Thank you. Trawling through all this bollicks is worthwhile when someone occasionally writes a post like that.Originally Posted by tiktok
if they want to watch the game, go and watch it on the telly.
We need a decent atmosphere in landsdowne road. Standing defintely improves it.
Thank you. Trawling through all this bollicks is worthwhile when someone occasionally writes a post like that.Originally Posted by tiktok
You can't spell failure without FAI
found the atmosphere much better last night. reckon we were all still in paris mode a bit!
still think there is too many self-conscious goons at the games! feel embarrassed to sing or something.
One other thing - all these sh*its moaning here seem to have posted the most times on this site!! all over 1,000 posts!!! .... get a life you boring old sh*ites , maybe yous should stand up a bit more often !! sittin on your arses at the computer!!
most people ive seen on here with 1000+ posts do stand up at games and also follow the team home and away for every game.Originally Posted by oconghc2
'It's not because I'm uncouth, it's because I'm Irish. The English language is a wall between you and me and f**k is my chisel.' - Tommy Tiernan
don't doubt it at all
just find it amazing that these lads with fair enthusiasm for the team, can look down at people for wanting to create better atmosphere at game!
thats all
Yer all a shower of maoning b@stards. First ye complain that there's no atmosphere at Lansdowne Road etc etc...yawn...yawn. Then after a night where we saw the best atmosphere in years, yer still complaining. The chants are too 'naff'? Embarrassed to sing them\too up yer own arses to take part in a Mexican wave? Next time out when we play Croatia, do us all a favour and stay the fcuk at home, or even better, pi$$ off and follow rugby instead.
I've been going to Lansdowne since the qualifiers for Italia 90, and as far as I can recall, 'Ole, Ole', 'Que Sera Sera', 'Come on you boys...', etc were all sung back then. Aren't these the 'good old days' that everyone is constantly referring to? If they were good enough back then, why aren't they good enough now? What do ye want, is it to sing 'Thiery Henry, you're havin a laugh' at every game? Few English football chants will take off over here for the simple reason that they are English chants.
And another thing, RE: this attitude towards the West Stand. I have tickets for both the West Stand and the North Terrace for most games. I've sat in both, and believe me, you're not all that you're cracked up to be in the North. In fact, there isn't much of a difference between the atmosphere in the stand & terrace. On wed night, all of the fans in the West joined in and sang their hearts out, so this attitude towards the West stand is another example of the bull$hit talk that goes on here.
tiktok & John83, agree with your views as its the only one with a bit of sense.
Well said. I've been going to Landsdowne since 1979 and as far as I remember the only two chants that were regularly sung then and for most of the 80's were "Come on you boys" and "Ireland (clap) Ireland (clap) etc". The atmosphere was often alot better then than it is now, although I'll admit that was partly due to the standing terraces. The atmopsphere on Wednesday was the best I've heard in a long time at Landsdowne. Maybe it was partly due to the fact that there were many people in Paris who had never been to an away game before and they realised what the atmosphere can be like if you get off your arse and sing during the game. The important thing is to make yourself heard and what you sing doesn't matter a **** once it's in support of the team and gets the crowd going.Originally Posted by 4tothefloor
My tickets are for the East Upper...and I've continually had the same problem , albeit with a ceretain bunch of Bohs fans who always seem to get the same tickets as me.Originally Posted by one_bounce
fair enuf..id expect the people to sit in the stands
Its what u get when the prawn sandwhich brigade are out i force with their free tickets
j'accuse!
Proper order. Fine response one bounce . Agree completely.Originally Posted by one_bounce
Here they come! It’s the charge of the “Thanks” Brigade!
Wow, just looking at this thread all the way from the start.
I got a roasting the other day for suggesting we avoid English chants like "yer 'aving a larf" and yet people are knocking Come on You Boys in Green and Stand Up....
How?
Come on You Boys in Green has been the one constant since my first game at Lansdowne in the late-70s. It's our song and always will be.
Ole Ole I'm not so keen on but if it helps re-create the feel good vibe from 1989 then great, long may it last.
Que Sera Sera is corny but great for the same reason - it recaptures the mood of 1988.
There's a certain innocence to a lot of our songs that disassociates ourselves from the English with their far right rants of "English 'till I die" and all their World War 2 theme songs rubbish.
The lack of menace in our songs (and the general demeanour of our support) is something to be commended (Ole, Que Sera, Boys in Green, Stand Up, Walk Alone, The Fields, Ireland, Ireland etc.).
I bloody hate the wave though!
we really need some new songs/chants .![]()
How about "HEY BABY" ...? that really seems to get people going here...![]()
On the way into the stadium, an elderly San Marino Steward waved us in and said "Tonight, may the best team win"
And they nearly did.
What we need, as a group of dedicated fans, is an official Irish supporters club. The people who are moaning here should get together with the EL fans and form a supporters club. The club should then meet and discuss strategies. Once you're organised, you can then approach Fran Rooney for the FAI's approval and take things a step further from there. I would gladly contribute\put myself forward to be on any founding committee.
A supporters club could work in tandem with Rooney regarding the atmosphere at Lansdowne. For instance, positioning of supporters, ticketing, printing new song sheets etc. Considering that we are going to have a new stadium in 4 years time, all these things are going to be important, and thats where having an official supporters club is important.
So who's going to practise what they preach?
Although I am not a member, I think there is an official supporters club, but they do not have a high profile
What's the "Fans' Section" all about on the new FAI website? Is this a platform to make an opinion?
I think most of our songs are fine. I'd like to hear a few more player specific songs (All You Need is Duff; Kilbane, It's Just Like Watching Zidane or something like that) so when a player does something of note the crowd spontaneously reacts, like at a club game, or like they do with "Keano".
I think the real key about atmosphere at games is once there's something to play for the crowd gets more involved.
The whole of the last campaign had a down tone because of McCarthy & Keane, and the crap start we got. Friendlies are never that atmospheric. Now we're in contention and everyone's excited and nervous the atmosphere has improved.
Good. That's what we want, after all.Originally Posted by Stuttgart88
PP
Semper in faecibus sole profundum variat
Sure didn't I try this last year,even had a bit in the Herald but no-one could get tickets for the Brazil game and it just faded after that..Originally Posted by 4tothefloor
<insert witty remark>
I cannot believe some of you lot!
Thank you to those who've done our fans proud and stood up () for those trying to make a bit of atmosphere!
Mexican wave goes round-JOIN IN! Ok fair play if you've got ya kid on your lap, you've got abad back, you're holding a fair few drinks but "it's to early in the game", "it was started by the other people", "I paid for a seat"-sorry but what a total load of CRA!P!!!
Join in, enjoy the game, join in with the chants, the songs, the waves, whatever-it'll sure as anything make the players feel better, give the young kids in the crowd a laugh (loved that wee girl sitting on her daddies shoulders singing Fields on tv)!
2 years ago was at a game (no teams mentioned but some of you will know what i'm on about) and the opposition had been dead quite for the whole game while we had sung our hearts outevery second! Well they finally got a chant going (in fiarness it was their second of the game-first one lasted bout 30 seconds) so what did we do? Joined in! Why? BEcause it was fun, raised a great atmosphere, was friendly and after a minute of it we went back to singing our songs just as loudly!!!
some of your posts can be real old whinges-cheer on YOUR COUNTRY and get a bit of atmosphere going-make Lansdowne games something we can all be proud of!![]()
Long live the Pope! Free Burma (NLD/SNLD), Free Tibet (Burma Campaign/Free Tibet Campaign Alliance), Free the Rossport 5! (ACCOMPLISHED 30/09/05)
BOYCOTT TOTAL OIL-Please Read!