Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast

Thread: Crowd trouble in Paris

[QUOTE=Beavis]Wallis,you speak as if your girlfriend has been scarred for life over being soaked by a pint.How many times has this happened in a night club.Some @rse throws a pint off an upper floor,your wet,briefly p!ssed off, but you get on with it.FFS she enjoyed the weekend experience,can't you just accept that there was an unfortunate incident and forget about it.Nobody was phyically injured.

Beavis - we werent in a nightclub we were at a football match ! You write as if I should I accept having a pint chucked over us as part of going to a match ? I wish that I had your obvious tolerance.

I didnt say my girlfriend was scarred for life , I was trying to point out that the actions of one moron is enough to annoy a lot of people. There were at least 3 or 4 people on here who saw the incident and wrote about it long before I came on and said it happened to my girlfriend. It p'sses me off that someone thinks its funny to chuck a pint in the first place and even more so that they couldnt apologise. You talk as if its just something that I accept without protest - i dont see it that way.

If you took your dad / mum to a game and it happened to them I wonder if you would be so blaise about it.

Anyway, its over with.

Quote Originally Posted by Cowboy
    well it seems that some EL fans at the game were wearing burberry, stone island etc.
    Eh and Sherlock your point is ??

Quote Originally Posted by davros
    As for the good Mrs.PP,sorry she had to hear some of those songs.....however,history in all its dubious forms,is likely to cause offence ....do admit to having sung,mind
    You've met the woman a few times now Dav and you know what she will and won't tolerate in that regard. I don't think that all the songs **** her off, just the ones that either glorify combat and the armed struggle or are virulently anti-English in tone. Which, I guess, accounts for most of the rebel songs.

As it happens, I'm still wondering how I managed to get away with singing "Joe MacDonnell" at the top of my voice in the Princess Vic the day of the Scottish Cup Final with herself sat next to me. Maybe she was drunk and didn't notice...

PP
    Semper in faecibus sole profundum variat

Quote Originally Posted by Plastic Paddy
    As it happens, I'm still wondering how I managed to get away with singing "Joe MacDonnell" at the top of my voice in the Princess Vic the day of the Scottish Cup Final with herself sat next to me. Maybe she was drunk and didn't notice.
    Maybe she was, and thought you were singing about Daniel O'Donnell?
    This is the cooooooooooooolest footy forum I've ever seen!

Quote Originally Posted by joeraki
    Eh and Sherlock your point is ??
    Read the post again Sherlock, normally i'd explain the relevance of this particular type of clothing but not if you gonna make smart ass comments!

229 Posts
    You've met the woman a few times now Dav and you know what she will and won't tolerate in that regard. I don't think that all the songs **** her off, just the ones that either glorify combat and the armed struggle or are virulently anti-English in tone. Which, I guess, accounts for most of the rebel songs.

As it happens, I'm still wondering how I managed to get away with singing "Joe MacDonnell" at the top of my voice in the Princess Vic the day of the Scottish Cup Final with herself sat next to me. Maybe she was drunk and didn't notice...

PP
    You wanna try singing 'stand up if you hate england' whilst she's sat beside you.

Yours truly made that little indescretion, whilst buckled after a game at Landsdowne. I think it was the England 5-1 against Germany that was on the screen in Murrays. - not something Im too proud of, though think she's forgiven me now
    I thought you were off the drink Ronnie?

"No, I drink to help me mind my own business....can I get you one? (c) Ronnie Drew

Mistaken Identity?

Quote:
    Originally Posted by SuperDub
    I myself got hit by a plastic bolttle in staide de france thrown my an irish fan aimed at a steward who was asking a few lads to move a flag a wee bit. The same individual spent most of the game ranting off anti english crap etc.This so called irish fan was a skin head with an english accent sitting with a bunch of lads wearing roissc jackets who spent there time trying to shut the muppet up.

I know exactly who you're talking about. He was in Kielty's near the Bastille before the game doing the very same, although most people in the pub weren't taking too much notice. Unfortunately, my (very English) missus was. It reinforced her view of some Irish fans as racist bigots. I didn't have the brass arse to tell him this though.

PP
    PP/Lopez/Davros - I feel that I have to make a comment about this thread because I think that the individual you think that carried out this this shameful is not the one and same person.

Super Dub: Sorry to hear that you trip to Paris was marred by some a****hole playing up. They shouldn't go to away trips just to play up and ruin other people's trips. Out of interest where were you sitting in the stadium as I was sitting in the same row as the individual that has been linked to this incident.

Now aside from a few inopportune visits to the gents, I didn't see this individual throwing any objects or chanting anti-english comments. To quote Lopez, "Yasser" and his cohorts were quite subdued throughout the match - infact the only time Yasser piped up is towards the end of the match when Henry tried to stop the ball going out for a goal kick to us which prompt my brother to say to me "who shook his monkey cage?".

With regards to the lads wearing RISSC jackets, the only person I recall within the vicinity wearing such a jacket was "Green Bear" who was sitting next to me - and he was in no way trying to placate anyone - infact he spend most of the match smoking on his peace pipe while his growl died to miaowing/purring noise!!

While the individual in mention was playing up in Kiletys and no doubt playing up at Luton airport (I Wasn't on the red eye flight back Sunday mornings so I can only go by other people's reports), there is no way I'm condoning or defending his actions regarding those incidents. However, as mentioned above, aside from being away from my seat on a few occasions (so I could be wrong about this), I didn't see him being involved in any incidents at the stadium so I feel it's important to clarify this if it turns out that he wasn't the same individual that's being refered to in the bottle throwing incident.
    Last edited by Poorly McGrorry; 24/10/2004 at 8:21 PM.

Good to hear that Poorly. Our mutual friend - as I have already pointed out - would have been out of charachter on this occasion, although he fits the description. Poor Green Bear. Who gave him the loony soup avec sugar? Yasser? As I've already mentioned, no one can bring the alcohol argument in with this bloke's behaviour because, erm, he's as fond of it as Dr. I.K. Paisley. And he has the cheek to bang on about Presbyterians.
    This is the cooooooooooooolest footy forum I've ever seen!

[QUOTE=Poorly McGrorry].

With regards to the lads wearing RISSC jackets, the only person I recall within the vicinity wearing such a jacket was "Green Bear" who was sitting next to me - and he was in no way trying to placate anyone - infact he spend most of the match smoking on his peace pipe while his growl died to miaowing/purring noise!!

Nice one , I know where yer coming from P Mc, as Uncle AKA Green Bear was in cuddles mode all day and there was no way he was able to talk let alone do a chuckyoke at the game.
    Did someone give him Absinth for breakfast that morning.
    Its crazy to see people be what society wants them to be but not me.

Origionally Posted by Poorly Mcgorry
    Super Dub: Sorry to hear that you trip to Paris was marred by some a****hole playing up. They shouldn't go to away trips just to play up and ruin other people's trips. Out of interest where were you sitting in the stadium as I was sitting in the same row as the individual that has been linked to this incident

Poorly Mcgorry,
    I was sitting on the halfway line opposite the dugouts 3rd tier up. To be honest i don't know and never have seen this guy at an irish match before home or away and really don't care who he is, the fact is when i turned to remonstrate with him "i was sitting 2 or 3 rows in front of him" he tryed to blame someone else. i did'nt make a deal of it, But would he be proud if he had of hit any of the french fans or the elderly irish gent sitting beside me.

We have a great reputation for supporting our team but its slowly been eroded by muppets jumping on the bandwagan who seem to think its acceptable behaviour as outlined in the instances on this thread and we seem to be just accepting it.

Quote Originally Posted by SuperDub

Poorly Mcgorry,
    I was sitting on the halfway line opposite the dugouts 3rd tier up. To be honest i don't know and never have seen this guy at an irish match before home or away and really don't care who he is, the fact is when i turned to remonstrate with him "i was sitting 2 or 3 rows in front of him" he tryed to blame someone else. i did'nt make a deal of it, But would he be proud if he had of hit any of the french fans or the elderly irish gent sitting beside me.

We have a great reputation for supporting our team but its slowly been eroded by muppets jumping on the bandwagan who seem to think its acceptable behaviour as outlined in the instances on this thread and we seem to be just accepting it.
    SuperDub,
    Thanks for the info. What you have posted changes matters somewhat - you were sitting very close to where we were in the stadium. We were also opposite the dugouts by the halfway line, though we sitting at the last row back on the first tier (feel free to send me a pm to compare seats?) so I even I must admit it's all a little too coincidential. As I mentioned in my previous post, I did not see the incident or see him behaving like a muppet - I didn't arrive or leave with him to the stadium nor was I sitting next to him to totally absolve him of any wrongdoing - I also mentioned this to my brother who was sitting next to me and he doesn't recall any incident

If anything, the next time I see him I think a quiet word with him is appropriate as I don't think he would appreciate some of his antics (kielty's and luton airport) being the topic of conversation on the internet! Hopefully this may make him think twice before acting the goat on away trips.

This is all I have to say on this matter, however if you want send me a pm SuperDub to swap any more info to defininately confirm it was him, please feel free to do so.

Thanks,
    PMcG.

Quote Originally Posted by Cowboy
    Read the post again Sherlock, normally i'd explain the relevance of this particular type of clothing but not if you gonna make smart ass comments!

I know quite well the relevance of that particular type of clothing, but what I'm saying is so what ! Have you got a problem with it, if so go on tell us. I travelled over on the same Eurostar with wall to wall casuals in the bar carrage with a certain EL club. Great trip over with fans of every club getting a slagging but nothing serious and a good sing song. Met a few of them the day after the game and they where talking about idiots in jerseys ****ing in the open streets like tramps and climbing over cars and throwing beer and saying "ah sure its only a bit of craic" And as I said earlier that group of casuals where the only thing between the Irish not getting kicked around that night

My original reply was to a post differentiating us from English fans, point I'm making is with these guys dressed as they were and behaving as they were its getting hard to tell the difference. One SR fan was proudly boasting how he had a fight with a Cork City fan outside the stadium before the game, they also engaged in racist abuse of the stewards.

I find your statement "that group of casuals where the only thing between the Irish not getting kicked around that night" strange to say the least.

In my opinion wannabe english hooligans in burberry caps have no place at ireland games given the way they behaved in paris.

BTW if you choose to reply to this post try and keep a civil toungue IE lose the name calling
    Last edited by Cowboy; 25/10/2004 at 11:51 PM.

Have to say the closet I got to Corcorans and the like was one pint there on the Saturday afternoon, spent most of the day in a great bar off called Lush off the back streets of Place De Clichy. Then it was straight to the game and then off to St Germain and the Latin Quarter, have to say never saw a thing all weekend but can see where it was going from the brief visit to Corcorans.

229 Posts
    And as I said earlier that group of casuals where the only thing between the Irish not getting kicked around that night
    The old 'They are there to protect us' ****e. Casuals aka hooligans are not wanted nor needed at football. Im all for them knocking seven shades of ****e out of each other, however let them do it in some big open space away from inncient bystanders and your ordinary football fan.
    I thought you were off the drink Ronnie?

"No, I drink to help me mind my own business....can I get you one? (c) Ronnie Drew

'although I'm starting to see some hooligan influence in the younger Irish/EL support.'

Docboy, thats a very general and insulting comment to make and totallt out of order

Amsterdam - Paris observations

Just a comment in agreement with many of you who wrote about the antics of some of our 'supporters' over the weekend in Paris. Observed guys with Irish tricolours round their necks p******** in broad daylight in the streets of Paris and also in Amsterdam. Also has anyone noticed the antics of the so called younger fans they have no disrespect for any one. From when I started to support the Irish in the build up to the German experiece in 88 and the superb support of the Irish in Paestum ( remember that ) in Italy, there was one rule - We're guests of these people - if you step out of line then We'll sort you out,,, The antics of some so called young Irish supporters in the last game against Holland was nothing short of blood boiling - since when have they the right to **** in the stadium itself... If your reading this guys... next match dont bother, we dont want your type of support......................

Policing ourselves

Happily I did not see any bad behaviour in Paris. But what happened to policing ourselves. Do you not think we need to start something. come up with suggestions and even a plan of action for how to deal with Ignoramuses.

Now is thw time to deal with this before it is too late.

I know it's very frightening when confronted with a drunken thug but we need a - preferrably non life threathening - preconcived plan of action.

For example: If the FAI published a local Tel# for each away game and had a strong team of stewards on stand by who could be dispatched quickly then the average fan could report inappropriate behaviour and have the offenders identified and dealt with accordingly by the stewards.

Most of these idiots would be more afraid of being identified back home than anything else.

Finally, I want to again thank P Egan for all his info on Paris. It was invaluable and after one day I had all the important pubs located and was able to give his information which I had printed and brought with me to some lost souls near Gare Du Nord on the Saturday.

I agree but we must tread carefully some of the so called stewards at landsdowne can be idiots too, causing problems where none existed

Quote Originally Posted by mjpcc
    Happily I did not see any bad behaviour in Paris. But what happened to policing ourselves. Do you not think we need to start something. come up with suggestions and even a plan of action for how to deal with Ignoramuses.

Now is thw time to deal with this before it is too late.

I

544 Posts
    An away travel club is the only way forward and if tickets were limited to the supporters in the club it would have a couple of benefits…

1. The “fans” who jump on the away match bandwagon for glamorous matches only would find it hard to get tickets and therefore would be unlikely to travel. These are generally the ones causing the hassle.

2. Genuine fans who go to all the low-key away qualifiers and friendlys would be guaranteed tickets for the higher profile matches like Paris and Switzerland ‘03. The crew I travel with go to many away matches but had to book 4 times the tickets we wanted to the swiss match in September in the hope of getting what we wanted (ended up with far too many!)

Other countries that have away travel clubs set up temporary mobile offices in the centre of the cities they are travelling to and give advice, assistance etc. to the fans. They also have people mingling with the fans to try and stamp out trouble before it starts. I'm sure sponsorship for such a thing would be easy enough to get

We have one of the largest group of travelling supporters in the world and its about time that certain arrangements were put in place to both assist the fans and monitor the trouble makers. We cant let our excellent image be ruined

Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast