Page 4 of 9 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast

Thread: Manager merry-go-round.

Kenny Shiels had been first choice for DCFC but he is still hoping for bigger job. One thing is certain it wont be quite around muckerville. Wonder if Hutton will come in for 1 or 2 of the Harps squad?

No offence to Roddy but I think I'd have preferred Devine!

151 Posts
    This appointment is possibly the greatest threat ever to the Peace Process.

445 Posts
    I wonder will Roddy claim he was the first one to bring Cromwell and the boys over from England.
    Here on a technicality.

Quote Originally Posted by ATFC-1887 View Post
    Delighted with that. As for the lad saying he fears for us in the long term.... Everyone said that when we appointed Roddy. We didnt give in to hisd demands. I wouldnt worry too much. Heard a few names Cooke wants to bring with him. Hopefully some signed soon enough.
    I didnt. I said that Roddy would be great for Athlone. I dont hold the same hope with Cooke. Nothing bitchy or malicious about it, just think its a step backwards.

555 Posts
    Interesting interview with Roddy on Newstalk.

He lambasted Robbie Horgan for his "lack of loyalty" to Mick Cooke and also spoke about being interviewed for the Sligo job.

Well given keeperball was/is extremely pro Cooke (to put it mildly) given his various forum posts and his declaration of being close to roddy (if he is to be believed regarding car trips etc) then it's no surprise what roddys view is or where it's come from (IMO )

Quote Originally Posted by White Horse View Post
    Interesting interview with Roddy on Newstalk.

He lambasted Robbie Horgan for his "lack of loyalty" to Mick Cooke and also spoke about being interviewed for the Sligo job.
    Same lambasting his mate Keepersball has been churning out! Roddy is Roddy, if you pay him attention he won't go away!

64 Posts
    Roddy did a good job at Athlone I think. He also did well at Bohs and Monaghan. I was at the Mervue v Athlone game in September and it was clear that his team were better coached/set up tactically than the home side. Others here may know better, but I don't think that his player budget was much bigger than what was available at Longford. Agree that a one year contract should be the norm in the LoI, unless you have an exceptional young player. I think he will be way more successful than Pat Fenlon was at Derry and you can be sure the soccer will be better to watch anyway.

Okay. Let's get this out in the open.
    I'm Gerry Hand a journalist who also promotes after dinner speakers and Q&A sessions, Roddy amongst them. I have no interest financial or otherwise in what Roddy does football wise, so it did not matter to me where he ended up as manager. I have been a Drogheda fan since 1967, and like most right thinking football fans, Roddy included, I am sickened by what Robbie Horgan did to Cooke, and by how the board at Drogheda bought into Horgans backstabbing.

If anybody knows Roddy they would know that whatever else his faults he makes his own mind up on something and voices his own opinion, so to suggest that I had any influence on what he said is about as sensible as erm, well as erm sacking Mick Cooke. Mini Mourinho is a Drogs board member, I know who he is but will allow him the good grace to identify himself publicly the same as I have, Sean Drog I haven't a clue who he is, but it seems clear he is a board lackey. Now tonight Mickey Collins and Alan McCaul have been sacked as managers of Athlone Town 19s despite the side being fourth in the table in their first season up in the Elite division.

A smokescreen of the team not selling enough lotto tickets was used, but the real reason is that the chairmans son had been dropped for the last two games. So don't for one moment think Roddy caused problems at Athlone, he didn't, he wanted to stay there. My overall point is this, without being big headed, I called it right at Drogheda in terms of who would be the new manager, and the reasons as to why Cooke left, along with others I knew Cooke would be in at Athlone, and that Roddy would get Derry, where I predict he will win the league either this season or next.

To sum up Sean Drog says I am pro Cooke, and he's correct, but then I am in line with the vast majority of Drogs fans in that. Robbie Horgan has re signed three players Mick Daly who is his mate and admitted as much on twitter, Shane Grimes who was morally obliged to stay after the club backed him during a suspension served for a failed drugs test and Fabio who, while I would never knock him, it has to be said has his future behind him. He also brought in Dermot O'Neill as goalkeeping coach, an appointment which I have no quibble with apart from saying that as a former goalkeeper himself, and a very good one at that, Robbie could have spent the money being paid to O'Neill elsewhere and coached the 'keepers himself, so I don't need to attack him, he's doing a fine job on bringing himself down so far.

I could be wrong but I suspect one of two things.

Either the Drogs board want the club in division one where costs are less or players are reluctant to trust somebody who has proved he cannot be trusted.
    As a Drogs supporter I genuinely hope Robbie proves me wrong, but I don't expect him too, the same as I don't expect him to be manager come next June. Straight defeats early doors and panic buttons will be pushed.
    Last edited by A face; 20/11/2013 at 10:57 AM. Reason: Paragraphs

Quote Originally Posted by KeepersBall View Post
    Okay. Let's get this out in the open.
    I'm Gerry Hand a journalist who also promotes after dinner speakers and Q&A sessions, Roddy amongst them. I have no interest financial or otherwise in what Roddy does football wise, so it did not matter to me where he ended up as manager. I have been a Drogheda fan since 1967, and like most right thinking football fans, Roddy included, I am sickened by what Robbie Horgan did to Cooke, and by how the board at Drogheda bought into Horgans backstabbing.

If anybody knows Roddy they would know that whatever else his faults he makes his own mind up on something and voices his own opinion, so to suggest that I had any influence on what he said is about as sensible as erm, well as erm sacking Mick Cooke. Mini Mourinho is a Drogs board member, I know who he is but will allow him the good grace to identify himself publicly the same as I have, Sean Drog I haven't a clue who he is, but it seems clear he is a board lackey. Now tonight Mickey Collins and Alan McCaul have been sacked as managers of Athlone Town 19s despite the side being fourth in the table in their first season up in the Elite division.

A smokescreen of the team not selling enough lotto tickets was used, but the real reason is that the chairmans son had been dropped for the last two games. So don't for one moment think Roddy caused problems at Athlone, he didn't, he wanted to stay there. My overall point is this, without being big headed, I called it right at Drogheda in terms of who would be the new manager, and the reasons as to why Cooke left, along with others I knew Cooke would be in at Athlone, and that Roddy would get Derry, where I predict he will win the league either this season or next.

To sum up Sean Drog says I am pro Cooke, and he's correct, but then I am in line with the vast majority of Drogs fans in that. Robbie Horgan has re signed three players Mick Daly who is his mate and admitted as much on twitter, Shane Grimes who was morally obliged to stay after the club backed him during a suspension served for a failed drugs test and Fabio who, while I would never knock him, it has to be said has his future behind him. He also brought in Dermot O'Neill as goalkeeping coach, an appointment which I have no quibble with apart from saying that as a former goalkeeper himself, and a very good one at that, Robbie could have spent the money being paid to O'Neill elsewhere and coached the 'keepers himself, so I don't need to attack him, he's doing a fine job on bringing himself down so far.

I could be wrong but I suspect one of two things.

Either the Drogs board want the club in division one where costs are less or players are reluctant to trust somebody who has proved he cannot be trusted.
    As a Drogs supporter I genuinely hope Robbie proves me wrong, but I don't expect him too, the same as I don't expect him to be manager come next June. Straight defeats early doors and panic buttons will be pushed..
    Have you considered after-dinner speaking yourself?

Look Gerry, you claim to know who i am, but despite your glowing CV above i havent got the faintest idea who you are. I would suggest you stop accusing everyone who is anti-Mick Cooke of being board members. Its desperate.

Your are right however about the goalkeeping coach however. Robbie is a goalkeeper, he was also the first team coach last year. So really in 2014 he should be goalkeeping coach, first team coach and manager. Surely he could also play in goals too!!

You are living in the clouds.
    Last edited by A face; 20/11/2013 at 10:58 AM. Reason: Paragraphs in quote

ROFL a board lackey - maybe I'm just a supporter but hey I suppose in your world if I'm not with you I must be against you.

Rofl ...

Maybe I'm the chairman ? Or maybe I'm the guy watching you right now from across the road lol

Seriously I put one and one together regarding roddys interview and your posts and you are saying instead of getting two I got 235 lol so be it. My bad.

But thanks for making me smile today

30 Posts
    Interesting post.

A smokescreen of the team not selling enough lotto tickets was used, but the real reason is that the chairmans son had been dropped for the last two games....
    Just wondering if the young lad was dropped for the last 2 games, how many games had he played this season? Granted I've only seen 2 of the 19s games this year but I didn't think he got a start in any of the 10 games so far?

Surprised if the lads did get the chop as they proved themselves last year with an unbeaten season to be champions and seemed to be doing Ok after making the step up to the Elite.

True they were doing okay, but gone they are.

98 Posts
    Confirmed on Athlone Town Fans page by Mickey Collins wife this morning. She indeed said they got the sack, and not resigned as someone suggested.
    Athlone Town AFC 1887-2017

A smokescreen of the team not selling enough lotto tickets was used, but the real reason is that the chairmans son had been dropped for the last two games
    Luckily for Roddy, he'd never ever contemplate signing his son twice and playing him ahead of others

Seriously though, you're being ridiculously harsh on Horgan. He's been in the job 3/4 days and signed 3 players and a backroom team. There's clubs who haven't even done that yet.

On the view of Roddy that Horgan stabbed Mick Cooke in the back, that's a widely held view around the league among players and coaching staff. Last summer it was rumoured to be happening

21. Thanks From:

151 Posts
    where I predict he will win the league either this season or next.

You were going grand up to that.

23. Thanks From:

Look.... there's not point getting all your panties in a bunch, what's done is done, get over it... time to move on! Only results will tell the truth.

Quote Originally Posted by lollymcd View Post
    Look.... there's not point getting all your panties in a bunch, what's done is done, get over it... time to move on! Only results will tell the truth.
    Hopefully we'll win more than 8 league games next season.
    If Robbie keeps going the way he is with signings, we'll be fine.

26. Thanks From:

2,446 Posts
    I too got a right chuckle out of Roderick winning the league with Derry. Thanks for that.

28. Thanks From:

Page 4 of 9 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast