Page 22 of 128 FirstFirst ... 1220212223243272122 ... LastLast

Thread: Martin O'Neill and Roy Keane

2,081 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by OwlsFan View Post
    Roy Keane hit a raw nerve ok because he doesn't understand the nature of supporting a team.
    Was Keane not taking completely out of context anyway? Any footage I saw afterwards he was just slagging off the team for not giving the fans something real to sing about... basically that the fans deserved more than to just go for the singsong. His prawn cocktail/away supporters rant would suggest he understands the nature of supporting a team very well.

1,914 Posts
    Roy can certainly get involved in ways we can appreciate. He joined the u17's at a 3 day training camp in Liverpool as they prepare for the elite qualifiers.

Keane inspires Mohan's U17s at Finch Farm

2,696 Posts
    Is there a sly / subliminal dig at Keane in that article?

Quote Originally Posted by FAI
    The foundations for Keane’s visit were laid in December when Keane and Martin O’Neill met with all FAI underage managers to discuss plans for the upcoming year at FAI Headquarters in Abbotstown. Keane has since liaised with U17 manager Tom Mohan on being present during the camp.

Republic of Ireland assistant manager Roy Keane gave Tom Mohan’s Under 17 hopefuls last week a pleasant surprise by turning up.
    Last edited by Stuttgart88; 04/02/2014 at 6:40 PM.

1,914 Posts

I had thought the dig came at the end of the story.

'He made an inspirational speech to the lads, which saw them energised ahead of their clash against Everton Tuesday'.
    However
    'The result didn’t go our way,'

401 Posts
    He spoke to kids that age for a whole hour? Their eyes must have been rolling around like pinballs.
    No Somos muchos pero estamos locos.

517 Posts

517 Posts
    http://thescore.thejournal.ie/martin...05456-Feb2014/

5 games in 4 days ahead of squad announcement in Limerick on 20/2.

401 Posts
    Apparently Roy got coffee at 3FE the other day.
    Wonder if he gets anything fancy.

401 Posts
    Indo: We insist Marty ignores Stephen Ireland. A five step process to bring glory to the Irish people.
    http://www.independent.ie/sport/socc...-29994218.html

2,696 Posts
    I think the press is guessing what the reaction to Ireland's return would be. That's for the insiders to determine, not the onlookers. It was interesting to read about the wig-teasing though.

I agree with the point about not undermining Forde but that there is a way to bring Shay back into the mix in an elegant manner. With Westwood crocked there is no harm in having Given involved on more than a standby basis though.

I don't think we should be going out to court Redmond or Bamford.

I'm neutral on the issue of resting the old guard. Sometimes I think that the best way to introduce youth is into a stable foundation. So I would like to see Dunne being played still. But I really do think there is no need to pick Robbie for these games if we are to place faith in other options.

3,316 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Crosby87 View Post
    Indo: We insist Marty ignores Stephen Ireland. A five step process to bring glory to the Irish people.
    http://www.independent.ie/sport/socc...-29994218.html
    I would say the first thing he should do is ignore all advice, and build his own team

Funny that Garry Doyle spent more words typing that dramatic rendering of Stephen Ireland's exile than he did points #2-5.

3,316 Posts
    not sure if it's been mentioned here or not, there's a Q&A with Martin O'Neill in Thomond Park on the night of the 20th: http://www.limerickfc.ie/thomond-par...ickets-on-sale

1,914 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    Funny that Garry Doyle spent more words typing that dramatic rendering of Stephen Ireland's exile than he did points #2-5.
    It's even more superfluous seeing that SI has already put himself out of the equation for a call up by O'Neill.

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    782 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by TheOneWhoKnocks View Post
    http://thescore.thejournal.ie/martin...05456-Feb2014/

5 games in 4 days ahead of squad announcement in Limerick on 20/2.
    It was good to see him at the Celtic/Aberdeen game where there were quite a few Irish on display. Good game and Jon Hayes played well. Some stat mentioned that Celtic haven't beaten the Dons at home in the Cup since the late 1950s or did I mishear that?
    Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.

517 Posts
    I'd like to see Aaron Doran get a move back to England to see if he can become a genuine option; Gavin Gunning too.

2,696 Posts
    O'Neill and Keane pretty downbeat on the emerging talent

http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/s...ht-259587.html

Elsewhere he has said that he'll be watching LOI players recommended to him by their club managers. I'm not necessarily linking the two strands here!

I suspect he is referring to guys capable of breaking into the squad right now. It's a bit harsh to be writing off the current U19s or U21s, for example. You'd think he'd be more upbeat on the Villa kids too, for example.

517 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88 View Post
    O'Neill and Keane pretty downbeat on the emerging talent

http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/s...ht-259587.html

Elsewhere he has said that he'll be watching LOI players recommended to him by their club managers. I'm not necessarily linking the two strands here!

I suspect he is referring to guys capable of breaking into the squad right now. It's a bit harsh to be writing off the current U19s or U21s, for example. You'd think he'd be more upbeat on the Villa kids too, for example.
    The talk about lack of dearth doesn't sit too well with me. Having a lack of dearth hasn't stopped teams like Sweden and Switzerland from having better qualifying records. I would say that these teams have a similar level of talent to us. We have a pool of approximately 50 players to choose from playing at PL and Championship level. The lack of players playing further afield hinders us but at the same time, the PL is (arguably) the best League in the world and The Championship is (arguably) the 7th or 8th best League in Europe.

I am not putting us on a pedestal with Croatia but compare our depth with theirs and we aren't that far behind.

And the answer to our problems doesn't lie in the eligibility rules. England are better than Ireland but in the grand scheme of things, they are nowhere near the level of Spain, Germany, Italy or even France. If a player is not good enough to play for England, I genuinely don't think he is going to make an impact for us in proportion to the impact Deco and Senna made for Portugal and Spain.

Our problems are generally endemic in football anyway. Look at Portugal and Holland as two examples. They are nowhere near the level they were at 10 years ago. Imagine how bad Portugal would be without Ronaldo. They struggle to beat teams like North Ireland and Liechtenstein in Qualification.

2,696 Posts
    I don't like that kind of talk either. I'm surprised by it.

I dont think he is using it as an excuse, but if you look in traps reign we had plenty of young bucks coming through, and decent potential as well the likes of Clark, Coleman and McCarthy. That's 3 who are now regulars pretty much when available.

There is no one like that coming through. Who else in the squad is u21? It is very worrying for the future its not an excuse to throw out there but one we should be very worried about.

We need at least another 3 clarks/colemans/maccarthys coming through in O'Neills time, least because we rely on players who are or will be finished within 1 or at most 2 campaigns e.g. keane/dunne/oshea and lesser players like walters, whelan, doyle, reid, hoolahan.