Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Andy Reid is overweight and over-rated.

when I see him on the pitch he doesnt look like he is as fast as the other players and his face looks chubby. I agree with the idea that footballers should be lean. If he makes it to the priemership I have no doubt that he will loose the weight one way or another.

200 Posts

Talking

Well he's not thin I wouldnt exactly call him fat, for instance is he say bulkier than Shay Given, Paddy Kenny or even the Doc. I mean if anything the lad's slight compared to other footballers like Kevin Pressman or Mickey Quinn... those two were like Slim Fast models: before and waaaaay before.

Forget The Weight Problem Is A Right Peg He Needs..

He should spend every waking moment of training using his right foot !!!!

I can think of five times in the last two matches where he has run around the ball in order to get the shot away with his left foot instead of using his right

Quote Originally Posted by thejollyrodger
    when I see him on the pitch he doesnt look like he is as fast as the other players and his face looks chubby. I agree with the idea that footballers should be lean. If he makes it to the priemership I have no doubt that he will loose the weight one way or another.
    There you go again, unless you have evidence that Reid is overweight stop talking like you know he is.

http://members.boards.ie/eirebhoy/BeattieReid.jpg

Quote Originally Posted by eirebhoy
    There you go again, unless you have evidence that Reid is overweight stop talking like you know he is.
    Forest fans think he's overweight - viz current chant:
    "hes fat hes round hes leavin city ground andy reid andy reid".
    Together with all our hearts.

Quote Originally Posted by fergalr
    Forest fans think he's overweight - viz current chant:
    "hes fat hes round hes leavin city ground andy reid andy reid".
    9/10 people also think Richie Dunne is overweight.

I think I could do with losing a stone maybe, and getting into the premiership too,

2,796 Posts
    Beg to differ with you Eirebhoy.

When Reid toook off his shirt after the Cyprus game you could see he was carrying weight and out of condition. I'm not saying he's got a beer belly or anything but his conditioning is less than you'd expect from a professional athlete.

Last time I watched Arsenal up close you could see just how athletic & lean they were. Andy Reid is not in this type of condition.

It's a far cry from his early days. I thought he'd always be too small to make it.

I agree with you about Dunne though. I think he's in great nick now he's got his act together.

812 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by eirebhoy
    9/10 people also think Richie Dunne is overweight.
    Richie Dunne was nearly 17 stone. The man's 6', maybe 6' 2". Even allowing for a lot of muscle weight, he shouldn't be over 13 stone. Keegan made him lose a lot of that, but I doubt the man will ever model for a diet food company.
    You can't spell failure without FAI

When Reid toook off his shirt after the Cyprus game you could see he was carrying weight and out of condition. I'm not saying he's got a beer belly or anything but his conditioning is less than you'd expect from a professional athlete.
    Exactly. I couldnt agree more.

International Prospect tricky_colour's Avatar
    621 Posts
    Andy Reid got a goal for Forest tonight, sounded like a good
    strike, with little backlift (used his weight ).
    He also gave away a penalty for a last man challange in the
    area, which resulted in him being send off.
    He got a good round of aplause as he went off though.

To be honest lads, if you think he's bad now - have a look at this snapshot from a few seasons back.

http://www.alternativeforest.co.uk/g...p?image_id=263

Ade

Scored a screamer last night and then got sent off. Heard his Dad is the spitting image of him, short and chubby.

Quote Originally Posted by John83
    Richie Dunne was nearly 17 stone. The man's 6', maybe 6' 2". Even allowing for a lot of muscle weight, he shouldn't be over 13 stone. Keegan made him lose a lot of that, but I doubt the man will ever model for a diet food company.

Quote Originally Posted by Adrianovic
    To be honest lads, if you think he's bad now - have a look at this snapshot from a few seasons back.

http://www.alternativeforest.co.uk/g...p?image_id=263

Ade
    HAHA thats class.

i was watching the game last night & for his third game in a week he was excellent while he was on. he looks totally a class apart in that league.
    he must have created 5 or 6 good chances for himself & others.
    his goal was a screamer, on the left wing cut inside to the edge of the box & hit with the outside of his left foot & curled into the top left hand corner.
    the sending off was unlucky but fair play to him, he was chasing back into his own box & slid into the attacker.

Agreed he has not played well in a major game for Ireland and has thrown his bottle out of the pram at Forrest...The future no longer looks so bright for Andy

Hes hardly played many games for Ireland. Why do people expect immediate results? You cant just elevate a player to International status and expect them to feel at home. He was in the wilderness at Forest until a coulpe of years ago, him and Foy, the improvement he has made in this time is astonishing and he can only get better.

He needs to move to a club in the premiership in January. a club that wont go down !! If he does that we can really see what he is made of and maybe the Mr Blobby slags will stop

Quote Originally Posted by onenilgameover
    Agreed he has not played well in a major game for Ireland
    He has not played well in 1 game, Switzerland. Care to name any other?

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast