Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: Mexican Wave

250 Posts
    who was ringing that bell in the crowd by the way ??.
    Last edited by the 12 th man; 14/10/2004 at 2:30 PM.

jesus christ.. what a bunch of moany f*cks in here... lansdowne can be the coldest most boring place imaginable so people get stuck in and sing silly songs to get a bit of atmosphere going ...so you brand them idiots
    wake up you f*cking ****s..this is exactly why the fai give tickets to the el clubs in the north terrace..there was no atmosphere..none of what ye just described

tell you what.. next game we'll all sit down obediently.. clap when its pertinent (eg goal scored/end of match) and enjoy the magnificent surroundings that is lansdowne road and see how enjoyable the EXPERIENCE is

my favourite moment last night was when the couple of moany f*cks in the north terrace decided the entire terrace standing were in their line of sight (because they were sitting) so the stewards had to ask everyone to sit down..after about 30 secs the 'stand up for the boys in green chant' sorted that out..heh heh

That whole "sit down, sit down" thing really pi**es me off, fair enough if there are kids behind you that can't see, no problem, but when its just four or five miserable sods who don't want to join in....... if you want to sit down, then go home and watch the game on rte, don't ruin things on the people trying to enjoy the atmosphere and have a bit of craic!

The Mexican Wave would have been a bit early in the game had it been started by Irish fans, but it was started by the Faroe's fans who came to Dublin to enjoy themselves so I decided it would have been rude not to join in.

As for the standing I hate sitting down at a football game as much as anyone else so I stand at most games in Landsdown but I do have sympathy for small kids who can't see and for people not a young as me who wouldn't like to stand for 90 min's. I don't think that there is any easy solution to that problem.

Quote Originally Posted by aidz1
    agree with doge
    mexican wave ????

ppl more interested in looking around the stands than the content on the pitch...and this at 20mins play!!!
    ffs ..leave that to for the westlife gigs lads..
    you go to live football twice a year, dont you?

it is possible to sing and watch a game, you know. takes a bit of practice i suppose.

Quote Originally Posted by Seamuslawless
    That whole "sit down, sit down" thing really pi**es me off, fair enough if there are kids behind you that can't see, no problem, but when its just four or five miserable sods who don't want to join in....... if you want to sit down, then go home and watch the game on rte, don't ruin things on the people trying to enjoy the atmosphere and have a bit of craic!
    Some people pay for a seat, so they can sit and watch the game in comfort. I understand the odd jump up and down, especially if theres a goal scored, but mindless morons standing up when they have paid to sit down just aggravates those who want to take advantage of their seat......If you want to stand up then go to a pub or go home and watch the game on telly. Stop spoiling it for the kids and the majority of the paying public who want to get their moneys worth.

Quote Originally Posted by joeSoap
    If you want to stand up then go to a pub or go home and watch the game on telly.
    or go to a terrace?

people pay to enjoy a match, not to sit down. if i wanted to sit down in silence and clap every now and again, thats when i'd watch the game at home.

It's the old "I've paid 30 quid for me seat and I'm going to get value for money out of it" mentality!

sadly, and mostly because of the hooligan antics of our neighbours across the sea at Hillsborough and Hysel, we all have to sit down watching football matches
    But thats life or so they say. I always go to the terrace in Lansdowne for the rugby internationals by choice cos its so much better, but I have to say, if I pay top dollar for a seat expecting a certain view of a game, and some tosser keeps standing in front of me just cos he wants to, then thats wrong, and he should be made sit, or ejected from the ground.

some tosser keeps standing in front of me just cos he wants to,
    What if the person standing isn't a tosser?

sadly, and mostly because of the hooligan antics of our neighbours across the sea at Hillsborough and Hysel, we all have to sit down watching football matches.
    Eh, The Hillsborough Disaster was nothing to do with hooligans in fairness.

If a person in front of you wants to support their team in any way they see fit, they are also entitled to do so. Football is a passionate game. It stirs up passionate emotions and reactions. You've obviously more "top dollar" than emotion if you can't appreciate that.

There is a new culture forming in this country where we are taking behaviours and attitudes to a new level. Its unfashionable to go against the grain and speak out. The North terrace has the majority of vocal supporters so its easier to join in and make some noise.

Only takes a few Joe Soaps to silence a whole stand though.

This mentality needs to be stamped out before the athmosphere is "ejected from the ground"
    Last edited by blobbyblob; 14/10/2004 at 3:33 PM.
    Who is this guy, Trapper Tony?

Some people pay for a seat, so they can sit and watch the game in comfort. I understand the odd jump up and down, especially if theres a goal scored, but mindless morons standing up when they have paid to sit down just aggravates those who want to take advantage of their seat......If you want to stand up then go to a pub or go home and watch the game on telly. Stop spoiling it for the kids and the majority of the paying public who want to get their moneys worth.
    simple solution... get yourself a seat in the stands for the next match..nobody will stand in front of you then.. anybody who buys a ticket for the terrace and expects everyone to sit down, not contribute to the atmosphere and clap politely is a disillusioned fool

I was sitting in the north stand last night – took every opportunity to stand and cheer on the lads and made sure I was the last to sit as everyone around me returned to their seats… Early in the second half, I was told directly to sit down because ‘the young fella can’t see the game’ and did so for the benefit of said boy… a few minutes later, same fella told everyone to stay sitting down when someone replied that maybe he (the father) should stand up. I know it’s unfair to be brought to the match by your father and to then not see the game but if the atmosphere is as dead as a rural wake then it won’t be much fun for anyone involved… it’s not the cinema you’re at!!!

Quote Originally Posted by ShedEnd.com
    you go to live football twice a year, dont you?

it is possible to sing and watch a game, you know. takes a bit of practice i suppose.
    ye whatever
    although, i suppose i do need all the pratice in singing and watching a game at the same time .....
    i am a regular victim at century homes, gortakeegan!!!

im just trying to state the fact that the mexican wave should have no part of a footie game...let it be buried with the year 1986
    the mexican wave crew seem to be more intersted in lookking around the stadium pointing out folk than watchin/singin/chanting in the game..

ban the mexican wave......too many ppl dont use deodrant

i was in the north terrace too and was rather surprised at how much of above stuff was happening. As soon as we came in to our seats the 2 or 3 lads behind us started sighing and muttering complaints when we stayed standing. As a matter of fact, the whole section we were in was standing but they seemed more concerned with being able to sit back and have an aul' nap for themselves
    "I don’t want to tempt fate, but Thierry Henry is not having one of his best nights." - RTE co-commentator Jim Beglin, minutes before TH struck the stunning winner.

but I have to say, if I pay top dollar for a seat expecting a certain view of a game, and some tosser keeps standing in front of me just cos he wants to, then thats wrong, and he should be made sit, or ejected from the ground.
    If you wanna pay top dollar pay it and sit in the west stand with all the other fun people like yourself. Its an entertainment industry not sunday mass. Maybe like Paris have a section for all kids to go with there parents so they can all sit down and enjoy there game if the dont want people standing. But I deffo think both south and north terraces should be encouraged to stand as this increases the atmosphere with everyone standing

Topical question here - are there any plans to have terraces in the new Lansdowne Road? Since the IRFU don't have FIFA rules to be guided by and I heard a year or two ago that 'safe' terraces have been invented which meet safety regulations (even FIFA regulations?), wouldn't it be possible?

well if they decide to co-fund then surley the FAI will be looking for FIFA conformity ... and probably full seating at that
    "I don’t want to tempt fate, but Thierry Henry is not having one of his best nights." - RTE co-commentator Jim Beglin, minutes before TH struck the stunning winner.

The wave looked brilliant on tele and was probably a laugh at the game for most ppl who have a sense of humour anyway.

It's possible to do mexican waves,sit down on terraces,sing and shout your head off or do any fcukin thing you want and still be able to watch a live game.It's all part of the enjoyment of it,for me anyway.

I hate watching football sitting down,its too much like watching it at home.I do have symphaty for young fellas who cant see but I admit to getting very frustrated when people tell me to sit down.I cant understand people going to a game just to watch it.A football game is not a show,its an experience,you have to take part yourself.For example,the cup final last year as stand up if you're longford town started i was told to sit down.I dont think people should go to a cup final just to watch it.In the premiership and other leagues in europe you see most of the stadium standing for the 90 mins.I think anymore the north and south terrace should be standing.Its called a terrace,just cause there is seats,does not mean you have to use them.I know this will sound bad but if the kids havnt a perfect view tough,they'll still be able to see most of the match.The kids going to rugger games have to put up with it.If everyone stands anymore in the north and south,finally people will expect to have to stand when they go to games
    If you can keep your head when all around you have lost theirs, then you probably haven't understood the seriousness of the situation.

Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast