Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: Winsor Park and a tri-colour

if your fans are segrageted from the scum at whinger then there is no reason not to bring the national flag, there are plenty of cville flags with the tri-colour and we dont get told to take them down, not that we would take them down anyway

Quote Originally Posted by davros
    Pity,Gerry A.is No longer 'their' T.D./M.P.!
    Though how much more popular will he be with them being responsible for disbanding the 'ra in the next few weeks?

is Cork vs scumfield deffinatley gfoing ahead? Has anybody got dates etc, (sorry we bit out of touch here-been out for the week )
    Cheers lads (and lasses)!
    Long live the Pope! Free Burma (NLD/SNLD), Free Tibet (Burma Campaign/Free Tibet Campaign Alliance), Free the Rossport 5! (ACCOMPLISHED 30/09/05)

BOYCOTT TOTAL OIL-Please Read!

Gerry Adams, TD, West Belfast

Role on the All Ireland Dáil...
    www.irishgaels.com

Éire Abú

57 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by liam88
    Though how much more popular will he be with them being responsible for disbanding the 'ra in the next few weeks?

is Cork vs scumfield deffinatley gfoing ahead? Has anybody got dates etc, (sorry we bit out of touch here-been out for the week )
    Cheers lads (and lasses)!
    Cork haven't even qualified yet. Need to finish in the top 2 to join Longford and presumably Shels.

I believe the draw has been determined but not public afaik, I presume it will be the league winners going with the runners up and cup winners from the other league or else the Cup winners joining the top 2 in the league from then other league. Anyone know for sure?

57 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Irishgael
    Gerry Adams, TD, West Belfast

Role on the All Ireland Dáil...
    BTW this is a football site to disucss football not politics.

Quote Originally Posted by gspain
    Everyone to the Off Topic board!
    Long live the Pope! Free Burma (NLD/SNLD), Free Tibet (Burma Campaign/Free Tibet Campaign Alliance), Free the Rossport 5! (ACCOMPLISHED 30/09/05)

BOYCOTT TOTAL OIL-Please Read!

Jaysus, Some ring the Cops
    www.irishgaels.com

Éire Abú

I suspect away fans will be discouraged but frankly the security implications of this tournament don't appear to have been thought through.
    The security at the games might cause a bit of trouble but with a bit of planning by the clubs and the guards it shouldn't be impossible for matches to pass off peacefully.

No doubt games down here will attract people out to cause trouble but I'd like to think that at Turners Cross anyway, real City fans should be able to quieted those chaps.

The success of the Setanta Cup could be vital to the future of league football both sides of the border.
    I'm what? I'm ants at a picnic?

57 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by davros
    Ah,but as you know fine well,any totems of Irish sporting culture,eg.Soccer,GAA etc. will always be inextricably entwined with the history of Ireland( Inc.politics!).....you know it is so
    Should be much less entwined IMHO.

By and large football here has been separated from the class issues (rugby) and political issues (GAA) that causes huge problems.

My real cocnern here is that Irishgael is new to the board - had 3 posts at that stage all related to a SF/IRA agenda and nothing at all to do with football. I suspect he/she cam eon here to promote a awwebsite and not to talk football.

57 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by paudie
    The security at the games might cause a bit of trouble but with a bit of planning by the clubs and the guards it shouldn't be impossible for matches to pass off peacefully.

No doubt games down here will attract people out to cause trouble but I'd like to think that at Turners Cross anyway, real City fans should be able to quieted those chaps.

The success of the Setanta Cup could be vital to the future of league football both sides of the border.
    Agree that it can be organsied to pass off peacefully however concerned that it won't be.

Plenty of low key north v south friendlies have been played in recent years and no issues. I have cheered on Limerick in colours in Bangor, Ballymena et al without any problems.

However the prize money and live tv coverage makes this a much bigger competition. It will attract people out to cause trouble as opposed to just football fans.

Clear segregation, meeting of buses outside towns and escorting fans to the ground needs to be organsied properly.

The novelty factor of new opponents in new grounds will mean huge gates. Linfield/Glentoran/Portadown haven't been to Cork for 30 years. Cork haven't played in Belfast for 30 years and never in Portadown afaik. Longford have never crossed the border (apart from Derry games) afaik and did have problems a few years back when Cliftonville visited. Less of a novelty for Shels as they play all 3 regularly in friendlies but stil bigger games.

I plan on atytending as many of these games a spossible. Should be some cracking games. I'm sure it will be a success particularly if it is policed properly.

57 Posts
    Before someone reacts I know Cork hibs and Cork City are totally different clubs et al. It was Hibs who met Portadown, Glentoran and Linfield in those games (Blaxnit, Texaco, Testimonials etc)69-74.

My real cocnern here is that Irishgael is new to the board - had 3 posts at that stage all related to a SF/IRA agenda and nothing at all to do with football. I suspect he/she cam eon here to promote a awwebsite and not to talk football.
    O would you ever **** off
    www.irishgaels.com

Éire Abú

Longford have never crossed the border (apart from Derry games) afaik
    Played a few friendlies in the North in recent pre-seasons. Played Portadown this season in Shamrock Park without incident.

Quote Originally Posted by ccfcman
    Well people will hato stop writing on the flags then.

Not even particulary interested in this discussion. But your spot on there boy. To me you bring a tri-colour to the game with no lettering descrating it. Of course, everyone has a right to do what they choose with their purchase. It does'nt mean that the likes of me have to agree with it.

As for feckin' Eircom been plastered accross the current Ireland jerseys been sold to supporters. Don't get me started on that one or I'll get going on an ill advised rant!

SKBIO-TOR

why bring it?

whats the point in bringing the tri-colour why not just go up with the club colours and flags. there is absolutely no need to bring a tri-colour, that only rubs peoples noses in it. so why shouold anyone bring a tri-colour just as there is no need to bring the union jack down south. by doing either it brings the league from a footballing event into the realms of sectarianism. its going to be hostile enough without creating a reason for people to go over the top.
    there is not one club in the south that has the entire colours of the tri-colour, feel free to correct me on that one, so there is no call for it.

Because thats the way football is when played by a team from the republic of ireland and a team from northern ireland,always has been and the idea of "rubbing peoples noses in it",well,thats is the whole point,certainly gets peoples blood boiling and makes the match more interesting,thats football I suppose,the more intense the better it is.

Quote Originally Posted by padjoe
    whats the point in bringing the tri-colour why not just go up with the club colours and flags. there is absolutely no need to bring a tri-colour, that only rubs peoples noses in it. so why shouold anyone bring a tri-colour just as there is no need to bring the union jack down south. by doing either it brings the league from a footballing event into the realms of sectarianism. its going to be hostile enough without creating a reason for people to go over the top.
    there is not one club in the south that has the entire colours of the tri-colour, feel free to correct me on that one, so there is no call for it.
    Have to agree with you Padjoe. A lot of the people who like to wave the tricolour and try to be Republican know little about either the flag or Republicanism. If a person is supporting their club team, then the club flag should be sufficient. The Irish flag is for Ireland games. We don't like it when those in the North try to rub our noses in it with their Union Jacks.
    "Love many, trust few, always paddle your own canoe." Dillo

Quote Originally Posted by padjoe
    we've few if any irish ticolors in or array of flags. most of our flags are the italian type flag in reverse so we shouldnt have any problems up there

but...........union jacks in Cork? it wouldnt go down well with some i know that for a fact. personally i dont care. but thats just me!

I'm not sure what effect an RoI flag would have, but I personally think that they should be waved at matches where IL clubs play LoI clubs. If it rubs people up the wrong way, then that is their problem. People display flags for many reasons: if your reason is to show alliegance and support for your country and your team, I say go for it.

Incidentally, how would a NI flag go down in Dublin? I have a top with a large NI flag on the back and have toyed with the idea of wearing it to an Ireland rugby international.

Quote Originally Posted by JohnB
    I'm not sure what effect an RoI flag would have, but I personally think that they should be waved at matches where IL clubs play LoI clubs. If it rubs people up the wrong way, then that is their problem. People display flags for many reasons: if your reason is to show alliegance and support for your country and your team, I say go for it.

Incidentally, how would a NI flag go down in Dublin? I have a top with a large NI flag on the back and have toyed with the idea of wearing it to an Ireland rugby international.
    its not as provocative as the union jack i suppose but i dunno man? maybe the ulster one would be a better choice!

Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast