Page 13 of 18 FirstFirst ... 31112131415 ... LastLast

Thread: Pre Season 2014

Quote Originally Posted by poster View Post
    Our game with Herps has been switched to Ballyshannon astro.
    This has been switched (again) to Sligo Sports Complex at 7.45.

This is great - it's like a treasure hunt. All we need is yer one with the big arse arriving by helicopter at the last minute to ref it.

1,104 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Fivesilver View Post
    This is great - it's like a treasure hunt. All we need is yer one with the big arse arriving by helicopter at the last minute to ref it.
    Rhona Daly?

126 Posts
    Cork City 3-1 Longford Town it finished this afternoon.

Longford look a decent side, Rice is obviously their talisman in the middle. The guy they had playing right wing (he was a black guy, sorry I can't be more descriptive than that!) looked like he'll cause defences problems.

We look a physically strong side this year compared to the last few seasons. We started with Elding and Rafter up top, Rafter bagged a couple of nicely taken goals.

Dave O'Leary of limerick came off the bench for us and showed some nice touches, not sure what the story there is but the rumour is that he's set to sign for us. Should be a good addition based on what he showed.

What was Luke Giverin like?

1,104 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by adamd164 View Post
    Cork City 3-1 Longford Town it finished this afternoon.

Longford look a decent side, Rice is obviously their talisman in the middle. The guy they had playing right wing (he was a black guy, sorry I can't be more descriptive than that!) looked like he'll cause defences problems.

We look a physically strong side this year compared to the last few seasons. We started with Elding and Rafter up top, Rafter bagged a couple of nicely taken goals.

Dave O'Leary of limerick came off the bench for us and showed some nice touches, not sure what the story there is but the rumour is that he's set to sign for us. Should be a good addition based on what he showed.
    Sounds like Don Cowan. He was the only black fella on the teamsheet anyway. Any idea who scored for Town?

86 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Longfordian View Post
    Sounds like Don Cowan. He was the only black fella on the teamsheet anyway. Any idea who scored for Town?
    I think it was o sullivan from a rebounded penalty that he took badly himself.

65 Posts
    Waterford United 0 Shamrock Rovers 4 is a result in a pre season friendly at the RSC today.
    Bizarely Rovers goalkeeper Barry Murphy had to play in goal for Waterford as their goalkeeper was sick.

126 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by CityRebel View Post
    What was Luke Giverin like?
    He only came on after about an hour and didn't do much wrong but then he didn't see much of the ball either, it was hard to judge as the game had become quite disjointed through subs at that stage.

2,446 Posts
    Harps giving Sligo a bit of confidence from their pre-season exploits. 2-0 at half time there courtesy of goals from Paul O'Connor and Danny North.

2,446 Posts
    FT Sligo 3-0 Harps.

Mickey Funston is a looper.

Must be great craic following Harps.

Imagine how steamed you'd have to get following that muck around the First Division!

Are you lot that bored that Rovers are no longer contenders that you have to pick fights with Harps? I know it must be difficult when you have no natural rivals but it seems a bit desperate picking on a team who aren't even in your division and manage to maintain a decent team in the middle of Gaa country. Much like Rovers with Bohs and Pats, I'd imagine Harps are far more concerned with Derry than you.

98 Posts
    Must be great craic following Harps.

Imagine how steamed you'd have to get following that muck around the First Division!
    Because Sligo were always a top team!!!
    df158e56542b6de0b683d8c5d9439a80.png
    Athlone Town AFC 1887-2017

19. Thanks From:

Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    I'd imagine Harps are far more concerned with Derry than you.
    I'm not picking on anyone.

Think watching Harps tonight brought me back to following Rovers years ago and how tough it was at times.

Those days are never far away Charlie!

Quote Originally Posted by ATFC-1887 View Post
    Because Sligo were always a top team!!!
    df158e56542b6de0b683d8c5d9439a80.png
    Best days of my life.

I'm not picking on anyone.

Think watching Harps tonight brought me back to following Rovers years ago and how tough it was at times.

Those days are never far away Charlie!
    Well it just seems to me - completely unscientific, by the way - that since Rovers have started being crap Sligo fans on here have started ****ting on Harps a bit which is a bit mad considering Harps are one of the best clubs going and have done nothing deserving of any scorn.

No, we'll always be ***ting on Shams. At any opportunity.

You'll need to up your game then. It was easy when we were on top of the table. It's times like this you need to be creative. The Bohs set the standard a few years ago.

Page 13 of 18 FirstFirst ... 31112131415 ... LastLast