That's fecked it for the FAI........

Lost in Giovanni Trappatoni's Tactics Board
    132 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DeLorean View Post
    Bloody hell!!

Considering their very poor form......wonder was he pushed or will it be a case of Lambert will soon be following him out the door?
    My Country is My Club.

Republic of Ireland Forever

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Um_ZvP2cUdo

52 Posts
    In a way I feel a but sorry for RK, working alongside 2 managers who can't manage at the level they are in.
    Last edited by the doc; 28/11/2014 at 8:54 AM.

2,081 Posts
    Combining the two roles has become too difficult. Fair enough I suppose, can only be good for us.

537 Posts
    and to think there were a number of posters on here at the time saying that keane taking on the villa job wouldn't distract from his Ireland duties

1,813 Posts
    Of course he's getting criticised for leaving as they're sinking. The chap can't do anything without criticism.
    DID YOU NOTICE A SIGN OUTSIDE MY HOUSE...?

2,081 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jbyrne View Post
    and to think there were a number of posters on here at the time saying that keane taking on the villa job wouldn't distract from his Ireland duties
    Well that was an obvious concern. The fact is though, none of us have any real idea what either job entails. He obviously felt he could combine the two but underestimated the commitment needed for either one or the other, or both. Even though it's another sideshow, the timing is fine from our point of view and I'm glad he's had the honestly to accept it's not working, and that we are now his sole focus.

2,284 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by the doc View Post
    In a way I feel a but sorry for RK, working alongside 2 managers who can't manage at the level they are in.
    To what level is O'Neill more suited in your opinion?

Combining the two roles has become too difficult. Fair enough I suppose, can only be good for us.
    Certainly, and at least it's clear we were still always his priority. There's an international break now until March which you might have thought would have freed him up to devote more time to Villa over the next few months, but that he wants to devote his time solely to the international role during this upcoming period is very promising.

2,081 Posts
    In fairness though, you'd think he'd have enough experience as a player and manager to know what he was letting himself in for. He was adamant that he could combine the roles. I finished his book last night, I'd say he doesn't have a moments peace (in his own head). He seemed to be really enjoying going to Goodison, the Britannia and various places to watch the Irish lads, at his own leisure. The Villa thing was probably too full on.

1,914 Posts
    If he had to pick one, I'd have thought he'd have chosen Aston Villa, just for the day to day involvement in the EPL.
    I don't know what that means for us, a bit of Roy versus a bit more of Roy?

672 Posts
    Sounds like a heart-over-head decision. He would undoubtedly have learned more about day-to-day management by holding tight at Villa. Presumably that's what he wants, but he's too invested in our fate.

Can't help but be heartened by that. Plus he now has no split allegiances for the next time he takes a pop at a player for putting club before country.
    Ou-est le Centre George Pompidou?

55 Posts
    TBH, I don't think to has anything to do with his dual roles. Villa are in a big mess both on and off the field. I wouldn't be surprised if he felt he could do without all that.

2,081 Posts
    He surely knew all that before signing up.

2,081 Posts

55 Posts
    He surely knew all that before signing up.
    I'm sure Keane has other reason like family and I'd say it's a lot a of stress working the two jobs. But I if I was a Villa fan I'd be worried. Things look different from the outside buy once you're inside you see the real damage. Lambert looks like a man that has rang out of ideas and the owner won't put the money if he's selling up.

Regardless his reasons, Keane is best out of there!

2,694 Posts
    I'd say JD promised him a pay rise if he could distract from his own media attention for a few days.

2,081 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by GypsyBlackCat View Post
    I'm sure Keane has other reason like family and I'd say it's a lot a of stress working the two jobs. But I if I was a Villa fan I'd be worried. Things look different from the outside buy once you're inside you see the real damage. Lambert looks like a man that has rang out of ideas and the owner won't put the money if he's selling up.

Regardless his reasons, Keane is best out of there!
    I feel sorry for Lambert. I think he has a good philosophy both in terms of giving youth a chance (not that he had much choice) and the way he tries to play football. It seems he is p!ssing against the wind there though, and anybody that keeps them reasonably safe from relegation has to be seen as doing okay I think.

574 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    If he had to pick one, I'd have thought he'd have chosen Aston Villa, just for the day to day involvement in the EPL.
    I don't know what that means for us, a bit of Roy versus a bit more of Roy?
    Quote Originally Posted by SwanVsDalton View Post
    Sounds like a heart-over-head decision. He would undoubtedly have learned more about day-to-day management by holding tight at Villa. Presumably that's what he wants, but he's too invested in our fate.

Can't help but be heartened by that. Plus he now has no split allegiances for the next time he takes a pop at a player for putting club before country.
    Keane did mention during the round of interviews to promote his book that he would leave the Villa job if combining it alongside his role with the national side became too much, so this shouldn't come as too much of a shock.

Of course, because it's Keane, people will assume there's more to this than meets the eye.
    Last edited by The Fly; 28/11/2014 at 1:46 PM.

23. Thanks From:

131 Posts
    I think there's more to this than meets the eye.

25. Thanks From: