Page 8 of 11 FirstFirst ... 678910 ... LastLast

Thread: Transfers and next years squad

622 Posts
    Yeah I meant defensive signings, any news in if we're trying to get Tomo or not? He'd be another mid who can cover.. I'll be ****ed off if I see Don on the wing of a front 3 but surprised if it doesn't happen. Our frontline will destroy the weaker teams but not sure that setup will be as effective as it could be against the stronger sides.

jaysus this preseason just gets better and better! hear garto is goin to drogs as plyr coach. also I heard that Tomo is emigrating so no joy with him..by the way section o are havin a meeting this sunday in the clubhouse at half one.spread the word! hope cabs you dont mind me postin on ur behalf!

1,104 Posts
    jaysus this preseason just gets better and better! hear garto is goin to drogs as plyr coach. also I heard that Tomo is emigrating so no joy with him..by the way section o are havin a meeting this sunday in the clubhouse at half one.spread the word! hope cabs you dont mind me postin on ur behalf!
    He was up training with Drogs last week apparently. He could still be emigrating of course. Either way doesn't look like he'll be heading to us.

I see in todays sun that we have accepted an offer for JOH and he is set to go in the nxt few days. Bournemouth,Burnley and Reading are the clubs tryin to chase his signature.

1,104 Posts
    Good luck to him hope he makes a good career for himself over there. Great that we get a little bit of money out of it too.

49 Posts
    That's brilliant news for young Josh, I wish him all the best, I really hope he gets a chance and grabs it with both hands, it would be an awful shame if he was just over there warming the benches

Some fantastic signings, and great news for Josh O'Hanlon, too!

Heard that Purdy could be togging out for Shamrock Rovers B this season.

205 Posts
    How much?
    Sporting F*ck All!

861 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by L.T.F.C. View Post
    How much?
    40k seems to be the number doing the rounds.

1,104 Posts
    Euros or Pounds? A welcome bit of cash either way.

205 Posts
    Fair play to Tony. This'll be the second time in a couple of years that we have sold a player for great money.
    Sporting F*ck All!

622 Posts
    I doubt TC's negotiating the fees somehow. Hopefully there's some other add on clauses, because 40k isn't a whole lot of money if Josh turns out to be even a decent championship player. Obviously it's a decent sum of money for an Irish team from the backarse of nowhere, but With that many clubs interested in him, his potential can't be doubted, and chances are he'll end up being worth considerably more and we'll be complaining that we got shafted Hope he does well.

Right it's been days since we signed some galacticos, what gives?
    Last edited by Acornvilla; 18/01/2014 at 3:00 PM.

1,104 Posts
    We had add ons in the deal to sell The Don to Stevenage so I'd imagine we do with Josh too. Jim Hanley is a good negotiator for such things.

220 Posts
    Just heard Ian Ryan is rumoured to be talking about re-joining us. Bray also in the mix for him.

205 Posts
    What I'm saying is that he is picking up great unknown players. Look at O'Sullivan.
    Sporting F*ck All!

861 Posts
    Not sure if Ian Ryan is what we need.

19. Thanks From:

1,104 Posts
    I'd take him. He's decent enough and experienced, we need another centre back. We don't have unlimited funds either despite recent signings! I'd say he could well go to Bray though as he'd have a good relationship with Alan Mathews.

106 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by L.T.F.C. View Post
    What I'm saying is that he is picking up great unknown players. Look at O'Sullivan.
    Wouldn't be bestowing too much praise on Tony in relation to them two players, he didn't bring O'sullivan in it was Britton apparently and he was hardly an unknown when he won intermediate player of the year, as for Josh he barely got game time even when we were struggling up top

1,104 Posts
    Well to give credit where it's due Davy himself says Tony was a big reason he chose Longford over other clubs that had been on to him, he met Tony and liked what he had to say. He didn't win the Intermediate award til after he signed either. He signed back for this year too because he was enjoying being here long after Britton had left. I wouldn't say Tony discovered a gem out of nowhere but he played his part in getting him here and keeping him for this year.

106 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Longfordian View Post
    I wouldn't say Tony discovered a gem out of nowhere
    I take your point about TC being an important factor in Sully staying, but the above was exactly my point.

Page 8 of 11 FirstFirst ... 678910 ... LastLast