Thread: Ryan bid rejected

Ryan bid rejected

Apparently City made a bid of six grand for Bobby Ryan of Galway. Its been rejected on the grounds of the fact that Galway recieved a higher bid from elsewhere, the club wont disclose who.
    Now City, in their wisdom, are waiting for galway to contact them as City wont increase their bid.

Hmmm, why would Galway contact us if they got a higher bid? And even if they are bluffing, why would they leave their 'star' player go for such a small fee?

I dunno. Hope the new guy works out for us though.
    If at first you don't succeed, redefine success.

Re: Ryan bid rejected

Originally posted by GWA
    Hmmm, why would Galway contact us if they got a higher bid?
    So you'll pay more, I presume.

Same old City

sounds like the billy woods saga all over again...city put in ludicrously small bid then wait for other club to back down and get back to them....

SACK THE BOARD

I can see whats going to happen
    City will hope to wait till the end of the season when Ryan is out of contract and get him for free, meanwhile the $heliban will move in offer Galway a fair price for Ryan and end up getting him.

Same old city

its happened b4 and with this board and management it no doubt will happen again

Couldn't agree more CityRant It has happened before and will happen again
    Cobh Ramblers have mastered the art of consistency.That is the art of being constantly rubbish

ryan is exactly the player we need. any reasonable price should be paid for him! get your wallets out lads!

couldn't we just have bought ryan for £4000 and included herrick in the deal to get a total of ryan for basically £7000
    Cobh Ramblers have mastered the art of consistency.That is the art of being constantly rubbish

Dont be daft GM, as that would have been a good thing to do, common sense maybe, and when have you ever seen CCFC show some modicum of common sense (apart from DM 'ridding' us of Hartigol as his first act).

and then liam "doesn't know what he's doing!" murphy goes and signs the clown back when he gets the job.

although fair play to murphy he did try to get a good thing going kelvin out and ryan and the new fella from ucc (i think) in. however most teams in the premier are not willing to do a "city" and sell good players for nothing(herrick for£3000).

Originally posted by Gunthers Mask

although fair play to murphy he did try to get a good thing going kelvin out
    No. What about strength in depth. If we get a few injuries, suspensions etc. we are screwed.

why is kelvin gettin all this abuse. he's no rivaldo, but he's city thru and thru and he's a bloody good player to have in the squad. KEEP HIM!!!!

Thumbs down kelvin is a big loss

Exactely Kelvin isn't the most creative of players but you'll rarely see him give less than 100% & he is the players to get stuck in when needed most in the big games. Oh yeah he also takes a superb penalty & ain't too bad at corners either.

This Ryan guy seems like a decent squad player but dunno about fist 11.

Re: kelvin is a big loss

Originally posted by pete
    This Ryan guy seems like a decent squad player but dunno about fist 11.
    he'd be a good squad player IF we had any other right winger! after gunthers purging, we'd have to put him in the team.

For some reason, Cork reneged on this agreement
    an interesting read

****s sake. ive said for ages we should sign him, hes an excellent player.
    same old city, same old sh*t.

Question

well judging by that posting on the EL website, the deal was alreadt done , a fee agreed and everything......untill city pulled out. What is going on at this club? one of the most talented players in the league was available for a pitance and we didnt take up the offer? i dont think we know anywhere near the full story of whats going on behind the scenes at the Cross.......

Talking

The vetch is fine! belive it or not i have found a club with more problems than us
    heading down now to the X!

Stuart Roberts was the hero.....sold to Wycombe for a pittance by the disgrace of a board....sound farmilliar?

well i need something to fill the gap left by MY city.....i have a bit of a soft spot alright went to most games this season. but i'm not gutted if they loose like i am when CCFC does so no divided loyalties scotty!!! c'mon and we go to the pub i'm gaspin!

Ryan gone....

well looks like we have lost out again......

eircom League Online: latest news

It has been reported today that Bobby Ryan is set to sign for Bohemians for a fee of almost €9,000.
    The unhappy Galway United winger was very close to signing for Cork City last month but the Leesiders would not agree to pay Galway the modest sum they demanded of £7,000.

Ryan, 22, is under contract at Terryland Park until the end of the season and the cash-strapped club are hopeful of selling him now, even if it means they will have to settle for a transfer fee that grossly insults his talent.

The former Limerick player has stopped training with United in a clear sign of his disillusionment at Terryland Park. He signed for the club in the summer of 2000 and has been their best player this season.

He expressed an interest in signing for Bohs last week because of their professional set-up and facilities and it looks he will soon get his wish. The Dubliners' boss Stephen Kenny is one of the player's many admirers.