Thread: Stewarding at Waterford

Stewarding at Waterford

Tomorrow I travel with a car load of kids to the RSC. First time in the rat's lair.
    What is the stewarding like? Is there a family enclosure / preferred place for kids? Do all City supporters gather in one place?
    Injustice anywhere threatens justice everywhere - Martin Luther King Jnr.

Quote Originally Posted by Fair_play_boy
    Tomorrow I travel with a car load of kids to the RSC. First time in the rat's lair.
    What is the stewarding like? Is there a family enclosure / preferred place for kids? Do all City supporters gather in one place?

stewarding is fairly crap down there..one nearly caused hassle with city fans last time

city fans gather in the "stand" im presuming. some may congregate behind danny's goal

A big room of people watched me nearly choke with laughter after that comment!

As regards stewarding I hear its pretty standard for non Pale matches ie. they don't take a blind bit of notice.
    j'accuse!

Quote Originally Posted by ccfcman
    A big room of people watched me nearly choke with laughter after that comment!
    Passes a tissue to ccfcman

stewarding there is fine.. theres no hassle from either sets of support
    remember this fella?

my garden gnome
    looks just like you
    my garden gnome looks just like you

heh heh

waterford

where is everyone meeting for booze before hand ? comming down from dubland
    save the sheep shaggers bring back beheadings for waherford

Quote Originally Posted by exile
    where is everyone meeting for booze before hand ? comming down from dubland

ah come on exile!!!

dont u know we invade the yellow house

The stewarding there is diabolical.
    Remember earlier in the season when they sold too many stand tickets and over a hundered City fans were left in the aisles.... the stewards tried to get City fans to leave the stand despite the fact that we had all paid for a stand ticket, there could have been hassle if the Gardai had not seen common sense and told the stewards to cop on.

Also, remember the youngfella who burst the beachball and started shouting and roaring at the City fans, stewards did nothing.

Along with Pats and Longford, Waterford stewards are the worst in the league imo.
    Champions!

Quote Originally Posted by Colm
    The stewarding there is diabolical.
    Remember earlier in the season when they sold too many stand tickets and over a hundered City fans were left in the aisles.... the stewards tried to get City fans to leave the stand despite the fact that we had all paid for a stand ticket, there could have been hassle if the Gardai had not seen common sense and told the stewards to cop on.

Also, remember the youngfella who burst the beachball and started shouting and roaring at the City fans, stewards did nothing.

Along with Pats and Longford, Waterford stewards are the worst in the league imo.
    and remember the year before the tosser standing all over the big flags... i only just remember this

Quote Originally Posted by thecorner
    and remember the year before the tosser standing all over the big flags... i only just remember this
    I remember that alright, the worst thing about that was the ignorant cnut thought it was funny to see us getting annoyed about it.

I'd say the reason they always act the b0llocks is because they're simply not used to seeing such a big crowd down there and don't have a clue how to handle it.
    Champions!

Unhappy

Should I leave the kids at home altogether???
    The set-up there sounds poxy.

u should be ok...get half way up the stand and u will have no problems...

let them enjoy and let u laugh at batman and homer trying to make a very dead waterford side of the stand come back from the dead

Get in early to make sure you get a seat and you won't have any hassle I'd say.

The kids should enjoy this trip, always a good atmosphere.
    Champions!

As i said earlier, take no notice of the supporters the huns!
    j'accuse!

Thanks for all the tips! We had a brilliant evening.
    A few things we noticed:
    1. A pair of "ball boys" made off with a CCFC ball before the match during the warm up, and disappeared into the home supporters. These cost the club €40 a go.
    2. The large Waterford flags were up several minutes before kick-off, and looked good as the teams came out. CCFC flags were lying on the ground until one guy picked one of them up. Do the flag bearers need a few more volunteers for help with this? If so PLEASE ASK .
    3. The flood lights are really awful. Too low, and shining into your eyes from across the other side. Makes you appreciate how good the lights are at Turners Cross.
    4. The stand is so far back, you would need binoculars at times to see who is on the ball.
    And on the plus side:
    5. Colin O'Brien took full part in the warm up, which included 4 players who were not named on the subs bench. He looked a bit stiff, and this made me wonder if it was a good idea that he be out there at all. Seems his level of commitment on the pitch carries into match preparation too.
    6. The 40 or so guys and girls at the very front of the City support were awesome. Even the Waterford subs had to look up and admire the singing and percussion. The atmosphere created by city supporters at this match is better than ANYTHING I have ever witnessed at the Cross, even including the Nijmegen game.
    7. For ages after the final whistle, a lot of supporters (including a few relatively senior citizens like myself) stayed in the stand to make the moment last. This atmosphere is something that I will remember for a long, long time. What a game to pick for my first away game with City!!!!

good u enjoyed

just hope they get their barriers to work sonn

my hand and leg aches

What a game to pick for my first away game with City!!!!
    The first of many hopefully, FPB. After the first away game, you just love CCFC that ittle bit more (if it was possible ) and when you sing 'City 'til i die', you fúcking mean it...

2. The large Waterford flags were up several minutes before kick-off, and looked good as the teams came out. CCFC flags were lying on the ground until one guy picked one of them up. Do the flag bearers need a few more volunteers for help with this? If so PLEASE ASK .
    If you're prepared to do it, I'd say the lads would be delighted to have you on board. Talk to them next Friday and you could have a job for life
    "Allow children to learn by making their own mistakes, laughing at their stupidity often helps."

I am getting a bit long in the tooth, but my lads would give their right arms to do it. (Come to think of it, that is exactly what they will be giving!) Who do I ask about it?

If you know Eanna (loud guy with drum), Eric (guy with megaphone) or recognise any 451 sellers or even if you go into the Horseshoe before a game and ask around, you'll be pointed in the right direction.
    "Allow children to learn by making their own mistakes, laughing at their stupidity often helps."