George O Callaghan

Genius?
    Over Rated ?
    Genuine ?

Is he good enough for City ? or indeed Is city good enough for him ?

"good" would be what i'd describe him as.lets not get carried away, he may attempt flicks and creativty all the time (if he passes it) but it doesnt come fof that often. he's not a genius but he's worth having in the squad.

hard working, talented and city to the core. the guy is one of the best players we'll ever see in this league. we all know he's been a plonker at times, but if you took the attitude away, he wouldn't be georgie

well he's an enigma. brilliant and frustrating in equal doses. and most of us wouldnt change a thing

he is good but a big head

yes he is good but his head is way too big .needs to come down to earth if you look at a player like karney or doyle or oflynn now you are talking class as for gorgie i dont think he will last with cork dolan will get sick of kissing his ass and o connor will only kick it

Agreed-good player but big ego.
    On his day Georgie can be one of the best in the el but to give him some credit I think he's the most talented player City have ever had(with the exception of Noel Hartigan of course)

Actually speaking of Hartigan he's ploughing in the points for Blue Demons Division 1 team like theres no tomorrow-sorry to veer off thread back to Georgie now lads!

Realistically you can't leave the boy george outta city team
    j'accuse!

Agreed-I'd give him a more attacking role though

Why so?

He finally seems to have relaxed into the CM position. He looks an awful lot more confident now with Gamble next t him (no disrespect to Colin).

He is certainly making the easy ball more often, and not showbaoting as much as before. With Gamble next to him, he seems to be able to get forward a bit more, so as things stand, I wouldnt like to see him change his game much from what it is at present.
    If at first you don't succeed, redefine success.

I think he's a lot more dangerous going forward-playing him in front of the mid-field and giving him freedom to attack would possibly prove effective. I agree he has settled in cm but with the forwards not exactly banging them in(waterford excluded).......

Well George and Gamble collectively offer defensive nad attacking options, good partnership.
    j'accuse!

O'Flynn is starting to get back into the groove of things recently.
    j'accuse!

144 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by hammers
    Genius?
    Over Rated ?
    Genuine ?

Is he good enough for City ? or indeed Is city good enough for him ?
    If his attitude matched his ability and if that in turn could match his ego, he'd be the greatest player in the world.

Quote Originally Posted by Guerzy
    Because he hit two goals. The one against longford he was in acres of space and the one in waterford dan murray could have even finished it albeit with a few flicks off the crossbar and posts. True his general looks a lot better but he hasnt been the same player since Georgie was sent packing into midfield.
    Down Waterford he had more bite than usual
    j'accuse!

He is the greatest player in the world. NO IF'S BUT's about it. Beckham may be the most commercially marketed, georgie is then in football terms "the best" and he'd tell you that himself

Because he hit two goals. The one against longford he was in acres of space and the one in waterford dan murray could have even finished it albeit with a few flicks off the crossbar and posts.
    He is a striker. He was in acres of space because he made the space himself, like a great goal scorers.

City have badly been missing a poacher in recent seasons. Flynns goal against Waterford was a poachers goal.

So, IMO, he is getting back into his groove. And I dont think anyone would complain if he scored 20 crap goals ina season.

Im not saying he has scored 20 goals. All im saying is that he seems to be getting back to the player he was pre-injury.

Personally, I reckon once himself and Doyle gel properly as a front pairing with George supplying from midfield, there wont be many defences who could cope.

A lot of commentary about Georgie has been distorted by the hero worshippers on one side, and by the ingrates on the other. The guy has grown a lot this summer, IMO, because after the bust up following his comments in the media, he has worked his ass off to retain his place in the team. Last week in Waterford was his best game since that time, and what was he doing? He was everywhere, clearing a ball off the goal line, developing a strong partnership with Gamble, and looking like a true pro. A big slice of that, IMO, is down to the fact that he looks less like a walking ego trip, and more like a team player.
    Injustice anywhere threatens justice everywhere - Martin Luther King Jnr.

Maybe so but we just were talking about the situation in the student centre and there was a favourable vote infavour of reinstating that partnership. And thats what the majority of people think
    fair enough, but the new system has worked very well. I certainly dont doubt that a George/Flynn partnership can work again. Its a handy plan B, but plan A is working quite nicely at the mo.

Found this a while ago :

Quote Originally Posted by George
    People forget that I have spent four or five seasons battling in midfield for a Port Vale side that was fighting against relegation. People are questioning whether I'll have what it takes for the hard trips to the likes of Longford and the physical battles. I've been disappointed by what some people have been saying but I'll be well able for it
    Its good to have a player who can play so capably in both positions. Though the above begs questions about the 'outburst' a few wks ago.

Quote Originally Posted by Fair Play Boy
    The guy has grown a lot this summer, IMO, because after the bust up following his comments in the media, he has worked his ass off to retain his place in the team. Last week in Waterford was his best game since that time, and what was he doing? He was everywhere, clearing a ball off the goal line, developing a strong partnership with Gamble, and looking like a true pro. A big slice of that, IMO, is down to the fact that he looks less like a walking ego trip, and more like a team player.
    Never a truer post made. Couldnt agree more.
    Last edited by Gary; 21/10/2004 at 3:08 PM.