Thread: Nightmare In Paris

Quote Originally Posted by Don Vito
    I also had a total mare of night trying to get home on the Friday night. Was in O'sullivans from about 8pm, it was taking ages to get a drink (and i hadnt copped on to the off license) so I was buyin meself 3 or 4 at a time, I only have 2 hands so I had to lash the extras into me at the bar in about 30seconds. As u can imagine me not bein the best drinker I was ossified by midnight and decided to head home to the hotel beside Gard Lyon. I tried to get a taxi but they were about as common as hens teeth as my old lad says. Decided walk home cos I was convinced I was somewhere in Dublin, didnt realise I was about 5 or 6 miles from the hotel. To cut a long story short I found my way home after 4hours of walkin, how I wasnt robbed or raped I'll never know. Anyway that was my experience, was a weekend that'll be long remembered.
    That does sound like a total mare of a night. One of my mates got similarly ossified early on. He tried on loads of girls, acted the big-shot buying them drinks and then decided to leave. I presumed he was getting a taxi but he just walked home. Taxis were cheap but scarce in Paris. Don't know why he wouldn't text us to bring him home.
    "Love many, trust few, always paddle your own canoe." Dillo

Quote Originally Posted by Schumi
    Don't think that's fair. I've been on a waiting list for the block booking list for about 5 years and have been to nearly every friendly since and every game since the EL section started and there's still no sign of a block booking. The block booking a pretty much a closed shop until the redevelopment of Lansdowne.
    Maybe it is a bit harsh, but it is not much different from being a Season Ticket holder at some of the big Premiership clubs where loads would love to be season ticket holders, but have to wait.

The reason that those with BB's at Landsdowne, of which I am one, have the seats is that we have been going to games for years. I support the inclusion of friendlies in the BB scheme, as it enforces people to commit not only to the 'glamour' games but also to the inevitable 'crap' games that come around from time to time.

It is like the 'crap' away games that come up, when you find it is the real supporters who are there every time. Getting to Paris and Amsterdam for these types of games, particularly when tickets were plentiful did not take a great deal of committment.

However, the point I was really making was that a number who have attended these two games in particular suddenly think they have entitlement to a seat at Lansdowne for the France game next September.

To illustrate this, I offered two of these 'come lately' fans tickets for the Faroes games today, but they were not interested. When I asked them if we had been playing France instead of the Faroes would they want them, you can guess their response.

I dont expect to be able to get tickets for every game and took the opportunity to go Paris due to the abundance of tickets available. I live in Glasgow and the only thing that dictates whether I go to a game or not is the money and until recently I never had the finances to be able to do it. We should be celebrating the fact that more and more people want to go to the games and not get into petty exchanges of the "I'm more entitled than you" ilk. Fair enough if you are but dont go harping on about it.

2,796 Posts

A bit of a rant

Just a point about the block booking:

I got my block booking about 13 years ago when we played back-to-back friendlies against USA and Switzerland. It was announced in the press that attendance at BOTH games would guarantee tickets going forward.

As it happened only about 15,000 attended the fist game. The FAI then said that anyone attending the second game by itself would be guaranteed tickets going forward. Guess what? Only about 15,000 attended the second game too.

OK, so I know this was a long time ago and plenty of fans who were only kids then, or maybe living abroad, are now interested in going to all the games and I sympathise with people who are really keen and can't attend.

But, in the context of people of my age group and older, I have no sympathy whatsoever for people who complain about the block booking system. There were opportunities handed on a plate to people to get on the list and they didn't take them.

I used to have 4 tickets guaranteed until recently but now I only have two. Why? Because I was sick of forking out for 4 tickets and not being able to get rid of them. My mates who are also long-time block bookers had the same problems.

And, on about two or three occasions, I have worn a suit to games, mostly friendlies. Is it some sort of crime to have a white collar job? Sometimes, just sometimes, I've had to work late before a match and I make no apologies whatsoever for what I wear to games. In the ground I'm usually as vociferous and enthusiastic as anyone. If the team is playing crap, then I get subdued. That's the way it works.

I also don't buy into the fact that you have to go to Georgia or Macedonia to be a real fan. I admire these fans' commitment massively, but when you have a family, a mortgage and a scarcity of cash it doesn't make you any less of a fan if you're content to watch these games on TV.

Quite frankly, everyone who was in Paris was welcome in my mind. Whether it was their first or their 200th game isn't an issue. There was a married couple in front of me who were probably in their 70s. Magic.

2,796 Posts
    Agree on the Dub-centred bit alright.

Unhappy

Anyone can pick and choose which games they want to go to. However, the fans, whether they wear suits or not, who attend every home game, competitive or friendly (which is now the only way you can retain your Block Booker status) quite rightly deserve priority for home tickets.[/QUOTE]

what are you talking about anyone can pick and choose what games they go to. the only games i've been able to pick and choose to were the friendly matches and i've been choosing to go to any matches home and away i can get tickets for. i completly agree fans who attend every home game (friendly or competitive) deserve first offers of tickets ( though there isn't really any way of determining who is at friendly/competitive matches. i get my tickets through ticketmaster and if i must touts (very unfortunatly) . i'm in my early twenties and never had a chance to avail of the blockbooking scheme, but i have seen lads in suits who haven't a clue at matches because the manager at the bank they work in knows someone. at the friendly with norway i heard one such person ask if roy keane was playing. the first post i ever put on foot about a year ago was about this and i'm still going to what ever game i can. i'm very disheartened by the distribution of tickets, but roll on the new lansdowne, though the fai seem to be putting a big emphasis on corporate events and the still havent sent my ireland fans membership pack out or even managed to get the ireland fans website up and running.

Quote Originally Posted by Peadar
    What a dirty shower they are!
    "We hope you beat the fu*king French, we fu*cking hate them!"

I felt like saying, "Fu*k off home then if you hate the place and the people so much...
    What the f*ck? Next you'll be saying that us 2Gs are a dirty shower cos we didn't go to Ireland and smash up Lansdowne Road. F*ck off yerself!
    This is the cooooooooooooolest footy forum I've ever seen!

Quote Originally Posted by lopez
    What the f*ck? Next you'll be saying that us 2Gs are a dirty shower cos we didn't go to Ireland and smash up Lansdowne Road. F*ck off yerself!
    You were trying so hard to get some reference to yourself in there that you managed to make a totally invalid point.

Do you hang around the streets telling visiting fans that you hate the fu*king English and then drive by bars where those same fans are drinking and hurl bottles at them?

No one is talking about you Lopez.
    If you're so starved of attention go play around on the "Off Topic" forum.

You were trying so hard to get some reference to yourself in there that you managed to make a totally invalid point.
    Another part-time Dr. Freud. So what is it? You live in a certain country you have to support the team to be a 'model citizen'? And what about being born in it. Complain all you like about these 'dirty' Algerians - yeah like you'd never, ever get robbed as a tourist in Dublin or Cork - but save us - sorry, me - the speech about who you should support. Oh yeah, and were the Algerians the ones charging €10 for a Guinness?
    Do you hang around the streets telling visiting fans that you hate the fu*king English and then drive by bars where those same fans are drinking and hurl bottles at them?
    Any side's fans that the tans play and I see, I wish them the best of luck. No, I wouldn't throw bottles at them. The 'Algerians' who wished me luck on Saturday - I counted a whopping three - were neither throwing bottles at me nor going through my pockets. And with Pat O'B, Sylvo and our friend the Boston Celtics Jacket, I had a nice drink in an Algerian bar after the game and spoke to an Algerian who had previously lived in London. Maybe the hassle had something to do with the area people were drinking in. Someone mentioned 'Soho'. Another mentioned 'red light district'. Another 'Mafia'. Think about it!
    No one is talking about you Lopez.
    If you're so starved of attention go play around on the "Off Topic" forum.
    Meeeeooww!

but save us - sorry, me - the speech about who you should support.

You're either too lazy or incapable of reading and comprehending my posts!
    Where have I told anyone who to support?
    What I said was, if you live in a country and go around telling people how much you hate the "natives" then perhaps you should reconsider your country of reisdence.
    Stop trying to turn this into something personal.
    Last edited by Peadar; 14/10/2004 at 1:15 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by davros
    PS.Only know,as have tried this sometimes .....& has worked on occasion!
    At least you can balance your pint in your head while you try to pull your foot back out again.

OKay this is one of personal experiance and no agreement likely.

Has as been pointed out we met some grand Algerians over the weekend. Peadar you had some trouble with them, differing opinions are going to occur. I didn't mind them supporting us, as firstly the more the merrier and secondly, I think I understand. Yeah I do support anyone who plays Ingerland - a point that makes home life rocky sometimes - but I can't (and actually don't want to) do anything about it. I've had, and heard anti-Irish abuse. Its hopefully is not something you've heard yet and I hope you never do. This doesn't make us better than anyone on here or worse, just of different backgrounds.

The Algerian hatred of France comes from a repression of them that was legendarly cruel, I would presume that the proximity of France, the capability of speaking French and poverty at home makes the former colonial power an attractive proposition. On top of that Paris has a bit of a rascist rep so the support from Algerian fans is for me understandable.

Now where's my blue helmet - oh dear I've just seen it.

Pronane, no need for formalities its Pat 'O on here. Vodaphone rubbishness and the amount of bars between us and the Eifel Tower stopped any meet up.
    Where am I now? I'm over here,
    I've got those empty pockets and I can't afford a beer.

Quote Originally Posted by davros
    Now now kids...... learn from an 'expert'. ......Before you put the foot in mouth,employ brain first.....

PS.Only know,as have tried this sometimes .....& has worked on occasion!
    Dav doing the UN bit on here as well, I believe we have foot.ie's first national holiday. St Davros Day! BTW sorry couldn't make the 12 Bens last night was in Riff Raffs for a change

Quote Originally Posted by pronane
    on another note, wherebouts is the railway bar? Is it near the twelve pins and are ye girls easily recognisable.

Sorry Mr O'Banton, I thought I had used your firstname, and as I dont know you I apologise for the informalities.
    Reread the post, informalities encouraged comrade . Railway is around the the back of Finsbury Park station, next to the bus station.

Will PM you next time there will be a bit of a meet in there.
    Last edited by Pat O' Banton; 14/10/2004 at 1:53 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by pronane
    are ye girls easily recognisable.
    We're very much so. Stand out like a sore thumb, we do.
    Such an odd looking bunch is rarely seen elsewhere.

It's a small bar and not hard to find people.
    Except for Pat O' when it's his round.

We're very much so. Stand out like a sore thumb, we do.
    Such an odd looking bunch is rarely seen elsewhere.

It's a small bar and not hard to find people.
    Except for Pat O' when it's his round.
    Oooooooooooo you bitch

You're either too lazy or incapable of reading and comprehending my posts!
    Where have I told anyone who to support?
    What I said was, if you live in a country and go around telling people how much you hate the "natives" then perhaps you should reconsider your country of reisdence.
    You're reference: 'I felt like saying, "Fu*k off home then if you hate the place and the people so much...' clearly suggests that these people should support France because their mothers' waters burst there, and that they should be forever grateful to their country of birth for giving their parents the opportunity to clean their toilets. (BTW: This classic bit of revisionism ignores two things. A. Even the sh*t-house attendants pay X amount of their OWN money in tax. B. If enough French people could do these type of jobs they wouldn't bring in foreigners). In fact you quantify this by your own support for the country you now live in: How long have you been in Sasana? Whatever turns you on mate, but as Pat O'B implies - even though he's too diplomatic to say it - you missed the good old days which may have strained this affection, when even teachers would abuse schoolchildren on their Irishness. I'd say similar things happened to many 2G in France, exemplified by the recent ban on headwear by schoolgirls. Hence their antipathy to France although - just in case it has to be added - no excuse for thieving.

Did you know there was another section of the French population not exactly backing the team on Saturday which may explain how we managed to get in 30K to the SF? Gary Spain will back me up with this about a story he heard from the more red-neck supporters of Lille, but I witnessed it too the previous week in Monaco (admittedly not France but bear with me). I was talking with a Monaco fan young waiter about returning for the game on Saturday. His reply?: 'I don't support France anymore. Too many Africans.'
    Stop trying to turn this into something personal.
    It became personal the minute you started suggesting I was attention seeking and that I should stick to the off-topic section.

I'm weary of all this.
    Simple point, I don't think it's appropriate to go around shouting your hatred for the nationals in the country which you reside.
    You don't have to support their teams.
    Ireland has always benefitted from the support of its exiles, especially for away trips. It doesn't benefit Algeria though to have people shouting abuse about the locals on the streets of Paris.

BTW I don't support the England football team, rather I appreciate when they play good football. I have a lot of respect for many of their players because I see their talents regularly in English leagues.

I'm weary of all this.
    Allright, truce! Especially as Sylvo and Pat O'B speak so highly of you. Now pronane, do you fancy joining our menage-a-trois (or cinq) on a future trip?

Allright, truce!
    That means I win!
    Woo Hoo.
    loser!
    Only messing.
    We'll leave it go.
    I've had a fairly easy life so far and therefore ask that you excuse my inability to fully appreciate the plight of so many exiled Irish people and their children.