Page 42 of 78 FirstFirst ... 32404142434452 ... LastLast

Thread: (Very early) Transfer gossip/squad retention

1,104 Posts
    As far as I'm aware he's being criticised for being pretty much a waste of space in all but one game he played for the club not because of the fact that he's moved around a lot. I wouldn't say anything about him as a person because I don't know anything about the fella.

415 Posts
    The reason we have a dislike for him is that he was pure useless for us. For some reason he arrived with a lot of people saying he was a great player.

123 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Nah Nah Nah Nah View Post
    The reason we have a dislike for him is that he was pure useless for us. For some reason he arrived with a lot of people saying he was a great player.
    Cringe.

So you dislike any player that doesn't do well for you? You must dislike a lot of players so..... I could understand if a player flipped off fans or something, but disliking a player cause they didn't play well for you is a bit odd IMO. Anytime we played in the Showgrounds he got jeered and abuse. Still bemuses me.
    roddy collins you're a flanker you're a flanker!

220 Posts
    The reason O'Brien is no loss to us is simple- He was absolutely useless bar half a game he played for us. A waste of space, better off rid of him.

205 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Olander View Post
    Longford fans calling O'Brien a waster is hilarious . You train in Dublin for feck sake.... I highly doubt Cousins even demanded he trained with your squad. I watched your team in the playoff, it was populated by journeymen so I'm not really sure why you're singling out O'Brien. It doesn't look like Cousins will be changing that trend anytime soon either adding players like Peter Hynes (has more clubs than Tiger Woods) and Pat Flynn. If O'Brien signs for Galway FC he will certainly do a job, he lives locally and is well liked in Galway. He probably has another year in him at First Division level.

Also, asking Sligo fans about O'Brien is a bit of a pointless thing to do. They have a very strange dislike for him for some reason. It's a bit cringeworthy, to be honest.
    A team of journeymen? With lads like O'Sullivan, Haverty, Gorman and Connolly what else could you call us.
    Sporting F*ck All!

420 Posts
    Almost the entire LOI are journeymen ffs.

Quote Originally Posted by SkStu View Post
    Thank God O'Brien - from the same part of the world as Goodluck Johnathan?
    O'Brien's from Kerry, Jonathan's from Nigeria... neither a hurling stronghold.

1,104 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bluewhitearmy View Post
    Almost the entire LOI are journeymen ffs.
    Exactly, the notion that a First Division player especially could come in for stick solely for having played at a few clubs is nonsense. They'll get stick if fans aren't happy with what they do for their club. The fans may be right or wrong but that's all they'll care about.

49 Posts
    Seasons greetings to all
    De town fans know my feelings on O'Brien, I must admit he did play well in the play-off's, that makes it all the more annoying, begs the question where was he for the rest of the half season that player signed up for

O'Brien never had to train once for Longford, as he did all his training with Mervue. How is a player suppose to play well with a team when he only meets up with them a couple of hours before kick off?

863 Posts
    Longford fans calling O'Brien a waster is hilarious . You train in Dublin for feck sake.... I highly doubt Cousins even demanded he trained with your squad. I watched your team in the playoff, it was populated by journeymen so I'm not really sure why you're singling out O'Brien. It doesn't look like Cousins will be changing that trend anytime soon either adding players like Peter Hynes (has more clubs than Tiger Woods) and Pat Flynn. If O'Brien signs for Galway FC he will certainly do a job, he lives locally and is well liked in Galway. He probably has another year in him at First Division level.

Also, asking Sligo fans about O'Brien is a bit of a pointless thing to do. They have a very strange dislike for him for some reason. It's a bit cringeworthy, to be honest.
    That's no excuse for not tracking back when you lose the ball, not playing where your told and berating the younger players around him for his mistakes the man is nothing but a big mouth ego

623 Posts
    Ah lads, ye don't need to justify how crap someone is, they're just trying to defend him for fear he's useless for Galway too.

Plenty of lads in the 1st division with ability but the wrong attitude. Maybe he'll be good for Galway, but time isn't exactly on his side anymore, personally won't be fearing him doing any damage to us when we play, so good luck to them.

19. Thanks From:

415 Posts
    Cringe.

So you dislike any player that doesn't do well for you? You must dislike a lot of players so..... I could understand if a player flipped off fans or something, but disliking a player cause they didn't play well for you is a bit odd IMO. Anytime we played in the Showgrounds he got jeered and abuse. Still bemuses me.
    Ah bless him. Did he get a bit of abuse? If he tried a bit when he was with us he'd have been appreciated.

As an aside I don't think he is that hated either. Gary McCabe on the other hand......
    Last edited by Nah Nah Nah Nah; 30/12/2013 at 1:40 PM.

21. Thanks From:

what was he like in general with ye poster and how long was he with ye? wasnt he part of that sligo team that knocked out shels ten yrs ago in fai cup?
    No, it was the following season he signed. Think he only stayed the one season.

O'Brien was a one trick pony. Ran into trouble, did a step over, pulled the ball back and gave it to the full back behind him to deal with. He was extremely lazy, which was the main reason why he was so disliked.

He reacted to our fans one night in Terryland, a few years later. Think it was the season after Galway's DVD player got them up. Can't blame him for flipping I suppose, considering the stick he got.

Could hit a dead ball though.
    Last edited by poster; 30/12/2013 at 1:49 PM.

23. Thanks From:

Quote Originally Posted by Acornvilla View Post
    Ah lads, ye don't need to justify how crap someone is, they're just trying to defend him for fear he's useless for Galway too.

Plenty of lads in the 1st division with ability but the wrong attitude. Maybe he'll be good for Galway, but time isn't exactly on his side anymore, personally won't be fearing him doing any damage to us when we play, so good luck to them.
    ha, O'Brien is probably the most fustrating player you could ever watch and we should know that more so than anyone else. We are just happy to have a team again.

25. Thanks From:

Oh we are Sly-go, Hay-ters.

Quote Originally Posted by poster View Post
    Oh we are Shly-go, Hay-ters.
    fixed that for ya !

28. Thanks From:

84 Posts
    Poor man hard enough to make a living in the game in Ireland . And fair play to o Brien for doing so . I played ball with him many years ago and all he every wanted to be was a footballer . And his done that so lay off the guy.

30. Thanks From:

It's a bit cringeworthy, to be honest.
    THIS!!!!!!!

Cumann Peile Gaillimh Aontaithe

we are just one of those teams that you see now and then
    we often score 6 but we seldom score 10
    we beat em at home and we beat them away
    we'll kill sligo *******s that get in our way
    we are the pride of all connacht, the stars of the west
    dont worry bout sligo cos galway are best
    and we are United without any doubt
    and when we arrive you'll be hearing us shout

GUFC Ole, Ole, Ole
    I have scattered my dreams underneath your feet, tread carefully, cos it's my dreams you walk on.

Quote Originally Posted by Terry View Post
    fixed that for ya !
    If only we had the refined accents and sophisticated diction of our neighbours who are going to have another crack at surviving in Division One, we might be able to put together a DVD that would enable us to challenge for trophies.

Honestly lads, save it for when you're actually scheduled to play us a couple of times a year.

Page 42 of 78 FirstFirst ... 32404142434452 ... LastLast