Page 17 of 78 FirstFirst ... 715161718192767 ... LastLast

Thread: (Very early) Transfer gossip/squad retention

297 Posts
    Ken Oman,Lee Lynch,Connor McCormack signed for the saints.

399 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by adamd164 View Post
    I know it's speaking the obvious, but Trevor Croly must be absolutely mental to say that he won't give Kilduff a chance this season. Is it that he's just holding a grudge
    I think it's the other way around. I heard Kilduff won't play under Croly.
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), only Irish club to win a game / points in Europa League Group Stage (2016).

Isn't it just a case that Kilduffs chances were limited last year with Rovers and now he wants a move rather than risk another few months on the bench?

Kalen Spillane and Paul O'Conor have been linked with Sligo.

Quote Originally Posted by poster View Post
    Spillane's a talented young fella, and we had high hopes for him, but the rumours are that his attitude is a problem. If a manager could sort that out though he has a big future.

Quote Originally Posted by poster View Post
    O'Conor would be a big downgrade from Lee Lynch.

151 Posts
    He'll get his attitude sorted out pretty sharp if he comes to The Showgrounds. Ask Mark Quigley.

555 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by avvenalaf View Post
    He'll get his attitude sorted out pretty sharp if he comes to The Showgrounds. Ask Mark Quigley.
    There was nothing wrong with Quigley's attitude in Oriel Park before going to Sligo, and he played his best football then too.

Quote Originally Posted by White Horse View Post
    There was nothing wrong with Quigley's attitude in Oriel Park before going to Sligo, and he played his best football then too.
    Be quiet and listen to your betters. Nobody could possibly be better at Dundalk than they are at glorious Sligo. These lads came third in the league, for god's sake. Dundalk can't compete with that.

151 Posts
    Well actually, they won the league with Quigley. And Dundalk won, exactly what, with him?. Anyway, Paul O'Connor and Raf Cretero both signed today.

Oops - Charlie's making funny jokes about teams' league positions.

I was standing up for Dundalk actually. God knows why, they seem to think they have a rivalry with us for some reason.

I can't claim any expertise on the loves or hates of Dundalk fans - there's one or two on here who miss few opportunities to launch a bit of bile in our direction and I've no idea what gets them so exercised about us. Most Rovers fans I've heard express an opinion have always had a lot of time for Dundalk and would have been happy to see them win the league.

22 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Fivesilver View Post
    I can't claim any expertise on the loves or hates of Dundalk fans - there's one or two on here who miss few opportunities to launch a bit of bile in our direction and I've no idea what gets them so exercised about us. Most Rovers fans I've heard express an opinion have always had a lot of time for Dundalk and would have been happy to see them win the league.
    That was my thinking on yourselves and us in 2009..

Getting nostalgic, eh?

186 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Acer View Post
    O'Conor would be a big downgrade from Lee Lynch.
    We'll have to see on that one. Rovers fans had high hopes for Lynch. This season he started well but hasn't pushed on what so ever. He may be a talented player but can frustrate the hell out of ya ... he ended up running round in circles for a lot of games and hardly made a challenge all season.
    Manager: Fergal, have you your boots with ya?
    Fergal: Ya, I have them here.
    Manager: Ah good stuff, well give them to this man so, he forgot his!

Yeah I was a big fan of Lee Lynch in 2012 season and he started well this year. But he definitely lost form in the last two thirds of the season and the manager then seemed to lose patience with him and did not give him as much game time. I think his loss of form coincided with his lay up with a hamstring injury picked up against Limerick in May. I would have liked to have given him a chance again next season but the manager seems to have an idea of what he wants for the forthcoming season so I hope he gets it right. Hard to say how Lee will go from here but he is still very young and has still time to prove himself .... a little like John Russell.

Quote Originally Posted by redobit View Post
    We'll have to see on that one. Rovers fans had high hopes for Lynch. This season he started well but hasn't pushed on what so ever. He may be a talented player but can frustrate the hell out of ya ... he ended up running round in circles for a lot of games and hardly made a challenge all season.
    Ye could be right. I'm basing my opinion on Lee on the time he played for us (voted our player of the year) and the few games against us since then. The time he was with us, I felt there was no doubt that he was a step above the LOI. It will be interesting to see how he gets on at Pats.

My opinion on O'Conor is based on the 2013 season and for me he's not good enough for a team that wants to win the league. He won't tackle, has an awful pass completion rate and was a passenger for the majority of games. He may nick the odd goal now and then though.

246 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Rover'n'out View Post
    .... a little like John Russell.
    Sounds alright to me so Hopefully we can keep Russell and he doesn't bugger off to Tallaght like Conor Kenna. Good replacement for Kenna (Not sure Oman is that player) and we'll be laughing. Pity about Forrestor, but Kavanagh did well when he came back.
    Out for a spell, got neglected, lay on the bench unselected.

Quote Originally Posted by TonyD View Post
    Sounds alright to me so Hopefully we can keep Russell and he doesn't bugger off to Tallaght like Conor Kenna. Good replacement for Kenna (Not sure Oman is that player) and we'll be laughing. Pity about Forrestor, but Kavanagh did well when he came back.
    If Oman stays fit he'll be terrific for you. He was monumental the season we got to the Europa.

Page 17 of 78 FirstFirst ... 715161718192767 ... LastLast