Are you still on the beer?![]()
So friday night strated to look up when we got outta st denis (where our hotel was) and by sheer coincidence stumbled across three Irish bars in the Clichy/Pigalle area until we got into the bars and discovered that it was ywenty euro a round!! That was only for three pints!! Us poor students couldnt afford that!! Thank god for the lads who showed us to the shop round the corner from o sullivans, that became a tradition for the weekend!!! We planted ouselves at the tree opposite o sullivans bar and when it was 'your round' you walked round to the shop and bought the crate!! That was some craic that night what with all the cars driving past and especially the one with the england fans in!!! hahahah unlucky!! Back to St denis that night for a few hours sleep and there was still no sign of a hangover!! Must have been the adrenaline rushing before the big game!! A few hours spent in the ****in rain at the eiffel tour pre england wales was good but the weather spoiled the occasion!! and then back to our tree outside o sullivans and the beer shop!! a great day was spent at that tree the craic was 90! not to mention the great dublin lads who GAVE YES THATS RIGHT GAVE!!! us three tickets for the game in the irish end!! what a sound lad!! So it was back to st denis for the match and expectations were high, twas a great game but you just couldnt help bein dissapointed at the result. back to our tree then in pigalle everyone was pretty quiet, maybe that was due to the beer they were sellin at the game that actualy had no alcohol in!!! DID EVERYONE READ THAT ON THE PLASTIC CUPS????? The beers started flowin again and the craic was good outside o sullivans untill we decided to ge the first metro back to st denis at 530. Me pal got mugged at knifepoint when he got off the metro, **** his pants he did!! gave the boy his phone and ran away!! I lost me camera, god knows where???but I couldnt help but be dissapointed by what happened to me mate on the way home along with the results of the game!! ALL IN ALL twas a great weekend that will never be forgotten but for my first time in paris Im nout sure if I want to go back!!! HAS ANYONE ELSE GOT ANY STORIES FROM THE WEEKEND?? WOULD BE GOOD TO HEAR FROM YAS!!
Are you still on the beer?![]()
UCD sha-la-la
Effing hell JamboC, did you take insurance out for the trip![]()
We had a great time, totally avoided the rip-off Irish bars (Isn't it the same wherever you go!), and hung around the Bastille area with the locals. Honest we paid no more than 3 Euros a drink all day and night. This sounds nuts, but we hired an Algerian and a car to take us anywhere we needed to go, including the ground and back. At about 2am we asked him to bring us to an Algerian bar, along with two fellas from Kerry we'd bumped into. WHAT A PLACE, everyone was ordering BOTTLES of spirits and two sisters were belly dancing behind the bar for us (well that's the way I saw it anyway).
Left the place at 6am (Kerry men long since scarpered) after behind fed and watered. They only took 30 Euros off myself and a pal for drinking all night. What a contrast to the lads who were being ripped off iby their own in the Irish bars.
When abroad drink with the locals! My face is still blurred having said that :-)
Got stranded in Pigale waht a sh*th*le, what a rip off 8e a pint in the local bars , 1 in 4 people in group seemed to have something nicked including 3 tickets for the Irish end ..........
Me and my mate headed to Paris on Saturday morning from Dublin via London Waterloo and then on to the Eurostar. Nice trip down and the buzz was quite good on the train. Must say though I wasn't overly impressed by the city itself. Seemed a bit run down (but we were of course viewing it through football fans eyes), and the prices were a bit crazy. Amazed though at the reception we got from the Algerian community who wanted us to beat the french. Cool stadium, just a pity we can't boast something like that....lets be honest old Lansdowne road is an absolute dump. Roll on Croker! Would be great to play the french there next year, but more importantly play the swiss there as well...and put that bogey to bed once and for all. We showed a great pride in our team in paris, its just sad that this is not reflected in lansdowne road by the prawn sandwich block-bookers who are too important to wear the green. Ticket distribution must be reviewed?
Originally Posted by keenanboy
What a dirty shower they are!
"We hope you beat the fu*king French, we fu*cking hate them!"
I felt like saying, "Fu*k off home then if you hate the place and the people so much. Plenty of them moving through the bars being "friendly" with Irish lads while they picked their pockets.
One of the major highlights for me was the French women.
They've all got great lets and wear the skirts to show them off...
I can't say where they were from, but one of the first things I said after leaving SdF was , 'watch your pockets lads', there were 'crowd weavers all over'.Originally Posted by Peadar
Cork City: Making 'Dream Team' seem realistic since 2007.
Can't disagree with what you say about the classy Parisian ladies, however, to call Algerians living in France a "dirty shower" is a bit strong. Some of the Algerians we drank with wanted les bleus to win, and we didn't get pick pocketed once, which in our case would have been a piece of pish to do.Originally Posted by Peadar
By the way, I live in England but want them to lose, does your logic apply to me? What about the Polish here? Italians? Basically if they are paying your wages you should just shut it right?
Take a look at what the French did in Algeria, and then come back on here and slate them. Someone told me Ireland was moving to the right ..........
Peadar, do I take it that if Ingerland lose to a last minute own goal on Wednesday night you won't have a rye smile on your face?Originally Posted by Peadar
Where am I now? I'm over here,
I've got those empty pockets and I can't afford a beer.
Certainly not.Originally Posted by Pat O' Banton
In what way would that benefit me?
I cheered them on against Wales.
Expected to see what all the "Bhoys" were talking about with regard to Hartson but saw nothing to make me change my opinion of him.
Originally Posted by feckless
What's your point?
You want to live in someones country and shout abuse about them?
If you want to live in the past, hating countries for what their governments did many years ago then fine, you do that.
Have a nice hate filled life.
Chill comrade, was simply messing! However the truth is that like many second geners on this forum I will generally cheer on the opposition against Ingerland. Partly because of political history - because I believe that history strongly defines your identity so I won't seperate the two. Secondly I like to have a (un?)healthy rivalry in football, its always good to have someone to dislike, you may not agree with but thats the lie of the land.Originally Posted by Peadar
We were drinking in an Algerian bar up near Gard L'est and the people in there were grand with us.
Heard that Hartson was poor on Sat but equally many of the Ingerlish papers agree that he had little in the way of service or support, in truth he hasn't seemed to play well at international level for sometime now, and his club form has been fairly eratic this season. Get high ball into him and he will still cause all sorts of problems for defenders. (recent example was how he did nothing for the first half against AC but gave the centre backs a hard time in the second when was given more service)
Where am I now? I'm over here,
I've got those empty pockets and I can't afford a beer.
yep its the first competitive match i've been able to go to in a long time (without paying well above the odds). next year some clod in a suit will be sitting in my seat asking why niall quinn hasn't been brought on.Nialls been inquired an awful long time now hasnt he?
Last edited by greg o brien; 12/10/2004 at 4:06 PM.
[/B]Originally Posted by greg o brien
damn right, first ticket i've been able to get for a competitive match (without paying well above the odds), of course come next year i wont get a ticket for the home match and some clod in a suit will be sitting in my seat, saying how mick mc carthy is really doing a great job now.[/QUOTE]
The only problem with last weekend's turnout is that most of the 30,000 plus now think they are entitled to a ticket for every future match.
There were a huge number in Paris who had never seen an Ireland game before or whose only other experience was at the Amsterdam Arena in June.
How many of the 30,000 went to Basle?
How many went to the friendly in April in Poland?
When you say 'some clod in a suit will be sititng in my seat' , how does it become your seat?. Why are you not a Block Booker, could it be that you have not been attending all the home games?.
Anyone can pick and choose which games they want to go to. However, the fans, whether they wear suits or not, who attend every home game, competitive or friendly (which is now the only way you can retain your Block Booker status) quite rightly deserve priority for home tickets.
Well said Superhoops,
I 've been going to games since I was eight though the last few years I've had to resort to buying block seats in the east upper which for this campaign cost 38 euro,friendlies and all,and there are plenty of tickets for some of the less glamourous,see canada last year.
By the by,Paris was as good as I've seen since the Spain game at the wc,keep the faith
Don't think that's fair. I've been on a waiting list for the block booking list for about 5 years and have been to nearly every friendly since and every game since the EL section started and there's still no sign of a block booking. The block booking a pretty much a closed shop until the redevelopment of Lansdowne.Originally Posted by Superhoops
i'm living in ingurland but i don't cheer on every opossition of 'em for the simple reason that there's normally an Erin game on at the same time
I'd never tone down support of my national team because of the locals (i.e. I always hang the Tri out the window during Ireland Football, rugby matches etc. despite the locals not approving) but I didn't poke ma Welsh flag (souvernir from Cardiff) out the other nioght-as ma brother says "there's a difference between supporting your country and asking to get beaten up"![]()
all a bit of craic!
Despite this if it's in our interest for ingurland to loose I have no hesitation in cheering on the opossition-I remember being on a St. John Ambulance camp in Holembry St. Mary's during the 6 nations watching Scotland vs ingurland in a room packed with ingurlish lads while me and a Welsh mate cheered on the Scottish![]()
Long live the Pope! Free Burma (NLD/SNLD), Free Tibet (Burma Campaign/Free Tibet Campaign Alliance), Free the Rossport 5! (ACCOMPLISHED 30/09/05)
BOYCOTT TOTAL OIL-Please Read!
hey peeps, first post here.
I was in paris aswell and i was down at o sullivans bar. Went in there for one drink when we first got there and had to que for about 20 mins, got two and went outside. After that we decided to go to the off licence but the one around the corner looked pretty bad so we looked around and found another better one just straight up the road that was much better. Friday night there was an un believable atmosphere.
To get to the other off licence we had to walk past a peep show place, on the saturday night one of the blokes outside trying to get people to go in shouts at me " i know you" i dont think i said then he said "yes you were here last night and got the b**w J*b off the black girl". totally untrue.
I got a few other stories but im in a hurry at the mo and will return later.
Rough guide to what we got up to see if anyone else ended up near us....when we arrived we went to this bar called L'Olivier in side street near Bonne Nouvelle underground 2 Euro a bottle! Stayed there for a bit. Friday night was spent mainly in a restaurant around Notre Dame (L'Ilie was the street I think) 35 euro a head and all the wine you could drink out of these casks all over the place, smashing stuff.
Think we were lucky because one of my pals cousins actually lived in Paris and there was about 10 in all staying at his so he knew his way about, so we spent some of the weekend with them.
Saturday was spent mainly in a great bar called Lush (England game), not too far from the rip off bars of Pigalle, it was in the backstreets of Place De Clichy. Only popped into Corcorans (7 Euros for a Guinness) because we were meeting a Galway Supporters member to get a ticket for one of the guys (Thanks). From Lush we went to the match which ended up being a rather sobering experience as no drink was to be had for ages.
From the game we got the Metro for the umpteenth time and met up with the other guys in Coolins a cracking "less of the tackiness" Irish bar, great music and in St Germain De Pres. After that it was to The Highlander think that was in the Latin quarter, things got hazy at this point but we did end up finding are way to a Brasserie on the Seine at about 7am, a superb Croque Madame was ordered for breakfast (copy and paste the rest!) - a ham and cheese sandwich, dipped in egg and then broiled, topped with a fried egg à cheval, and topped with a Mornay or Béchamel sauce, served (hot) in the bistros of Paris, hope you got to try one lads they were superb
Jaysus what a weekend. God Sunday was long, only got three hours sleep and travellikng for most of the day, been working solid ever since and am still aboslutley wrecked, first time I get to stay in bed is tomorrow! Hope you all enjoyed it as much as us, smashing stuff.
Am heading back to Dublin with my gf next week for the International Rules game but that will be an altogether more sober affair!
Last edited by petef; 12/10/2004 at 7:37 PM.
I also had a total mare of night trying to get home on the Friday night. Was in O'sullivans from about 8pm, it was taking ages to get a drink (and i hadnt copped on to the off license) so I was buyin meself 3 or 4 at a time, I only have 2 hands so I had to lash the extras into me at the bar in about 30seconds. As u can imagine me not bein the best drinker I was ossified by midnight and decided to head home to the hotel beside Gard Lyon. I tried to get a taxi but they were about as common as hens teeth as my old lad says. Decided walk home cos I was convinced I was somewhere in Dublin, didnt realise I was about 5 or 6 miles from the hotel. To cut a long story short I found my way home after 4hours of walkin, how I wasnt robbed or raped I'll never know. Anyway that was my experience, was a weekend that'll be long remembered.
"In life, it aint about how hard you can hit, it's about how hard you can get hit, and keep on moving forward"
Rocky Balboa