Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Thread: Croker - floodlights!!!

Pitch Markings

Can someone clarify will the grass be suitable for soccer. I read somewhere that they have mixed it with some other wierd stuff and it might be like playing on an astro pitch.[/QUOTE]

As long as they don't mark it out with the same stuff a well known W London GAA club used on some of their pitches left tram lines, up to 6" deep once soaked into ground...........................
    CAPTAIN MORGANS GREENFORD Welcomes all Irish Football fans, live music every weekend

288 Posts

GAA will never give in

I cant see them giving in at all. Fair play to Sean Kelly for stickin his neck out, but even so the congress is where it has to be passed. It didnt pass last time, and all i can see is a repeat.

Crazy idea...>>>

Bertie should call a few of his buddies and get some cash together and offer the members of the GAC Congress a few squid.
    I must also mention that i in no way am I implying that Mr. Ahern would even consider such tactics, in any situation.

Off topic but, the only way u would get me into croke park was if ireland were playing there.

Shower of ...

544 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Bring Back Mick
    Can someone clarify will the grass be suitable for soccer. I read somewhere that they have mixed it with some other wierd stuff and it might be like playing on an astro pitch.
    same kind of pitch used in Anfield among other football grounds as far as i know

Quote Originally Posted by jbyrne
    same kind of pitch used in Anfield among other football grounds as far as i know
    Do try and keep up, JB.
    I've addressed that question here.

Quote Originally Posted by gufcfan
    the only way u would get me into croke park was if ireland were playing there.

Shower of ...
    I'm with you on that one.... It's sad I know, it being such a magnificent stadium and all, but the history speaks volumes....
    • AUSTRALIAN/INTERNATIONAL RULES? CHECK!
    • AMERICAN FOOTBALL? CHECK!
    • U2? CHECK!
    • SIMPLE MINDS? CHECK!
    • IRELAND V FRANCE WCQ SEPT '05? AH LADS, WOULD YOU EVER STOP NOW, LIKE GOOD MEN, AND DONT BE ANNOYING US WITH YOUR "SACCER" CODOLOGY...RULES ARE RULES...

I fear that being inside croker is something you & I AREN'T going to be telling the young folk about in years to come....
    Last edited by Bondvillain; 19/10/2004 at 5:25 PM.
    On the way into the stadium, an elderly San Marino Steward waved us in and said "Tonight, may the best team win"

And they nearly did.

544 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Peadar
    Do try and keep up, JB.
    I've addressed that question here.
    probably addressed previously by Peadar but.... the construction of the new Croke Park wouldnt have been possible in its present form if a rugby pitch behind the old Cusack Stand hadnt been sold to the GAA by the school / club that owned it..... bit ironic really!!

57 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Bondvillain
    I'm with you on that one.... It's sad I know, it being such a magnificent stadium and all, but the history speaks volumes....
    • AUSTRALIAN/INTERNATIONAL RULES? CHECK!
    • AMERICAN FOOTBALL? CHECK!
    • U2? CHECK!
    • SIMPLE MINDS? CHECK!
    • IRELAND V FRANCE WCQ SEPT '05? AH LADS, WOULD YOU EVER STOP NOW, LIKE GOOD MEN, AND DONT BE ANNOYING US WITH YOUR "SACCER" CODOLOGY...RULES ARE RULES...

I fear that being inside croker is something you & I AREN'T going to be telling the young folk about in years to come....
    you forgot Muhammad Ali boxing Al Blue Lewis and a few more concerts.

BTW a pitch being too big is not a problem for football - we just pick the size we want if it ever does get opened up.

No idea re the grass but assuming it is not artificial turf then it would be fine.

I still can't see it being opned up though. Too many influential people against it. Love to know what Paddy Power think now. Last tiem I saw odds was earlier in the year and it was 3/1 against when the papers were speculating re it opening up. As usual the bookies were right.

144 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gufcfan
    Bertie should call a few of his buddies and get some cash together and offer the members of the GAC Congress a few squid.
    If a few quid was assembled, hypothetically of course, then I reckon a hit man should be hired and euthanasia performed on a number of dinosaurs that exist around the country. And that should include a few within the FAI also.
    Last edited by razor; 20/10/2004 at 1:11 PM.

Someone could give Croker a ring and ask is it ok if Neil Diamond plays there on the date of the France match. They're bound to say yes in which case we stick him upfront as a partner for Robbie Keane for the first few mins.

By the way Jamaican PM. Drop dead.

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123