Thread: Crowdometer

Thumbs up Crowdometer

Welcome to the Republic of Ireland Crowdometer

This will record the crowds performance in Lansdowne for the remainder of its illustrious life

Rep of Ireland v Faroe Islands
    Game kicked off with a gutsy National Anthem. Decent performance in the 1st half with a mixture of Stand up for the boys in green, Ole ole and come on you boys in green. Athmosphere added to by the Mexican Wave and definitely added to the Irish performance. Second half was hard to build up to. Keano Keano made an appearance followed by No 1 is Robbie Keane, No 2 is Robbie Keane. Crowds enthusiasm petered out as time wore on and limped to a quiet finish. Marked improvement on previous performance. Lacking fitness but heading in the right direction. 7/10
    Who is this guy, Trapper Tony?

7 out of 10....do you work for the S*n?

The atmoshopere was ****e yesterday, more like 3 out of 10. Same boring old chants. Same ****s asking you to constantly sit down. Same poeple getting into the ground 10 minutes late and leaving 10 minutes early. Same people taling ****e about their day in work and how they prefer the "rugger" as it's on at the weekends. Same old cheers for the ****ing DART going by. Same old ****s who know nothing about football.

End of rant. Feel the love.

Thought the atmosphere was much better last night than it has been recently, especially considering everyone was expecting to roll the Faroes over.
    Cork City: Making 'Dream Team' seem realistic since 2007.

I was in the West Upper, and while glad to get a ticket, especially for free, I was preferring to have one in South bucket. But having seen it from a good central view, the atmosphere there seemed pretty poor. The lads in the North bucket stood for the whole game and kept on singing and kept the Paris atmosphere going, but the south end was only keeping in touch with the rest of the ground. the west was slow to catch onto the 'stand up . .' song, but myself and 2 others used to stand up every time it started, would have preferrd to stand for the whole game like saturday, really gets the singing and atmosphere going better like the lads in the north bucket.

634 Posts
    whats a crow - dometer
    Here they come! It’s the charge of the “Thanks” Brigade!

Quote Originally Posted by Kingdom
    whats a crow - dometer
    An ometer for a crowd
    Who is this guy, Trapper Tony?

I thought the atmosphere well below par,we need to it into a cauldron of fear for the opposition,maybe get some boos and whistling going when the opposition are on the ball and when we are slowing down get behind the team rather then just when we attack.We could also do with a later kick off time,maybe 9 o'clock,this way there will be a proper build up of atmosphere around the city,plus the cnuts that might turn up in suits can think about getting home to get some proper clobber on .

Not great but an improvement - hopefully heading in the right direction.
    <insert witty remark>

i felt last night the crowd were expecting a lot more than they got, thats why it was subdued at times, i went last nite expecting 4 or 5 goals at least.
    i feel the bigger the game we have, the better the fans are.
    stand up in the boys in green is a very good chant & has been the best one at the two wc qual home games so far.
    que sera, sera is load of crap & should'nt be chanted for a while yet, maybe if were doing the business against the french or swiss at home it will be ok but at the moment its very cocky & premature.

Have to admit the south terrace is becoming **** poor for atmosphere. Apart from the schoolboy part and the area around it hardly anyone wants to sing. There are others who try to start songs going but are told to 'sit down'. Anyone else agree

Agreed it seems to have reversed from the north been the crap terrace now the south terrace is crap. With it been the bigger terrace the songs should be coming from there but nothing last night. By the time we joined into most of the songs they were over. Too many muppets on the terrace giving out about everything we did. Thought atmosphere not bad but could be hell of a lot better .. I think people on the terraces ( buckets ) should be allowed and encouraged to stand for the whole game

Doing the bar stool bit last night.

In the first half the atmosphere came across really well (even the commentators commenting on it on more than one occasion), sounded like the place was rocking, second half died a bit.

I agree that there is too limited an amount of songs, but for the time being they may as well be sung until we get some more.
    Where am I now? I'm over here,
    I've got those empty pockets and I can't afford a beer.

I was east lower and I really got a feel for what people have been moaning about it was dull and people didnt want to support....I am usually in the north and thats a bit (only a bit we can all do better) of crack but this sitting at football matches is a farce. Will not be in the stands for awhile again with people telling you to sit down and comin in 15 minutes late to the second half....

386 Posts
    was in the north myself and we did make an effort even if at first we were told to sit down by some auld fella when we tried to get a "stand up for the boys in green" chant going after 5 mins. Thought the north and the North part of the East stand were good. South was a bit quieter than I thought and well we all know about the west. Overall better the usual so its a start.

Quote Originally Posted by KildareBhoy
    Have to admit the south terrace is becoming **** poor for atmosphere. Apart from the schoolboy part and the area around it hardly anyone wants to sing. There are others who try to start songs going but are told to 'sit down'. Anyone else agree
    I was one of the ones sitting (or standing actually) just under the school boy section, trying to get the crowd going in the South Terrace. Around us was great craic but we had to work damn hard to get the rest of the lads going. The schoolboy section were great though. They'd hear us singing a new song and then a few minutes later they'd be singing it with their own version of the words they thought they heard. Great bit of buzz it was too. Fair play to each and every one of them. Horse as anything I am today though. Bloody good job I don't work in a call center cause they would have gotten nothing out of me for the last 4 days!

Quote Originally Posted by blobbyblob
    Keano Keano made an appearance followed by No 1 is Robbie Keane, No 2 is Robbie Keane.
    Blasphemy! People should sing it properly or not sing it at all

And No. 1 is Gary Breen, and No. 2 is Gary Breen
    And No. Threee is Gary Breen...

Thumbs down South Terrace - Booooo!

Having spent almost all of my Lansdowne years on the South Terrace (my first being Vs Spain in '89) with the exception of occaisionally nicking the old man's west stand freebie during times of hardship, I must admit it's fairly crap sitting there now! After the introduction of the seats on the south, it seemed like the place to be was the east as they had the largest amout of fans clumped together but even now that seems to be dropping and god knows where we'd be now without the introduction of the Eircom League fans on the North! If I could I'd be exchanging my ticket for one in the North.

Maybe the FAI should look to introduce a 'singing section' like many UK clubs have adopted as a way of clumping singing fans together (not just Eircom League) and leaving the boring ones behind! Unfortunetly doing this involves organistation and that's not necessarily the FAI's strong point (2 charges for French tickets on my credit card spring to mind!)

NOTE TO FANS: it is NOT a necessity to leave 25 minutes into the first half to get a burger and chips!! go to fu*king McDonalds if you want them, it's a football match not a walk through entertainment section on the way to your dinner!!!

regards
    Last edited by Karlos; 14/10/2004 at 3:24 PM.
    Foot.ie - NFL Fantasy Football Champion, 2006!

Was on the North Terrace, good craic amoung the EL fans. Just wondering what sections of the North are EL fans based ?? Just wondering cos where I was in N04 it was full of EL fans then down the front there where more EL fans wanting to stand followed by a couple of rows of people moaning telling people to sit down, got a bit heated as well until a few stewerts sorted had words

Quote Originally Posted by Rover 2 U
    I was one of the ones sitting (or standing actually) just under the school boy section, trying to get the crowd going in the South Terrace. Around us was great craic but we had to work damn hard to get the rest of the lads going.
    We were in the East for the first half,and could see yous singing down there so thought we'd head down and try give yiz a hand.Fortunately no one was checking tickets and there were 2 free seats beside the schoolboy.

Schoolboys do sing but no one takes their high pitch voices seriously and there a pack of wannabe scumbag @rseholes if you ask me.South is terrible,all second half the back section of the south was a chorus of 'will ye sit down for fuch sake'
    <insert witty remark>

Don't think that anything can really be done bout this.I've had east upper tickets by the north terrace now for the last three campaigns and last night was one of the best atmospheres that I've experienced,not that thats saying much.Maybe its to do with the older crowd ie.50+ that tend to sit there,me thinks that singing and the craic are the youngs lads game.Away games the excitement is there of being on the hols plus you're looking forward to it weeks in advance and the beer helps.

P.S. I've had the same lad sit behind me for 3 years who commentates the whole way through the game,nice!