Page 5 of 11 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast

Thread: Transfers and next years squad

861 Posts
    Wonder where Crawley would fit in if we signed him? For me he was always a better winger than full back but we've just signed lorcan Shannon to play there and I can't see TC using his head and playing willie Tyrell in his natural position of centre back next season and we've re-signed Glenn O'Connor to that position also so it will be interesting to see where he ends up putting these players should Crawley sign.

44 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Town Legend View Post
    I heard he's made an offer to Crawley. But depends on whether anyone else is interested.
    . Be serious if we signed him again, any word on purdy??

1,104 Posts
    Conor O'Brien has signed apparently. He was with Bohs until July this year by the looks of things. 20 year old midfielder, son of Liam O'Brien. Don't know anything else about him really.

220 Posts
    Cousins wants to re-sign Purdy but I think Purdy has said he wants to be playing more regularly. He wasn't happy with O'Brien been picked ahead of him week after week. There is a contract on the table for him but have heard UCD and Bray are interested.

Quote Originally Posted by Longfordian View Post
    Conor O'Brien has signed apparently. He was with Bohs until July this year by the looks of things. 20 year old midfielder, son of Liam O'Brien. Don't know anything else about him really.
    hmm interesting that. A little known fact is that his uncle Michael O Brien played for us in the 93/94 season making 27 appearances and scoring 2 goals.

I thought that was common knowledge, no?

1,104 Posts
    In fairness people may have forgotten. I had, as it happens.

http://www.shannonside.ie/sport/long...next-campaign/

signing confirmed on Shannonside today!

861 Posts
    Can I ask why on earth Aaron brilly has been let go? Anytime he's come in for the first team he's been played out of the position and been fantastic. He's a natural leader of the u19 side and as a result he never worried or looked phased when he came on alongside the senior players, I mean what is the point in producing these u-19 lads if we are just going to let them go after 2 seasons because bar the odd exception like Jamie Mulhall that's what seems to be happening every single season.

1,104 Posts
    Didn't see much of Brilly to be honest but he's very small which may have counted against him. Dean Murphy and Dylan McKeever have apparently been signed for the first team for next season along with Mulhall as confirmed already.

220 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by outspoken View Post
    Can I ask why on earth Aaron brilly has been let go? Anytime he's come in for the first team he's been played out of the position and been fantastic. He's a natural leader of the u19 side and as a result he never worried or looked phased when he came on alongside the senior players, I mean what is the point in producing these u-19 lads if we are just going to let them go after 2 seasons because bar the odd exception like Jamie Mulhall that's what seems to be happening every single season.
    Probably to make room for a new right back. Cousins has a Premier right back lined up. If he signs it nearly looks like Havo could be centre back next season.

1,104 Posts
    Yeah Pat Flynn has signed, as confirmed on the club website. Decent player, for this level anyway, very experienced. Bit of a lunatic on the field mind you, between himself and Havo there'll be plenty of physicality in defence!

861 Posts
    He was small but he was very strong physically and he was played as a right back for the first team when he was in fact a midfielder and preformed brilliantly it would he no harm to keep players like him around the club.

I for one am delighted Pat Flynn is coming. He is extremely experienced and except for his spell with Shels I think he is highly thought of by Waterford,St Pats and Shamrock Rovers.Maybe a few of the shamrock rovers can tell me if he played for Shamrock Rovers against Partizan Belgrade. I think he did play in that game..

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pat_Flynn_(footballer)

38 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by outspoken View Post
    He was small but he was very strong physically and he was played as a right back for the first team when he was in fact a midfielder and preformed brilliantly it would he no harm to keep players like him around the club.
    what's the point in just keeping someone around the club who won't get a game,even as second choice!?for the craic?he is a good ball player all right but not good enough for senior football yet,he would not be able for the physicality of the first devision yet either from watching him. it goes to show the terrible structures in place in this country for bridging the gap between U19 and senior football if anything!

861 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by howsyourtouch View Post
    what's the point in just keeping someone around the club who won't get a game,even as second choice!?for the craic?he is a good ball player all right but not good enough for senior football yet,he would not be able for the physicality of the first devision yet either from watching him. it goes to show the terrible structures in place in this country for bridging the gap between U19 and senior football if anything!
    Well TC has certainty kept some players not up to it around the club in the past but I agree with you on the structures In this country it's a joke

in the herald today QPR are the latest club to take an interest in Josh O Hanlon. This week he is training with Bournemouth and Peterborough are also keen on him. Josh scored twice for Crystal Palace last week in a trial game. Harry Redknapp is very keen for Josh to have a trial.

In other news the draw was made for the fourth round of the Leinster Senior Cup and we have being drawn against Shamrock Rovers(Wexford) away. Ties have to be played on or before February 16 2014.

1,104 Posts
    Never knew there was a Shamrock Rovers in Wexford but it seems there is. Maybe they'd like to join the league as well.

23. Thanks From:

I for one am delighted Pat Flynn is coming. He is extremely experienced and except for his spell with Shels I think he is highly thought of by Waterford,St Pats and Shamrock Rovers.Maybe a few of the shamrock rovers can tell me if he played for Shamrock Rovers against Partizan Belgrade. I think he did play in that game..

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pat_Flynn_(footballer)
    No, Pat Sullivan started and finished both games. He was an unused sub for both matches I think.

25. Thanks From:

49 Posts
    Shamrock rovers Wexford played Shamrock rovers Tallaght in a charity match on a bank holiday weekend about a year ago in Enniscourty (as far as I know) I remember hearing about it at the time I was in Curracloe for the weekend didn't go to the match but I heard SR Wexford put it up to SR Tallaght until the fitness told, I think it was 1 nil to Shamrock rovers Tallaght, could be just locals wearing their rose tinted glasses but if it was only 1 nil you would think they can give us a bit of a game

27. Thanks From:

Page 5 of 11 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast