Thread: Bray

Quote Originally Posted by Roo69 View Post
    As for the spit, it happened. I know what i saw, it was only ten yards away, twas as clear as day. Deans is a scumbag.
    Would have to say that Deans is a complete scummer. Has previous form for doing this. Dirtbag.
    Why are people who "need no introduction" always introduced?

1,104 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Roo69 View Post
    Sullivan is a good player alright but he left us, nothing to do with Bray not seeing anything in him, he left for fame and fortune when Sporting Fingal came knocking. He had a brilliant few seasons with our U21's and we offered him a contract for the following season but took the much better money on offer at the time, which i wouldn't blame him for! Still don't think any player on the pitch last night would start for any of the top 6/7 clubs in the Premier, possibly a few would be back up players as you say.

As for the spit, it happened. I know what i saw, it was only ten yards away, twas as clear as day. Deans is a scumbag.
    Davy himself feels he didn't get a fair crack of the whip in Bray judging from a few interviews he's done.

44 Posts
    has anyone heard the story with shaw ?
    ▒▓███ L █ T █ F █ C ███▓▒

861 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by L.T.F.C. View Post
    Is it just me or has Derek O'Brien really come into some sort of form lately? His holding of the ball up the pitch has been fantastic and his ball control has been very good too. I think he has really come into it at the right time of the season!
    I think we just have to accept he prefers to drop deep and come inside to cross, we all love wingers who want to play as high up as possible and attack their man every time but thats not his style, I think hes proved to be a decent impact sub.
    BetweenTheStripes.net - Home of Between the Stripes LOI podcast.

Quote Originally Posted by Roo69

Sullivan is a good player alright but he left us, nothing to do with Bray not seeing anything in him, he left for fame and fortune when Sporting Fingal came knocking. He had a brilliant few seasons with our U21's and we offered him a contract for the following season but took the much better money on offer at the time, which i wouldn't blame him for! Still don't think any player on the pitch last night would start for any of the top 6/7 clubs in the Premier, possibly a few would be back up players as you say.

The reason O'Sullivan left bray has zero to do with money or 'fame and fortune',he was offered €30 travel expences to move to fingal but the real reason he went was he was promised a fair crack at earning a place on the fingal first team, he never got this in bray no matter how he performed on their u21's,lesser players who came from bigger clubs were constantly picked ahead of him by eddie gormley. Seems like a big mistake by bray especially after last night!!

Thought we were dead and buried at half time,Bray seemed to be in 2nd gear knocking it around for fun!Think Bray thought they had it won starting the second half but all credit to the lads for the second half performance!Agree we really missed Rhys in the middle,did we not have any centre half on the bench?Rhys and Deans playing as the back two is possibly the weakest back two we've played all season!

Didn't see the spitting incident but wouldn't be suprised...don't agree that the criticism Deans gets is over the top, from the way he conducts himself on the pitch it annoys me that he has the captains armband and his huge ego is there for all to see!Having said that he has played fantastic in these play off games!

Not sure if i'd say O'Brien is coming good at the right stage of the season,he was very poor in the games leading up to the play offs and got a lot of stick for his performance down in Galway which he was well aware of.He seems to have copped on since and has played well coming on as an impact sub in the last two games.Not sure if i'd start him or Ebbe on Friday, Ebbe has been poor recently despite his goal last night.

On a seperate note there was a great buzz in Bray last night, felt like the old days!We've given ourselves every chance on Friday and i'd expect us to get our biggest crowd in years!
    If you can keep your head when all around you have lost theirs, then you probably haven't understood the seriousness of the situation.

Quote Originally Posted by Bosco View Post
    Having said that he has played fantastic in these play off games!
    That's what I was getting at - he was getting stick last night, even though (imo) he played alright. It's happened with a few players over the last couple of seasons - rightly or wrongly, people haven't liked a player, so they get stick regardless of whether they're playing well on a given day (or not).

I saw the spitting incident as well, absolute scum bag to spit at someone. I think i'd rather my legs broke then to be spat on and I hope he has his legs broke for doing it, deserves nothing less. Fair play to the Longford fans, they were alot better then the brays fans, but thats not hard at all, the majority of the town in bray doesnt even know the club exists and the club dont know how or what to do to get the town behind the team or even make the town aware of the club and the matches. Its a shame really, so dont be thinking your the only team to be better than our fans, happens nearly every home game unfortunately.

38 Posts
    Well done to Longford, thought they were terrific in the 2nd half, our lads just didn't come out for 2nd half, I thought Davy did have a point to prove as would Don O Neill (Sub) two players that should have been given a chance imo, unfortunately Mr Gormley didn't rate them. Longford will be full of confidence going in to Fri game on the back of the 2nd half display and would justify favourtism. Hopefully it's as exciting as mondays game.

49 Posts
    If O' Brien is starting to play well now is it just a coincidense that his contract is more than likely up on Friday night and also if he looks ok now why hasn't he so far
    That is why he and players like him drive me mad, have ability not bothered until it's put up to them.
    Ask yourselves this, did we miss him when he was injured? was it just a coincidense that the good results started after he was injured? I think not
    the young lads look to the older lads when they are in the **** for encouragement and to see a leader leading by example, the never say die attitude of most of De Town player spreads throughout the team thats why we are where we are, if you have guys giving half hearted effort that spread through a team as well
    Cousins know this thats why he doesn't let O' Brien play full games anymore, I believe O' Brien is starting to show a bit of form because he is trying to hang onto his place as a town player,
    I know lots of you think it's rediculous to blame one guy (and you are probably right but he doesn't help)on our bad form a few months ago but the results don't lie
    He stood around last night as well even if he was was loads better there is no excuse for a guy with his experience to play the way he does, Sorry for the long rant

Quote Originally Posted by Darklordsbane View Post
    Didn't know he spat in Bynre's face, how come you saw that and the linesman and ref didn't, if it's true I totally agree with you straight red, maybe fitzy could ask Rhys he seems to have an in there and Rhys was beside them when it allegedly happened
    Thought I saw Steven Kenny there I wonder who he was watching it was hardly a player from Bray as he could have watched them all season
    I'm guessing Bray and Dundalk both play at the same time.

were the rte cameras at the game last night lads? btw it was great Barry Ferguson at the game last night.. I hadnt seen him there in ages at a Longford town game..

49 Posts
    [QUOTE=Charlie Darwin;1718565]I'm guessing Bray and Dundalk both play at the same time.

I meant there is tv coverage plus they would play each other several time during the season not so with the first division

Would you scout a player based on RTE's horror coverage of the league? No thanks. If anything, Longford playing on Fridays and leading the league for half the season would have made them a much more sensible bet for a scouting mission than Bray this year.

1,104 Posts
    Kenny has apparently been quoted as saying he'd love to sign Davy O'Sullivan. There's been rumours of him being interested in Rhys Gorman too.

Gorman looks a touch slow to me but I've only seen him once outside of youth games. As far as I know Kenny never gave him a game at Rovers, but then again he didn't play anyone under the age of 25.

1,104 Posts
    He hasn't got great pace alright but he's a good footballer. Only 19 so he could develop further. Could be just talk anyway.

I think with a bit of conditioning he'd be a good Premier Division player. He reminds me a bit of Jordan Keegan in terms of his body shape and the way he looks to be doing less than he is, but certainly he could improve with the right guidance. Tony Cousins probably isn't the right person to ask about keeping yourself in shape.

205 Posts
    were the rte cameras at the game last night lads? btw it was great Barry Ferguson at the game last night.. I hadnt seen him there in ages at a Longford town game..
    Video here Marty: http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/irish...longford-town/
    Sporting F*ck All!

Quote Originally Posted by fitzpatrick10 View Post
    has anyone heard the story with shaw ?
    He's not dead, according to twitter anyway.

24. Thanks From: