Bring back Trap, this is madness.
    "I'm just a chilled out entertainer"

Blog

Lost in Giovanni Trappatoni's Tactics Board
    132 Posts
    Latvia are playing yeovil town in an unofficial friendly ilon tuesday.
    Latvia are more yeovils level.

Absolute waste of an intl fixture selecting this lot as our opposition
    My Country is My Club.

Republic of Ireland Forever

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Um_ZvP2cUdo

How about we give the players some credit when we do well, rather than just questioning the standard of the opposition? Good start and looking forward to Tuesday now.

132 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by boovidge View Post
    How about we give the players some credit when we do well, rather than just questioning the standard of the opposition? Good start and looking forward to Tuesday now.
    Im the first to give players credit. They can only beat who is put in front of them . Bur if u read my post , I said its a waste of a fixture date ....the fixture was organised by the fai not the players so my issue is with them most certainly not the players or mngt.

Glad we got the win but looking fwd to tuesday cos it will give us a better measure of where we are at rather than playing a very poir latvia side.
    My Country is My Club.

2,284 Posts
    Just in from work and caught the very end of the game. Looks like McClean played really well. Delighted to see him get 'MOTM'. O'Neill really knows how to get the best out of him. Fair play to Robbie with yet another goal for us; fantastic. McGeady's strike was lovely. Just watching the team pressing high up the field in the analysis highlights and it's a joy to behold in contrast to Trap's sitting off and back from the opposition. It led directly to McGeady's goal and hopefully signals a more positive and dynamic future.

We're also second seeds for the Euro 2016 draw with Greece having beaten Romania 3-1. Not a bad night all round then.

214 Posts
    I have to say I was really impressed. Latvia were no great shakes but I'm delighted the back 4 tried to play without resorting to long balls. O'Shea, Ward & Wilson have all been guilty in the past of hoofing but tonight they were composed & it was clear to see that O'Neill is trying to impose a different playing style. It's early days of course but from Robbie Keane to Coleman the whole team pressed & put the opposition under pressure. I'm hoping this harrying continues, win the ball back early & get on the front foot.

Whelan looked a different player tonight. McGeady looked sharp & McClean was a handful.

Poland will be a tougher test but onwards & upwards.
    Last edited by shakermaker1982; 15/11/2013 at 9:13 PM.

89 Posts
    I will shoot anyone who makes negative comments. This was the first time i enjoyed watching Ireland play in 5 years. They were comfortable, tried interesting things, 2 great worked goals and 1 superb strike. Only player i'd have reservations about the performance was Ward, but i think MON was looking at potential backups for Wilson rather than nailing him as our starting left back (I;m guessing there).

The thing i'm happiest about is that there was i think 2 long balls in the whole game and when receiving passed the majority of the players turned and attempted to go forward. Still a few 'old' ways creeping in here and there. I was also pleased that MON commented on the fact that after the first goal we stopped being offensive for the next 25 mins or so, good to know he'll attempt to change that.

Overall really pleased and very excited. Looking forward to a sterner test on Tuesday

132 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by rebelmusic View Post
    I will shoot anyone who makes negative comments.
    Hold off on loading the gun rebelmusic

wont be negative about ireland - great to see the ball been used like it should be and our players been able to express themselves no matter what the level of opposition. Latvia were still awful and i would have preferred better opposition.

But looking forward to poland and how we play and against a team who will actually give us a game unike tonight.
    My Country is My Club.

International Prospect tricky_colour's Avatar
    621 Posts
    Well 3 - 0 is a decent enough result, today we were Spain and Latvia were Ireland

They have not been beaten by 3 or more for over 5 months, Bosnia-Herzegovina seem to be their bogie opposition,
    but they can grind out the odd draw or narrow defeat against Greece for example.
    It was not all pretty but was nice to see us pressing them and taking the game to the opposition,
    remains to be see how effective that will be against better sides, we forced them into errors
    by pressing they up the pitch much in same was as we have made errors when pressed in our half.
    Poland will be a better yardstick, I expect they will have a go at us rather then sitting back which might
    work in our favour giving us more space but of course they will far more dangerous going forward.

As has been said Latvia didn't look too competent, but maybe we made them look poor, their inability to
    retain possession reminded me of Ireland at the Euros!!

Some promising stuff, though the move involving Coleman look pretty impressive, hopefully we
    will see more of that.

89 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by back of the net View Post
    Hold off on loading the gun rebelmusic
    Haha fair enough. And in fairness to all on this board, it's the least negative corner of Irish football. saying that, the negativity in the media really annoys me at time. Tony O'D dropped a comment about Staunton's first 3-0 during the interview with Robbie and Robbie rightfully gave out to him. Why can't they all be happy, just for one 90 mins

106 Posts
    It's all going according to plan so far.

3-1 against Poland now and I'll be rubbing my hands together for the next round of games.
    Last edited by texidub; 15/11/2013 at 10:54 PM. Reason: no place for poetic license

446 Posts
    A long way to go. We've been here before. Remember eg. Sweden, a million miles ahead of Latvia.

This means nothing, see how we are next autumn and what the Euros draw brings.

2,771 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Olé Olé View Post
    Walters to Coleman to Long (for Long's goal). 2 have scored in the Prem in the last two weeks, one is one of the Prem's best right-backs and 2 were subs for this game. And we have no players...
    This was the most offensive part of the Trappatoni regime from my perspective and the biggest myth the lazy Il Spoofer ever peddled. It was a cop-out and loser speak designed to hide his lack of commitment or dedication to his job. I look forward to a management team that will speak confidently of our players ability and that will set us up to play with pride and skill. Roll on 2016
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

2,284 Posts
    Roy even looked like he was enjoying himself and getting a buzz out of something for once!

503 Posts
    Just home...

Always different being there compared to watching on telly. You get a far better feel for it watching at home to be honest.

My thoughts were that Coleman, McCarthy, McClean, McGeady and Keane were our best players. The back 4 didn't have a lot to do, but Wilson did well, O'Shea panics me every time he goes near the ball, and Ward was fairly anonymous. Didn't see much of Whelan or Hoolahan, but people i was with thought Hoolahan did well.

Westwood was in danger of hypothermia, and Latvia were terrible
    Bring Back Belfast Celtic F.C.

2,284 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by backtowalsall View Post
    Just home...

Always different being there compared to watching on telly. You get a far better feel for it watching at home to be honest.
    Really?

Quick, someone let Martin and Roy know they're wasting their precious time sitting on the sidelines!

503 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DannyInvincible View Post
    Really?

Quick, someone let Martin and Roy know they're wasting their precious time sitting on the sidelines!
    Not quite as practical to do the half time team talk from Kilrea. I'm sure they have people there taking the benefit of tv replays etc for them. I do think as a fan you get a better impression of the game on telly. Much better craic to be there of course.
    Bring Back Belfast Celtic F.C.

446 Posts
    The banner of the night...

O'Neill and Trap .... Miles apart. Hope we get something from Poland (they lost two nil tonight) and continue to have Trap exposed for the charlatan he is.

2,284 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by backtowalsall View Post
    Not quite as practical to do the half time team talk from Kilrea. I'm sure they have people there taking the benefit of tv replays etc for them. I do think as a fan you get a better impression of the game on telly.
    I'm not sure I can agree. Not only does a television camera dictate your optic but your view of the action is confined to a space of 30-40 metres squared at any one moment in time. If it was possible to get a better impression of the game from the television, managers and tacticians would be watching live screenings in the dressing room.

Page 7 of 11 FirstFirst ... 56789 ... LastLast