Thread: clinton

Quote Originally Posted by Éanna
    he played surprisingly well for someone who is completely shít. hope the injury keeps him out for a while, so we can have a look at other options against the faroes
    What other options exactly?
    Don't mention Gary Doherty!
    Stephen Elliott is injured.
    Alan Lee or David Connolly, dont think so!

Lee deserves a chance- he's scored goals in the first division in england, which is pretty much all Clinton "I wanna be an international so I'm Irish" Morrison has ever done. The guy is crap. He has never scored goals consistently at anything above division one level. His popularity with Ireland fans is some kind of sick joke, and only reinforces my belief that the majority of muppets in Landsdowne don't have a notion about football. Lee deserves a chance, as does Kevin Doyle after his form for the U-21's, although Elliott would be first in my list if he was fit.

Alan Lee , Connolly FFS give me a break. Morrison is the best of the bunch. Elliot may be one for the future.

Quote Originally Posted by thejollyrodger
    Alan Lee , Connolly FFS give me a break. Morrison is the best of the bunch. Elliot may be one for the future.
    no matter how much I dislike connolly, I'd have morrison ahead of him. Connolly shouldn't even be allowed in Dublin the weekend of games in case his presence causes trouble.

Connolly shouldn't even be allowed in Dublin the weekend of games in case his presence causes trouble.
    I couldnt agree more !

36 Posts
    Lee deserves a chance- he's scored goals in the first division in england, which is pretty much all Clinton "I wanna be an international so I'm Irish" Morrison has ever done. The guy is crap. He has never scored goals consistently at anything above division one level. His popularity with Ireland fans is some kind of sick joke, and only reinforces my belief that the majority of muppets in Landsdowne don't have a notion about football. Lee deserves a chance, as does Kevin Doyle after his form for the U-21's, although Elliott would be first in my list if he was fit.
    morrisons had about half a season of consistent games, maybe a bit more above div one level. with his injuries I'm still willing to give him slack and besides he's been more productive than robbie in the last 3 irish games.

just because you resent the way in which he came into the squad you decide to label anyone that thinks he does a good job "one of the lansdowne bandwagon muppets". you bitterness regarding this is apparent , let it go.

elliot has done no more than morrison has, a lot less actually as morrison had three full seasons scoring a good amount of goals in div one. lee hasnt started the season well but agreed he could do with a chance right enough.

kevin doyle? before jason byrne? no way.

253 Posts
    Morrison has the potential to be a class premiership striker, if he stays healthy and gets a run of games. Think of it this way-how many players do you know who can step into international soccer in the starting 11 and score a goal in a qualifier against a decent side like the Swiss, after not playing regularly for their club sides? Not to mention the goal he scored against Cyprus, although it wasn't as important. This guy is in my starting 11 with everyone healthy, and for anyone to wish him to be injured is an absolute joke. We've got two strikers that started against France, and in the last few games, only one has been frustrating me. You figure it out.

Thought the boy was class, held the ball up brilliantly, was gutted when he went off. To quote the man himself:

"I'd like to be fit for Wednesday, so fingers crossed and we will see how it goes, but if not then I'm going to try and stay here until Wednesday. I don't want to go back to Birmingham. What for? To be depressed? I want to cheer the boys on."

He's got my vote, allez morrison

2,796 Posts
    Clinton was magnificent. Given he was so down on his luck & form earlier this year. the guy's really got to be commended for his efforts for Ireland this campaign.

I had lost patience with him by June but I'm happy to give him all the credit he deserves.

3,500 Posts
    I actually felt he was a bigger threat than Robbie until he came off, he definately had the best chance in the first half from Roy Keane's through ball, and to quote the man himself:
    felt on top of my game and from the first minute I could see the defender was not happy, so I thought I was going to get the better of him.

Clint was a massive loss when he went off.
    We had no outlet down that right side.
    Whatever slim chance we had of beating Barthez went with Clints departure.

really glad to hear people supporting Clinton, he has done a great job for us in the WCQ games that he has played so far and looked very dangerous in Paris, he had the better of that defender and you would not be surprised if he scored.

Kerr has brought him a lot and I cant think how anyone can really question his inclusion in the squad.

Clinton was brilliant had the centre half in his pocket has been great the last 3 games was gutted seeing him going off.. Its amazing the amount of criticism he gets seeing as robbie never gets any stick when he plays bad.. And to say hes not irish is ****ing stupid.. He showed how committed he is to the cause enough times. Didnt think there were ignorant people like eanna still around

Quote Originally Posted by davros
    Hope there's no tinge of racism creeping in here
    Of course there isn't. for ****s sake, thats one hell of an accusation to make.

Quote Originally Posted by zinedineontour
    And to say hes not irish is ****ing stupid.. He showed how committed he is to the cause enough times. Didnt think there were ignorant people like eanna still around
    nothing ignorant about having an opinion. and if clinton is so irish, why did he beg sven to pick him before changing his mind and declaring for Ireland? I've no problem with fella's like kilbane or breen who are Irish through and through, but plastic paddy brit rejects like morrison and holland make me sick.

Hope there's no tinge of racism creeping in here.......seems like yer in a minority of one ...... stick to 'hating' Shelbourne........what have they ever done to you,FFS
    They've beaten and finished above his team. Consistently. And robbed his teams best winger while they were at it

As for Clinton, questions can be asked about his Irishness but now that he's in the squad he's easily our best partner for Robbie Keane by far and I'm glad we have him.

enough now

don't slag clinton, i'm not a professional footbal expert/commentator but i think he was doing really well on saturday and if he hadn't had to come off i'm sure he would have scored.

on another note my mum taught clinton at school and my sister was in the same school a year above him; he was a decent lad then (he would always have acknowleged his irish heritage) and i think he's decent lad now.

Quote Originally Posted by 1MickCollins
    He has only started 1 game for Birmingham this season, and has made 4 sub appearances all pretty brief.
    Fair play, I made that comment blindly because they said it on tele, and if they say it on Sky it must be true.

Also I wouldn't agree in saying there was anything racist about the comments made on this thread, I suppose some people just don't rate players. It's all opinions, but I'd draw the line at wishing an injury on one of our own lads!

Ade

but I'd draw the line at wishing an injury on one of our own lads!
    yeah some of that was really bad taste !!

Hope there's no tinge of racism creeping in here.......
    Hmmmmmmm!!!
    Of course there isn't. for ****s sake, thats one hell of an accusation to make.
    Hmmmmmm!
    ....brit rejects like morrison and holland make me sick.
    This is the cooooooooooooolest footy forum I've ever seen!

In fairness, I don't agree with Éanna, but he's not been a bit racist there.