Thread: Martin O'Neill and Roy Keane

International Prospect tricky_colour's Avatar
    621 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    Worth a punt Tricky?
    Not a chance, especially at 1/10, that is pretty ridiculous unless somene knows something.

For starters he could get run over by a bus at the weekend.

Only joking, I already have the mortgage on it!!

1,928 Posts
    It's actually a dangerous job. It's mandatory to qualify through 2 rounds plus play offs for the CL and then you have to win 3 games at the group stage.
    The expectations at Celtic are to perform 2 or 3 miracles a season.
    It's easier to be perceived a failure at Celtic than a success.

621 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Yard of Pace View Post
    I agree wholeheartedly. That article by Paul Rowan last week, the photos of Keane at the training sessions before the Turkey game, the rigmarole of people giving out about him doing punditry on the CL final before an Ireland match, just brought home how distracting it is to have so much focus on the assistant manager.
    He's currently bigger than the team. I don't like that. Let these lads make a name for themselves and let MON go about his business without having to give a soundbyte about Roy at every press conference.

There has hardly been a transformation under the new management anyway, Roy does not have a lot to lose.

Not sure how it would affect Ireland, probably not much however I do wonder if O'Neil is the manager he was
    his glory days are very much in the past.

International Prospect NeverFeltBetter's Avatar
    586 Posts
    I've always thought Roy's appointment was a decision that would invariably end in tears some day. I never thought it would happen quite so quickly. I have a feeling he'll still be in the Ireland dug-out in a few months.
    Author of Never Felt Better (History, Film Reviews).

Having thought about this a bit, I don't really see how it won't end in tears. The pressure in Glasgow is immense in spite of the low standard of the league, and Roy has a history of walking away without a moment's thought when the pressure comes on.

52 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    Having thought about this a bit, I don't really see how it won't end in tears. The pressure in Glasgow is immense in spite of the low standard of the league, and Roy has a history of walking away without a moment's thought when the pressure comes on.
    Just as did MON at Villa!

I thought he left Villa because Ciaran Clark injured him in training.

2,771 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by TheOneWhoKnocks View Post
    Jazz hands Robbie Keane better than Shane Long in his worst EPL season.

Someone that spends 85% of games chastising the referee and his teammates while another striker invariably does all the donkey work for him. Thank God he gobbles goals against small teams - he netted more in one game against Burnley than he in anyways because if he didn't have that.... he's not renowned for his technical brilliance.

Now I may be not be appreciating Robbie Keane enough but you could accuse other people of not appreciating Shane Long or Kevin Doyle enough too!
    Look at me! Look at me! Over here! Over here!

Yawn.
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

517 Posts
    I'm not sure what is more reprehensible. Me giving my own opinion or someone else quoting the 14th last post simply to have yet another go at me.

The irony was that post was ancient history before you brought it up, Stu. Everyone else had moved on, except you.

626 Posts
    Jazz hands Robbie Keane better than Shane Long in his worst EPL season.

Someone that spends 85% of games chastising the referee and his teammates while another striker invariably does all the donkey work for him. Thank God he gobbles goals against small teams because if he didn't have that.... he's not renowned for his technical brilliance.

Now I may be not be appreciating Robbie Keane enough but you could accuse other people of not appreciating Shane Long or Kevin Doyle enough too!
    I remember that Robbie was criticised early in his career for a tendency to score spectacular, highlight-reel goals and not get enough bread-and-butter goals to be a prolific striker - half a century of international goals later, against opposition great and small, in friendlies and competition, it appears he solved that problem, only to be criticised for doing this.

As regards a lack of technical brilliance, now I'm not sure if you're being ironic (really) but when you think about the great Irish strikers pre-Keane (Aldridge, Quinn, Stapleton, Cascarino) he was really the first one who didn't just get on the end of moves to finish chances - he created his own chances. I remember watching Match Of The Day one day when Gordon Strachan and Gerard Houllier were the pundits and they showed a clip of a Korean football juggler who was the half-time entertainment at one of the games (carrying a ball from his head half the length of the pitch). Host Adrian Chiles jokingly asked if either of them had managed somebody who could do that and Strachan said without blinking "Robbie Keane".
    I guess, when all is said and done, the reason why I don't agree yet with those who believe Keane should have a dramatically reduced role in the upcoming campaign is that I expect him to score 4-6 goals (or possibly more) whereas I hope that Shane Long will get 2 or 3 (and that one of them will be a winner against Poland or Scotland)

I'd say Robbie is one of the most technically-gifted players we've ever produced. But that would mean I'd be encouraging this ridiculous revision of our greatest ever striker's career.

2,771 Posts
    I'm not sure what is more reprehensible. Me giving my own opinion or someone else quoting the 14th last post simply to have yet another go at me.

The irony was that post was ancient history before you brought it up, Stu. Everyone else had moved on, except you.
    Irony (like rain on your wedding day)? Ancient history (barely 8 hours later)? Reprehensible no less. Your hyperbole knows no bounds and your ego is out of control... I will continue to address your anti-Keane agenda in a manner befitting the offending posts. People like samhaydenjr and Charlie have far more patience and class than I have in that regard.
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

621 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by samhaydenjr View Post
    I remember that Robbie was criticised early in his career for a tendency to score spectacular, highlight-reel goals and not get enough bread-and-butter goals to be a prolific striker - half a century of international goals later, against opposition great and small, in friendlies and competition, it appears he solved that problem, only to be criticised for doing this.

As regards a lack of technical brilliance, now I'm not sure if you're being ironic (really) but when you think about the great Irish strikers pre-Keane (Aldridge, Quinn, Stapleton, Cascarino) he was really the first one who didn't just get on the end of moves to finish chances - he created his own chances. I remember watching Match Of The Day one day when Gordon Strachan and Gerard Houllier were the pundits and they showed a clip of a Korean football juggler who was the half-time entertainment at one of the games (carrying a ball from his head half the length of the pitch). Host Adrian Chiles jokingly asked if either of them had managed somebody who could do that and Strachan said without blinking "Robbie Keane".
    I guess, when all is said and done, the reason why I don't agree yet with those who believe Keane should have a dramatically reduced role in the upcoming campaign is that I expect him to score 4-6 goals (or possibly more) whereas I hope that Shane Long will get 2 or 3 (and that one of them will be a winner against Poland or Scotland)
    I think I can believe that after watching this!!

517 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SkStu View Post
    Irony (like rain on your wedding day)? Ancient history (barely 8 hours later)? Reprehensible no less. Your hyperbole knows no bounds and your ego is out of control... I will continue to address your anti-Keane agenda in a manner befitting the offending posts. People like samhaydenjr and Charlie have far more patience and class than I have in that regard.
    At least they can constructively debate something without belittling someone. It's no more an "agenda" than the "agenda" against Long. 2 goals in his last 4 games yet all anyone - the media and fans - can talk about is the chances he misses. I didn't offend anybody as I never insulted anyone.

And "ancient history" was a figure of speech. I didn't literally mean that you replied to an ancient post!

675 Posts
    All the reports I've read and some of the quotes on Twitter appear to be resigned to Keane going.
    Ou-est le Centre George Pompidou?

171 Posts
    At least they can constructively debate something without belittling someone. It's no more an "agenda" than the "agenda" against Long. 2 goals in his last 4 games yet all anyone - the media and fans - can talk about is the chances he misses. I didn't offend anybody as I never insulted anyone.

And "ancient history" was a figure of speech. I didn't literally mean that you replied to an ancient post!
    If you’re going to be credible about your judgement of players, you can’t have a such a subjective, varying standard.

If we want to be ultra-cynical, and Robbie is the show-pony, flat-track bully who over-celebrates his goals and whinges at referees, then Shane Long and Kevin Doyle are little more than blundering, huff-and-puff culchies who couldn’t hit a cow’s backside with a banjo, but get a free pass from the GAA-supporting yokels amongst our support because they run around a lot, clatter into people, and show ‘pashun’.

However, if we want to be positive, and Doyle and Long are, indeed, the under-rated, brave, physical, selfless, hard-working strikers that every team needs, then Robbie is, in turn, the outstanding goalscorer and finisher; peerless in Irish soccer, who has scored all kinds of goals against all kinds of opposition in both competitive and non-competitive games, and deserves to be credited as such.

1,928 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SwanVsDalton View Post
    All the reports I've read and some of the quotes on Twitter appear to be resigned to Keane going.
    "Resigned" assumes regrets.
    We don't know what Roy brought to the set up. He got paid a hefty fee for a 1st deputy role, demoted to 2nd deputy role and I doubt if it will matter that much if he goes.
    Possibly he could have had a positive impact into the team and worked well with O'Neill, but we will never know. O'Neill will be left with a full complement of professional back room staff.

2,081 Posts
    And who knows, maybe John Robertson might be ready to fill the 'void'? It's actually nothing personal against Keane, but I really want this to happen.

156 Posts
    Just out of interest, how much compo will the FAI get from Celtic if Roy gets the job? I'm guessing it's a few million.

Personally, if it meant clearing off even a small portion of the FAI's debt and/or being able to get more youth coaches set up around the country, I'd be more than happy if he left and someone like Robertson came in.

No way it would be a few million.

Page 34 of 128 FirstFirst ... 2432333435364484 ... LastLast