Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst ... 3456 LastLast

Thread: Zak Knight 'Irish' ?

Quote Originally Posted by Donal81
    Click on the link and see how his 'funniest moment' was not knowing the Irish national anthem when it was playing. In fact, he turned to the player next to him and said he hoped that ours wouldn't be that long.
    http://www.truegreats.com/player.asp?p=63&c=95
    i dont find that a bit funny.

thats exactly why the likes of morrison and macken and knight should be told to fcuk off

grow up the lot of ye if clinton,maken, or even knight scored the winning goal against france we would be toasting him for years to come, same as we did with mcateer,aldridge, mcloughlin even mackay who scored the goals to get us to finals i dont care who they are or where they are allegedly from if they pull on the green do their best who cares?

Quote Originally Posted by inexile
    grow up the lot of ye if clinton,maken, or even knight scored the winning goal against france we would be toasting him for years to come, same as we did with mcateer,aldridge, mcloughlin even mackay who scored the goals to get us to finals i dont care who they are or where they are allegedly from if they pull on the green do their best who cares?
    what a stupid arguement. being irish means a lot to me and to see any old donkey with even the merest connection to my great country pulling on a green shirt when they couldnt get a game any where else sickens me to the core

Quote Originally Posted by green goblin
    Hmm. Maybe you're right. I wasn't thinking about it like that, but maybe you're right. I've never doubted that I'm Irish, nor has my wife, though we were both born and brought up in England. We never had to choose to be Irish, as we always knew we were. Same for our children, bless 'em. The point about Martin Keown is a valid one, and perhaps we might have seen him knocking on the door of the FAI in other circumstances.
    But yes, all respect to the Foreign born players who chose the green shirt first because they knew where they were from and were proud to wear it, and not because they were never going to be picked for England.
    I'm exactly the same, and never considered myself any nationality but Irish (Until Mancunian splits anyway! ). Nothing infruiates me more than the career Oirish who get called up. It does those of us who didn't have to choose our nationality (as you so rightly put it) a massive disservice.

I've actually got far more respect for the likes of Noel Whelan and Keiron Bracken for going with their hearts rather than their heads, than I have for the likes of Morrison, Holland, Macken et al. And that includes people like Ray Houghton - who openly admits that he still supports Scotland first and only played for us because he wasn't getting a look in with them.

Quote Originally Posted by Macy
    I've actually got far more respect for the likes of Noel Whelan and Keiron Bracken for going with their hearts rather than their heads, than I have for the likes of Morrison, Holland, Macken et al. And that includes people like Ray Houghton - who openly admits that he still supports Scotland first and only played for us because he wasn't getting a look in with them.
    This whole discussion has made me realise how much I respect Alan Thompson. He's probably never going to get a call from England now, and he knows it. The SFA have said he's been with Celtic so long he can play for Scotland if he wants to start calling himself Scottish, and he's said thanks but no thanks. He's not a Scot, he's 100% English, and it just wouldn't be right. He's turned down the only chance he'll ever have of International football. Puts Knight to shame, he does.
    Tea. Corduroy. Space Travel.

This whole discussion has made me realise how much I respect Alan Thompson. He's probably never going to get a call from England now, and he knows it. The SFA have said he's been with Celtic so long he can play for Scotland if he wants to start calling himself Scottish, and he's said thanks but no thanks. He's not a Scot, he's 100% English, and it just wouldn't be right. He's turned down the only chance he'll ever have of International football. Puts Knight to shame, he does.
    Didn't Thompson play for England against Sweden?

Quote Originally Posted by inexile
    ..you do know MacKay played for Scotland ...don't you?
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

Quote Originally Posted by Bowsy
    Didn't Thompson play for England against Sweden?
    U21 only. And as we've seen that no longer seems to count. Fair play to him for nailing his colours to the mast and sticking to them.

almost positive he played when they got beaten 1-0 by Sweden before Euro 2004. that said fair play for sticking to his guns.

...actually I think you're right. The FA site says he played 58 mins. Sorry everyone.

And the little poxes in the English team wouldn't pass to him. On Sky Sports phone-in after the match everyone was saying they felt bad for Thompson as they knew Sven wouldn't give him another chance.

Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88
    I suspect this Leon Best guy is having pressure put on him by S'hampton as being "English" increases his transfer value. The same pressure was put on Morrisson by Palace.
    That may have been the case a few years ago but with current rules there is no limit to the number of EU players a team can have just a limit on non-EU players, so 'transfer value' is not a factor - just look at what clubs have paid for Duff & Keane.
    Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.

Nationalism is an infantile disease, the measles of mankind

What about Graham Coughlan? Can you imagine what it would mean for him to play for Ireland? Plymouth are 8th in the Championship at the moment, I think it would be great if he was called up. Mighn't be as good as Zatyiah Knight but he would at least wear the shirt with pride.

Story in the Indo:
    http://www.unison.ie/irish_independe...issue_id=11565
    Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.

Nationalism is an infantile disease, the measles of mankind

I think the thing that really gets to me is the way he goes about saying he would play for us. Oh theres a world cup on ireland are doing well and england have ****loads of centre halfs so why not choose ireland . Well mr Knight you can **** of to the back of the queue behind breeno and dunne who have done a great job for us when called upon.. We have a decent enough squad at the back not to be calling up average centre halfs

Quote Originally Posted by 1MickCollins
    That may have been the case a few years ago but with current rules there is no limit to the number of EU players a team can have just a limit on non-EU players, so 'transfer value' is not a factor - just look at what clubs have paid for Duff & Keane.
    A player being an England International still holds wait. Duff would have cost more than £17m if he played for In-gur-land whereas if Rio Ferdinand was Irish Man U would have paid a fraction of the £30m they forked out. Just my opinion.

Quote Originally Posted by zinedineontour
    I think the thing that really gets to me is the way he goes about saying he would play for us. Oh theres a world cup on ireland are doing well and england have ****loads of centre halfs so why not choose ireland . Well mr Knight you can **** of to the back of the queue behind breeno and dunne who have done a great job for us when called upon..
    Whats the difference between Knight and someone like Holland? I'll tell you, Holland thinks it and says something else, Knight is being honest and says what he thinks. Not that I want to call him up or anything...

If we are going for a rule of thumb I'd say that if a player doesn't declare for Ireland while he's qualified to play U21 games he shouldn't be considered for the senior team.

Of the non Irish born players in the current squad I think this would rule in Kilbane and O'Brien and rule out Holland, Macken and Morrison.

Ireland play games at so many underage levels that players have plenty of opportunities to declare for us at a relatively young age.

Its easy for fans to talk hypothetically about this though.

There's no way an Irish manager is going to limit his pick. Its understandable that his attitude would be that if a guy is good enough and qualifies he will pick him.
    I'm what? I'm ants at a picnic?

Quote Originally Posted by paudie
    If we are going for a rule of thumb I'd say that if a player doesn't declare for Ireland while he's qualified to play U21 games he shouldn't be considered for the senior team.
    ...rule out Morrison.
    There's the hitch in your rule, Morrison played for us at U-21 level.

2,796 Posts
    My vague recollection is that Matty Holland (as he was known way back) was always considered an Irish player and he had nailed his colours to the mast quite early on. He was one of those guys you'd keep half an eye on because he was listed as Irish in the Irish Times list on Mondays.

Did he have underage caps?

Reading about his singing GSTQ at Wembley on this forum surprised me. The first I heard of it was on this forum.

Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88
    Reading about his singing GSTQ at Wembley on this forum surprised me. The first I heard of it was on this forum.
    If we had a half Spanish or French player do this it wouldn't cause any real comment. Everybody has the right to be proud of every part of their heritage.

I'm not saying I believe Holland dreamed of playing for Ireland as a boy as I actually don't but I have no problem with that reported incident.

Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst ... 3456 LastLast