Page 6 of 12 FirstFirst ... 45678 ... LastLast

Thread: Permutations for 1st division play off spots

230 Posts
    It's a shame to see the first division in it's current state. It was some division a few years back with 12 clubs, and even more so when the likes of Cork and Derry were playing in the division.

In my view, very much being on the outside of what's going on, GUST should be allowed return on their own. If Mervue and Salthill are still there, what about it? They've become established in the league over the last few years. As long as they are eligible for a licence, while it's not ideal for 3 clubs from the area, just get on with it.
    https://foot.ie/forums/117-Kerry-FC
    A Championship: 4 years - 8 first teams - 0 financially ruined. First Division '14: 7 first teams.
    Opportunity lost for new clubs/regions to join the LoI family.

I believe the FAI are looking for a sort of natural wastage to try and take the problem of two divisions out of their hands. If they can contribute to finishing off another 3 clubs they'll be down to a nice 16 team premier division and all will be well with the world again. We are bound to see at least 3 teams going to the wall in the next couple of years.

230 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by abcd View Post
    I believe the FAI are looking for a sort of natural wastage to try and take the problem of two divisions out of their hands. If they can contribute to finishing off another 3 clubs they'll be down to a nice 16 team premier division and all will be well with the world again. We are bound to see at least 3 teams going to the wall in the next couple of years.
    Why 16? 18 clubs over 2 series is only one more game than the current 33 games of the Premier Division. Teams will have 17 home games each and it more or less fits into the current schedule. If they consider an intermediary A type league between U19 and Premier Division, 18 clubs split into 3 regions could be a good starting point.
    https://foot.ie/forums/117-Kerry-FC
    A Championship: 4 years - 8 first teams - 0 financially ruined. First Division '14: 7 first teams.
    Opportunity lost for new clubs/regions to join the LoI family.

Quote Originally Posted by legendz View Post
    Why 16? 18 clubs over 2 series is only one more game than the current 33 games of the Premier Division. Teams will have 17 home games each and it more or less fits into the current schedule. If they consider an intermediary A type league between U19 and Premier Division, 18 clubs split into 3 regions could be a good starting point.
    18 clubs definitely makes more sense alright. allow clubs to get a bit more money in and if it were one division there would be no repeat fixtures, and big games would be big.

288 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by A face View Post
    18 clubs definitely makes more sense alright. allow clubs to get a bit more money in and if it were one division there would be no repeat fixtures, and big games would be big.
    I completely disagree with this. The point is made time and time again, but attendances will fall off a cliff once teams have nothing to play for.

1,552 Posts
    The bottom clubs would be presumably playing to avoid re-election. At the top end you could have playoffs for European places to extend interest. As it is there are teams in the premier who've had feck all to play for for some time and the same in the first.

64 Posts
    I am old enough to remember a 1 divison league and fighting relegation does not result in bigger home crowds, compared to a comfotable mid-table position. Could someone from Bray confirm that there (hom support) crowds have increased since they fell into the relegation places, it does not look like it. I mentioned this before, there could be re-election for bottom 2 clubs and a financial penalty/fee to pay, also automatic explusion if a club finishes bottom 3 years in a row; this would get rid of the likes of Salthill for example.
    Can't make it to Mervue game tonight, but I think the attendance will be more telling than the actual score of the match.

2,446 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by wonder88 View Post
    I am old enough to remember a 1 divison league and fighting relegation does not result in bigger home crowds, compared to a comfotable mid-table position. Could someone from Bray confirm that there (hom support) crowds have increased since they fell into the relegation places, it does not look like it. I mentioned this before, there could be re-election for bottom 2 clubs and a financial penalty/fee to pay, also automatic explusion if a club finishes bottom 3 years in a row; this would get rid of the likes of Salthill for example.
    Can't make it to Mervue game tonight, but I think the attendance will be more telling than the actual score of the match.
    100% agree with this.

Also, this is probably where Fahys Field will now see a record attendance.

1,104 Posts
    Couple of hundred LTFC heading to it by the sounds of things. Biggest interest in an away game since we went down 6 years ago. Funny how much more of a buzz there is this year compared to last. One good win has lifted the spirits.

1,104 Posts
    1-0 Mervue. Corie Treacy sent off for LTFC, he's just back from a two game ban after getting sent off against Mervue if I remember rightly. FFS.

Quote Originally Posted by Longfordian View Post
    Couple of hundred LTFC heading to it by the sounds of things. Biggest interest in an away game since we went down 6 years ago. Funny how much more of a buzz there is this year compared to last. One good win has lifted the spirits.
    If theres a couple of hundred of ye in it, ye must be outnumbering the home support as there is only around 300-350 at the match

Comon Mervue.

26 Posts
    looking at the et updates mervue are all over longford, when is the 2nd playoff match in longford next friday or sat?

64 Posts
    607 the offical attendance

1,104 Posts
    Full time 1-0. Could have been a lot worse given the sending off fairly early on. Still in with a shout.

Every country has a different football culture, but in most of leagues I've seen the attendances fall drastically when there's nothing to play for. 70s, 80s, were different times where there were fewer entertainment options and in some cities, all over the world, the sunday football was the only choice available. My team, which usually has average attendances ranging from 3k to 7k falls to a 3-digit figure when it has nothing to play for anymore (usually when it's already relegated, what happens year in year out).
    Indeed being in relegation zone might not boost attendances, but we are speaking of a scenario where there's nothing to play for from the day 1. Imagine you are a Bohs or Bray fan, you know the team won't compete for the European spots, and since there's no relegation, why follow the matches at all? Actually, if I were from the board of one of those teams, I would build the cheapest squad I could (possibly an amateur one, and I bet most of other teams would do the same) knowing there is nothing at stake and the public wouldn't be interested, making the gap between those and the 3-4 teams that can afford building a competitive squad even bigger. We could easily have 6 or 7 Salthills.

My opinion is a single-division championship would be a good temporary measure, qualifying the best 10/12/14/16 teams for the next season, leading to a deadly championship with loads of drama and competition to the last minute, while FAI has one year rather than a few weeks to convince well established junior teams to join the league (something it has never done, actually going after the teams and making it more attractive to join, lower the requirements, raise the prizes, better promotion, regional groups, etc, etc, etc). Depending on how much would be able to join, we could see how big the Premier Division could be.

84 Posts
    My guess would be that if Mervue win the First Division playoff, the the FAI will just let the 2nd last Premier team (ie Bray or UCD) stay in the premier. Not saying this is correct just what I'd imagine will happen from looking at FAI decisions in the past
    54 Crew-Finn Harps FC Supporters Club
    Following Harps Home & Away
    https://www.facebook.com/54CrewFHFC

205 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gufcfan View Post
    It may have become personal for the FAI over time, but in the grand scheme of things it's not even about GUST. The only thing certain FAI officials and want is to keep control of whatever joke-shop is happening in Galway. Makes absolutely no difference to them who it is or how good or bad they are, as long as it's their puppet.

It's just that GUST want to fix things and bring everyone that actually wants to help in together and have a FORAS type situation. Ideally what should happen is a co-op with ultimate say over the club would exist, with GUST ceasing to exist.

A proper co-op structure and club like FORAS were allowed to create and were lauded for doing so by the FAI hasn't been allowed because it would take away this control from the FAI.

Sort of back to the topic, Mervue have done a super job this season, but promotion or no, there is no appetite for LOI football among their membership so a couple of more seasons is all I could have seen them competing for. It's just too much of a financial strain where you gates don't even pay the match officials.

I don't think it makes any difference whether Mervue are in the LOI next season or not in terms of Jokeshop FC happening. The whole reason for it is to keep those votes and positions away from the great unwashed. Galway FC would just be a couple of reps from Mervue and Devon showing their faces and keeping the GUSTies from getting any ideas about fixing anything.
    Pure nonsense.
    Sporting F*ck All!

96 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by L.T.F.C. View Post
    Pure nonsense.
    Why's that then?

607 the offical attendance

**** poor for a playoff game. The game doesnt make sense unless the FAI are hoping that the can pull off some kind of stunt Re keepings Shels in the Premier league.

International Prospect NeverFeltBetter's Avatar
    586 Posts
    How could Shels stay in the top tier? Athlone are replacing them.
    Author of Never Felt Better (History, Film Reviews).

Page 6 of 12 FirstFirst ... 45678 ... LastLast