Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Ins and Outs.

Quote Originally Posted by nigel-harps1954 View Post
    I think most people knew this already, or at least anyone with a bit of cop on would have knew this was the case. There's a barrage of idiots out there who think Gamble is either screwing Cork over, or have come up with their own stories as to why he was leaving to go to Cork.

He'll do himself no favours with tweets like that, but at the end of the day, it must be frustrating reading all these fabrications about himself everywhere.
    Are there people saying stuff like that? I haven't seen anything around myself.

420 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jofspring View Post
    Did I miss something that was said about Gamble somewhere? Because it's poor comment from a professional footballer who captained the club and a total over reaction from him. What difference does it make what the press release says? He says he was never going to sign on again and the club say they weren't going to offer a new contract because they weren't in a position to. Using aggressive comments like he has in the twitter comment posted above is needless. He was happy to accept the wages with young kids for the last two and a half seasons. If he felt that strongly why didn't he request his contract to be torn up a season or two ago? He played two seasons for us and was well paid for it. Both parties have gone their separate ways, no more no less.
    He seems annoyed at the fact the club have made it out that it was their decision to release him when what i heard happened was that Joe told the club a few weeks before the end of the season that he didn't want a new contract and he wouldnt be staying because of the travelling. Now that is just what i have been told i have no idea if its true.

If that is true then i cant see why the club couldnt just say that Joe was leaving because he couldnt commit to travelling anymore but either way its definitely an over reaction by Joe which is a pity as it stains the good work he did for the club and the fact that he was always a lovely fella off the pitch.

Jeff Judge not happy either:
    Wow that Taylor talks some rubbish what an absolute hamster #stealingaliving

Quote Originally Posted by bluewhitearmy View Post
    He seems annoyed at the fact the club have made it out that it was their decision to release him when what i heard happened was that Joe told the club a few weeks before the end of the season that he didn't want a new contract and he wouldnt be staying because of the travelling. Now that is just what i have been told i have no idea if its true.

If that is true then i cant see why the club couldnt just say that Joe was leaving because he couldnt commit to travelling anymore but either way its definitely an over reaction by Joe which is a pity as it stains the good work he did for the club and the fact that he was always a lovely fella off the pitch.

Ya the club could have just said that but as you say a total overreaction by gamble. I don't think it makes any difference really. If the club had said something like joe wanted big wages and we couldn't afford it I'd understand his reaction but they didn't.

We all know why Judgy was released, he was his own worst enemy all season with the sendings off. No point taking that out on Taylor now.

International Prospect NeverFeltBetter's Avatar
    586 Posts
    Jeez, between Gamble, Judge and Ryan this is becoming Trap-esque.
    Author of Never Felt Better (History, Film Reviews).

420 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by NeverFeltBetter View Post
    Jeez, between Gamble, Judge and Ryan this is becoming Trap-esque.
    Have a look at who favourited Barrys tweet.

Also is favourited a word?

Have a look at who favourited Barrys tweet.

Also is favourited a word?
    Ya was worried about that favourite alright.

If Barry is gone then I wouldn't bee too impressed with the club slapping it all over Facebook about him making the rte team of season if I was him. Looks like a slap in the face in my opinion.

They must be still in discussions with Tracy and Barry though, otherwise they would have announced them being gone. Barry never replied to people asking was he gone either.

Ya was worried about that favourite alright.

If Barry is gone then I wouldn't bee too impressed with the club slapping it all over Facebook about him making the rte team of season if I was him. Looks like a slap in the face in my opinion.

They must be still in discussions with Tracy and Barry though, otherwise they would have announced them being gone. Barry never replied to people asking was he gone either.
    I have heard it was over contract talks, apparently (take it with a pinch of salt as its 3rd hand info) the club have offered the same contracts as last year. Some players who felt they deserved an increase, aren't happy.
    When I heard it, I thought it was initially just opening offers to show their intent to keep them. But it appears the club haven't increased their offer since and have said they won't be.
    2 ways to look at it ...fair play to the club for sticking to their guns and saying 'we think you're worth this much, so this is your offer'
    But the other side, if I was Barry Ryan or Dave O'Leary and just had a very good season, I'd be expecting an increase in my wages.

I don't think any of those players will have many other options of where they can go so the club could be playing hardball until they see who they can get.

Quote Originally Posted by kingpin4 View Post
    I have heard it was over contract talks, apparently (take it with a pinch of salt as its 3rd hand info) the club have offered the same contracts as last year. Some players who felt they deserved an increase, aren't happy.
    When I heard it, I thought it was initially just opening offers to show their intent to keep them. But it appears the club haven't increased their offer since and have said they won't be.
    2 ways to look at it ...fair play to the club for sticking to their guns and saying 'we think you're worth this much, so this is your offer'
    But the other side, if I was Barry Ryan or Dave O'Leary and just had a very good season, I'd be expecting an increase in my wages.

I don't think any of those players will have many other options of where they can go so the club could be playing hardball until they see who they can get.
    If we had won a cup or something I could see why players would want increases but we finished 7th in the league. It was a good season and the players did very well for the club, that certainly can't be taken away from them but I can't see why players would get pay increases to be honest. The only way I could see players deserving an increase is if they were on small wages last year then definitely the likes of Barry and Dave deserve an increase. I suppose none of us really know the finer details (like what they got last season) so we can't comment on it too much.

Twitter isn't the place to be airing grievances to be honest and certainly doesn't do a player any favours when it comes to negotiations.

Hopefully some deals can be hammered out though. Keeping a core of the team is vital to pushing on next season in my opinion.
    Last edited by Jofspring; 31/10/2013 at 9:32 PM.

If we had won a cup or something I could see why players would want increases but we finished 7th in the league. It was a good season and the players did very well for the club, that certainly can't be taken away from them but I can't see why players would get pay increases to be honest. The only way I could see players deserving an increase is if they were on small wages last year then definitely the likes of Barry and Dave deserve an increase. I suppose none of us really know the finer details (like what they got last season) so we can't comment on it too much.

Twitter isn't the place to be airing grievances to be honest and certainly doesn't do a player any favours when it comes to negotiations.

Hopefully some deals can be hammered out though. Keeping a core of the team is vital to pushing on next season in my opinion.
    Completely agree with you... Only a handful of people could tell you what they actually earn, so if it was a case that Barry (just using him as an example) earned 100 a week, then fair enough, he deserves an increase. If he earns 700 a week, it's harder to agree he deserves an increase. But as one of our best performers this season, he should be rewarded.

I think the club are probably making them sweat a bit to see who they can get and for what wages. after losing Gamble, Bradley, Purcell, O'Callaghan, Foley, Tiofack and Judge, there should be a good bit freed up in the budget.

In one of Taylor's interviews though, he was talking about having as many local lads as possible, if he really meant that, you'd think Shane Tracy would be a priority.

2,446 Posts
    Are there people saying stuff like that? I haven't seen anything around myself.
    Seeing a lot of it on Facebook. Those 'airtricity banter page' and the like are comedy gold at times.

420 Posts
    Some players think that they should get an increase every season no matter what has happened that season. Not saying any of the lads mentioned have im just going on previous seasons and talking to players.

Players should get an increase if the team has been successful or they themselves have stood out as having a great season. So if it is that they want more money i can understand why the club aren't too willing. Can also understand the players looking out for themselves of course. Hopefully some sort of agreement can be met because it would be awful to have to change almost the entire squad.

International Prospect NeverFeltBetter's Avatar
    586 Posts
    Such a debate doesn't surprise me really. Even on here we've been talking about whether Limerick over or under achieved this season, so maybe something like that is also occurring in contract talks.

But speculation on matters related to greed or stinginess is pointless without knowing the exact figures involved.
    Author of Never Felt Better (History, Film Reviews).

Also heard from another player, that Taylor is not what he is made out to be and his man management would not be his biggest asset (to say the least). I suppose that there is no smoke without a fire.

Quote Originally Posted by Two Feet Up View Post
    Also heard from another player, that Taylor is not what he is made out to be and his man management would not be his biggest asset (to say the least). I suppose that there is no smoke without a fire.
    #TrapOut
    I heard from 3 or 4 people who told me he was going to get sacked soon... There is absolutely no chance of the club sacking him after such a short time in charge.
    Seriously, could you imagine sacking the manager after 1 year in charge? We'd be a laughing stock and even with Pat O'Sullivan's deep pockets, I don't think we could afford to go down that road of paying (rumoured) big wages to managers and sacking them if they didn't deliver in the first year.
    I think a lot of Irish players will struggle with a new mentality like Taylor's, which is where that man management thing has probably come from.

420 Posts
    Its all who you talk to i suppose as ive been told by others that Taylor is very good and funnily enough man management was the point they said he was strongest with. Time will tell how good or not he is. I have had my doubts through the season tbh. Has no excuses like lack of pre-season or not knowing the players for next season so we will see what he is really made of.

Having played football and managed in it I've seen both sides of it. When a manager is praising players and being a nice as pie he is the best manager in the world but as soon as he is realistic with them or maybe tells them their performances haven't been as good as they think then suddenly he is the worst in the world.

The club is at a higher level now and next season there is going to be a higher demand of success from the fans, pat o Sullivan and the general public around limerick so the pressure is on Taylor. If the team fail to improve next season then the blame will land at him and not the players so he has every right to cut the cloth as he sees fit and use his budget best he feels he can.

Only time will tell if he is going about his business right.

In my opinion he can seem like a bit of a spoofer at times but if you look at some f the signings he made he did well. Curran, Oji, Williams, Galbraith, Nzuzi and Folan are all vey good signings while he made probably only one very poor one in Aaron Browne.
    Last edited by Jofspring; 01/11/2013 at 4:36 PM.

Limerick In:

Mick Leahy (UCD)

Very good signing.

46 Posts
    Limerick In:

Mick Leahy (UCD)

Very good signing.

Don't know much about him any info on him??

Quote Originally Posted by thomas72 View Post
    Don't know much about him any info on him??
    www.limerickfc.ie have good info there on him.

He has been the UCD captain and has played for them for the last 4 years.

420 Posts
    Very good signing for us he is their best player imo and they bring through some top loi players. He was their captain the last 2 seasons i think very solid defender that is also quite comfortable on the ball. Will suit the way we tried to play out from the back last season. Pleased with this one i have to say.

Been told he had no shortage of offers too which is good.

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast