Page 2 of 38 FirstFirst 123412 ... LastLast

Thread: Everton Irish and Opposition Irish

517 Posts
    I wonder how much money they will end up getting for Ross Barkley? 30 mil? 40 mil? 50 mil?

He will probably expect 100 grand a week in wages and then whoever buys him will do a Seth Johnson and offer him 200 grand a week.

“He’s English on the outside, but, pure Irish on the inside.” The elderly woman in the ‘Western’ pub in Liverpool was referring to her grandson, Wayne Rooney. Most are Toffees in this part of Merseyside and Aiden McGeady’s arrival at Goodison Park to bolster the green contingent is a reminder that traditionally Everton were the Irish club in the city. The common football phrase “Taxi for” even owes its origins to a former Irish manager.
    I stopped reading after this as i couldnt believe its authenticity after speaking with a work colleague "In that area, are all my friends, and they are all red".

Wasn't sheedy a reserve for livepool for a good few years?
    Last edited by paul_oshea; 13/01/2014 at 4:28 PM.

1,928 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    I stopped reading after this as i couldnt believe its authenticity after speaking with a work colleague "In that area, are all my friends, and they are all red".
    Wasn't sheedy a reserve for livepool for a good few years?
    Rooney grew up in a mainly Everton supporting area, Croxteth.

517 Posts
    http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/socc...ious-1.1655070

Emmet Malone must read this forum.

156 Posts
    I can only go on personal experience of living in Liverpool and I generally found Everton and Liverpool fans fairly equally disposed towards Ireland or Celtic. I was there when we played England in 1990 and most were desperate for us to win.

I do know that the early chairmen/directors at Liverpool were very much of a Tory/Orange persuasion. However, in a working class city that is predominantly Irish/Catholic, it wouldn't make sense to play this card. Most of the great local heroes that played for Liverpool were Catholic/Liverpool Irish from Lawlor, Callaghan, Melia, Tommy Smith and Roger Hunt in the 60s to Steve McMahon and Aldo in the 80s through to Fowler, Carragher, McManamaman, Gerrard in the 90s and Flanagan and Kelly today. Alot of those lads were probably Everton fans growing up but that might have more to do with Everton are slightly more supported in the city than Liverpool, rather than religion.

417 Posts
    Anyone ever been to Pogue Mahones on Seel St in Pool? Is it still there?
    No Somos muchos pero estamos locos.

Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    Rooney grew up in a mainly Everton supporting area, Croxteth.
    "Croxy was maily catholic but its near half red"

Rooneys neighbours in Gilmoss are all red.
    Last edited by paul_oshea; 16/01/2014 at 12:47 PM.

1,928 Posts

From "all red" to "near half red" in a day, that was a fast downsizing.
    I'll wait another day and maybe you'll come back with another 60% reduction
    Never badmouth an Irish granny.

2,796 Posts
    I was in Liverpool for work in May.

There's a pretty fancy downtown shopping area there now called Liverpool One.

Everton has a club shop there. They've called it Everton Two, so the address is Everton Two, Liverpool One…!

I thought it was funny anyway.

2,770 Posts

I think Native American is the PC term, Paul.
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

From "all red" to "near half red" in a day, that was a fast downsizing.
    I'll wait another day and maybe you'll come back with another 60% reduction
    Never badmouth an Irish granny.
    For one who prides himself on having a greater insight than us minnions when it comes to quotes I find this quite funny.

I quote that all his friends in that area are Red, and that croxy is about half and half. I never said that all his friends were all the people in Croxy

Anyway his point was that although croxy is mainly catholic and of irish background, it doesn't mean they are all Everton supporters.

1,928 Posts
    For one who prides himself on having a greater insight than us minnions when it comes to quotes I find this quite funny.

I quote that all his friends in that area are Red, and that croxy is about half and half. I never said that all his friends were all the people in Croxy

Anyway his point was that although croxy is mainly catholic and of irish background, it doesn't mean they are all Everton supporters.
    You took an Irish granny to task when you wrote
    "I stopped reading after this as i couldnt believe its authenticity after speaking with a work colleague "In that area, are all my friends, and they are all red".
    What most people would understand, was that you were referring to the area mentioned by Granny Rooney and Granny Rooney was talking through her hat.
    Then you backslide a bit more and falsely imply that i'm too stupid to read what you wrote, which is actually a bigger crime than dissing an Irish granny
    You get mixed up or just carried away on an irrelevant tangent, when you write
    "Rooneys neighbours in Gilmoss are all red."
    Gilmoss is on the edge of Croxteth , it's not in Croxteth nor is it part of the area referred to by Granny Rooney.
    So, it's quite feasible that what Granny Rooney says is close enough to the truth, that around 'Armpit Lane' and their local pub The Western, it's mostly blue.

Firstly geysir I never dissed Rooneys Granny or any other Irish Granny

Secondly I didnt backslide in anyway, shape or form, I said my colleagues friends from Croxteth were all red, at no point like you suggest earlier that i went from all red to full red for the people of croxy. You misread or misunderstood what I said. There is no backsliding.

Lastly, The Lobster would be the local to stonebridge lane, where the rooneys live/lived/resided. That interview might have been conducted in The Western for astehtic reasons or for McWililams own comforts

"What would he know anyway unless he was from there. If he want's to come and meet me in the Elm before a match, I'll introduce him to the lads I go the match with, who for the most part were born and bred in Gillmoss and Croxteth, and are all die hard reds, a mix of catholic and protestant. He is full of ****e, tell him to get his money out, and I'll take it off him over the matter. " from my work colleague he is deadly serious about meeting you, he is a soulful life contrarian.

3,498 Posts

Secondly I didnt backslide in anyway, shape or form, I said my colleagues friends from Croxteth were all red, at no point like you suggest earlier that i went from all red to full red for the people of croxy. You misread or misunderstood what I said. There is no backsliding.

Lastly, The Lobster would be the local to stonebridge lane, where the rooneys live/lived/resided. That interview might have been conducted in The Western for astehtic reasons or for McWililams own comforts

"What would he know anyway unless he was from there. If he want's to come and meet me in the Elm before a match, I'll introduce him to the lads I go the match with, who for the most part were born and bred in Gillmoss and Croxteth, and are all die hard reds, a mix of catholic and protestant. He is full of ****e, tell him to get his money out, and I'll take it off him over the matter. " from my work colleague he is deadly serious about meeting you, he is a soulful life contrarian.
    Is a chilled out entertainer in his spare time?

1,928 Posts

Along with the backsliding, expressing a somewhat feigned familiarity with Croxteth and deferring blame to your colleagues, since your first utterance attempting to ridicule Granny Rooney's account... now we come to read another piece of misdirection from you about the Western pub, --> the location of an interview with Granny Rooney where she stated something to the effect 'that around here we're all Everton supporters'. It's well known, as in the public domain, banner headlines and all that, that the Western is/was the local for the Rooneys and when Rooney returns to the 'hood', that's where he goes to meet his old mates. Strange that you .... or your (real or imaginary) know-all-pure-reds didn't know that. In all certainty (as you falsely suggested), it was not a location selected by McWilliams.
    I seriously hope that you are more diplomatic and respectful, not prone to flippancy, whenever you meet and converse with an Irish granny in England

Local as in where they drink or local to where they live, stop putting words in my mouth geysir The lobster is closer to stonebridge lane and would be the "local" around there.

Anyway back to the original point Croxteth, as I said based on my colleagues experience is mixed red and blue. You dont need to construct loads of sentences to try and help your argument, if its right, a one liner is enough.

So you should meet him and put your money where your mouth is
    Last edited by paul_oshea; 17/01/2014 at 11:39 AM.

2,770 Posts
    I can't believe you told on Geysir and I can't believe you have such truculent friends.
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

19. Thanks From:

1,825 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SkStu View Post
    I can't believe you told on Geysir and I can't believe you have such truculent friends.
    Can Scousers be truculent?

Argumentative and hostile perhaps...
    DID YOU NOTICE A SIGN OUTSIDE MY HOUSE...?

2,081 Posts
    Possibly we can catch most of our players on matchday just by watching 2 games and our derby is between Everton and Hull
    Really forcing it with Meyler's position but...

Quote Originally Posted by BonnieShels View Post
    Can Scousers be truculent?

Argumentative and hostile perhaps...
    Definitely abrupt can be thrownin there too.

Page 2 of 38 FirstFirst 123412 ... LastLast