to the National Council last month. The document also claims that there is "a lack of leadership, guidance and support" from the chief executive and questions his promise of an open door to staff.
"Not only is his style of management not open, neither is his door," say the managers.
They also allege that they find it next to impossible to get the CEO to make a decision or approve actions that they have taken.
And they highlight their fear that the FAI Eircom International Awards ceremony, which is scheduled to be televised by RTE on November 14, is not going to happen for the second consecutive year. They claim that no decision has yet been made by the chief executive to proceed with the event.
The dossier adds further weight to the anecdotal evidence, available over the past year, that the day-to-day management of the association has been in chaos. A copy of the document has been passed on to an Employment Law expert which the eight directors have engaged to assist them in their examination of Rooney's tenure and he will brief the Board when it reassembles on Tuesday.
Before any decision is made on Rooney's future, the chief executive will be given every opportunity to answer the charges that are being levelled against him, including the fallout from the joke he told at a function about the Northern Ireland football team.
The eight members of the FAI Board of Management who attended yesterday's meeting were: president Milo Corcoran, vice president David Blood, honorary secretary Michael Cody, honorary treasurer John Delaney, international committee chairman Eddie Murray, Eircom League chairman Declan Ó Luanaigh, domestic committee chairman Jim McConnell and underage committee chairman Maurice Fleming.
They met in the Alexander Hotel after successfully avoiding the camera crews that had gathered outside the CityWest and Conrad Hotels and all were remaining tight-lipped last night about their two-and-a-half hour meeting.
However, it is believed that a majority of board members believe that Rooney has serious charges to answer about his 16-month stewardship. Unless he can provide satisfactory answers when he is given his chance to address the Board then his chances of surviving this crisis are slim.
Rooney will hope that no decision is made by next Friday when the FAI's 60-strong National Council gathers in CityWest.
The CEO has several staunch allies on the Council and they are likely to propose a vote of no confidence in the Board of Management no matter what happens to Rooney.
A statement, issued through his public relations advisers, stated he was awaiting the outcome of the Board's further meetings.
"In the meantime, I will continue to give 100 per cent commitment to performing my duties as the chief executive officer of the FAI, including the implementation of the recommendations in the Genesis Report."
He added that it would be inappropriate for him to make any further comment and he now waits, along with everybody else, for the next move by his fellow FAI directors.
So discreet that word hasn't leaked out to the Linfield and Glentoran fans? I'm afraid you and your well-informed 106 interviewee may be wishfully thinking here.Originally Posted by SunnySweeney
Apart from security, the travel alone would impose significant costs without any likely increase in crowds. There would be resistance from the mainly unionist-supported NI clubs who would see it as a takeover. It's not going to happen, though the cup thing has potential.
So a knack for bad jokes qualifies him to run the FAI? Are you a management consultant?Originally Posted by desyf
Also, can you Scousers leave Boris Johnson alone? Sure any area as self-pitying as Liverpool/ Wirral is fair game for a bit of **** taking![]()
Last edited by Duncan Gardner; 23/10/2004 at 9:11 AM.
They're red, they're black
The hatchetmen are back.
We'll support you evermore
Though you never score...
I didn't say that making a joke about the NI football team qualifies him to run the FAI...I was trying to say so what if he made a joke about them. Big deal.
From what I have heard he has done some good things whilst being with the FAI, but maybe I'm hearing it from the wrong people.
As for Boris Johnson and his comments about Liverpool, I don't really care. The man is a tory gobsh#te though.
And yes, you can take the **** out of Liverpool/Wirral whenever you like.
Haven't spotted any whinging about it on ourweeminds though. Speaking of whingers, I've seen that moaning bullsh*tter Lux Interior has started a thread on OWM about how he's been banned from foot.ie.. Or as he sarcastically prefers to call it, the 'Forum Of A Thousand Welcomes' - Baddooom, ching!!!!Originally Posted by Duncan Gardner
What happened, Lux? Did you post a thread about how wonderful Celtic were in the EL section?
BTW, who's this Paul Emmick pr*ck, having the temerity to suggest that Lux may have forgotten his password? Have some sympathy whoever the f*ck you are mate: It's bad enough us fenians being right b*stards to him in not allowing him to wear a Glentoran shirt dine sythe, without his kith and kin doubting him aswell. Apparently this Paul bloke likes Ice Cream aswell!![]()
http://ourweecountry.ipbhost.com/ind...showtopic=2372
This is the cooooooooooooolest footy forum I've ever seen!
god, Northern Ireland/our wee country.what a pathetic joke.
Lads, although we all know that the FAI are generally a shower of incompetent clowns who only seem to work towards maintaining their own power as opposed to tackling the issues that really, really matter in Irish football - building up the Eircom League, youth development, proper back-up for the national team - I wouldn't leap immediately and blindly towards Rooney's defence. I don't know the ins and outs of the entire story but the manner in which he has been presented as the only person in the place who wants to implement the Genesis Report is just too simplistic for me. Doesn't the story really revolve around the dwindling relationship between Delaney and Rooney? Rooney wanted to advertise pubicly the four executive director positions but this wasn't done, i.e. there were attempts to keep them in-house, as usual, but apparently Rooney had already done a similar thing when appointing someone else, i.e. he didn't advertise it publicly, just hired his own guy. Again, I don't know all the details and apologies if this is a bit all over the place but it just doesn't wash that he's the good guy and they're all the bad guys. A plain old power struggle?
it sounds like Rooney's main problem was his management style. it appears that he's not very capable of managing or working with the people around him properly ... and this has filtered into his running of the association. wouldn't be the first time for FR.
it appears he's done a reasonable job from the outside but it's the people on the inside that appear to count most with the FAI
Haven't read all the thread but Keano thinks things are better as he
has returned and the results so far have been pretty good so I
am not sure what the problem is.
If it ain't broke don't fix it.
The problem I have with all this is that Corcoran & Delaney are leaking all sorts of stuff about Rooney to the media, which makes him look bad, it's all negative. Rooney's statements are one-liners, 'I remain committed' and the likes.
I'd hate to see Rooney go, I think he's doing a great job. We all know that the reason behind all of this is that Delaney wants the job for himself. Can you imagine that muppet being in charge? Remember his statements to the media after Saipan? Remember him selling all the rights to the Ireland International matches to Sky? Remember him telling the media that we could have big screens in the city so everyone could watch them (yes in winter, fabulous idea!). Remember Rooney getting them back again for us?
The only thing Delaney is good at is backstabbing. If he gets Fran's job, we are all in serious trouble.
There is more to Irish football than Roy Keane and the senior International team. Just coz Roy got his training gear and a business class seat doesn't necessarily mean that Irish Football has improved.Originally Posted by tricky_colour